Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Charles Van Devander Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Devander, Charles.
Title: Charles Van Devander Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1956-1958
Quantity: 1.5 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of Charles Van Devander, former journalist and Executive Assistant to Governor Averell Harriman. Contains press releases from the New York State Governor's Office, and some correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Van Devander was an American journalist. He was a Washington correspondent for the New York Post, author of The Big Bosses (1944) on corruption in government, and served as Press Secretary and Executive Assistant to New York Governor Averell Harriman.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Van Devander Papers consist of correspondence, news releases, and typescripts. Correspondence is with New York State government officials and departments, including Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan and Governor Averell Harriman. News releases cover July 1956 to Jun 1957. Typescript contains a few fragments of typewritten material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986.
Moynihan, Daniel P. (Daniel Patrick), 1927-2003.
Van Devander, Charles.

Places

New York (State) -- History.
New York (State) -- Politics and government,

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Governors.
Press secretaries.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Van Devander Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jan 1978
Revision history: 7 Jul 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 22 Jan 2019 - rehoused for offsite (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Correspondence 1957-1958 - Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Averell Harriman, various New York government departments
News releases
Box 1 News releases 1956 Jul-Nov (5 folders)
Box 2 News releases 1956 Dec-1957 Mar (4 folders)
Box 3 News releases 1957 Apr-Jun (3 folders)
Typescripts
Box 3 Fragments undated

Return to top