Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

James Van Der Zee Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Der Zee, James, 1886-1983
Title: James Van Der Zee Photographs
Inclusive Dates: circa 1949
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: Silver gelatin photographs of African American New Yorkers
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Van Der Zee (1886-1983) was an African-American photographer and a leading figure in the Harlem Renaissance. A talented pianist and violinist as well as photographer, he is best known for his portraits of black New Yorkers, particularly authors, poets, musicians, and others in the arts. His work is admired both for its artistic merit and for its value in documenting the period.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Van Der Zee Photographs consists of silver gelatin prints of African American New Yorkers, in particular musicians.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Van Der Zee, James, 1886-1983.

Corporate Bodies

Clef Club (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

African American musicians -- New York (State)
African American musicians -- Portraits.
African American photographers.

Places

New York (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Gelatin silver prints.
Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Van Der Zee Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Jan 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Oversize 1 Pianist[?] circa 1949 - elderly African-American man, leaning on a piano; unidentified
Oversize 1 Violinist 1949 - elderly African-American man, seated; handwritten note on back by unknown person reads "Harry Stote - violin in 70s. Clef Club musical"

Return to top