Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Al Vermeer Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vermeer, Al
Title: Al Vermeer Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1948-1968
Bulk Dates: 1966-1968
Quantity: 4.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 600+ original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Priscilla's Pop.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Herman Vermeer (1911-1980), known as Al Vermeer, was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strip Priscilla's Pop.

Born in Alameda, California in 1911, Vermeer began his newspaper career as a sports writer while growing up in Oakland. He was doing sports illustration work for the San Francisco News when he was hired away by the NEA syndicate in 1945. A year later, his signature creation, Priscilla's Pop, was launched, first as a Sunday feature, but a daily version was soon added. Vermeer worked on the successful family strip for nearly 30 years, until his retirement in 1976. He was succeeded by artist Ed Sullivan who handled Priscilla's Pop until the end of its run in 1983.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Al Vermeer Cartoons collection contains original daily and Sunday cartoons from the comic strip Priscilla's Pop (1948-1968). Daily cartoon: brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 5 ¼ x 16 ¼ in. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, zipatone, pasteovers, tape, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 19 x 26 in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Daily and Sunday cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Additional material from Priscilla's Pop, including promotional material, proofs and clippings can be located in the Vernon Greene Papers.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Vermeer, Al.

Corporate Bodies

Newspaper Enterprise Association.

Associated Titles

Priscilla's pop (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Al Vermeer Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection unspecified, circa 1968; three items from 1952 are gift of Terry Hall.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EF
Date: 28 May 1968
Revision history: 23 Sept 1970 - revised (MB); 12 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 14 Apr 2009 - revised (MD); 29 Apr 2011 - revised related material (AM); 26 May 2011 - revised related material (AM); 3 Jul 2012 - added 1948 item (MRC); 22 May 2017 - 1968 added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Priscilla's Pop
Click here for detailed inventory.
Oversize 1 Daily cartoons 1948 Jul 23
Box 1 Daily cartoons 1952 Apr
Box 1 Daily cartoons 1966 Jan - 1966 Nov
Box 2 Daily cartoons 1966 Dec - 1967 Dec
Box 3 Daily cartoons 1968
Oversize 1 Sunday cartoons 1966 Jan - 1967 Jul
Oversize 2 Sunday cartoons 1967 Aug - 1968 Dec

Return to top