Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Schotz, Paul and Schotz, David |
| Title: | Variety News Fanzines Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1962 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Handmade fanzines created by two teenage boys in Huntington Park, CA, including text, artwork, and comics. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
No information is known about Paul and David Schotz, other than the brothers lived in Huntington Park, CA in the early 1960s.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Variety News Fanzines Collection contain three completely handmade and hand-drawn fanzines from Paul and David Schotz. In each issue, the brothers discuss their interests, such as postage stamps, bookshops, and comics, and end the issues with artwork in the style of Walt Kelly (creator of the comic strip "Pogo"). These fanzines are a superb example of youth bibliographic and comic fandom in the early 1960s, and the need and lengths two kids went to publish their own fanzine.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Variety News Fanzines Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 3 Oct 2023
Revision history: