Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Upstate New York Bank Checks Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Upstate New York Bank Checks Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1852-1908
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Collection of engraved checks drawn on various banks in upstate New York
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The United States National Banking System was created by the National Banking Acts of 1863 and 1864, which provided for a system of banks to be chartered by the federal government and employed various means to encourage banks to submit to federal oversight. Partly as a result of this legislation, many banks began offering "demand deposit accounts" also known as checking accounts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Upstate New York Bank Checks Collection consists of engraved checks (some of them rather ornate in design) from banks in upstate New York. Banks represented includ the First National Bank of Cooperstown, the Importers Traders National Bank, Sisson & Chapman Banking Office, the Oneida Valley National Bank, and the Farmers' National Bank of Hudson.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Banking -- New York (State)
Business enterprises -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Checks (bank checks)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Upstate New York Bank Checks Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jun 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Financial records
SC 827 Checks 1852-1908

Return to top