Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Louis Untermeyer Photograph

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: MacDonald, Pirie, 1867-1942.
Title: Louis Untermeyer Photograph
Inclusive Dates: 1929
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Photograph of Louis Untermeyer, autographed.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louis Untermeyer (1885-1977), was an American poet. Best known as an editor of poetry anthologies, Untermeyer believed that poetry is for everyone, and should not be regarded exclusively as a high art. His books aimed to make poetry accessible to the public, and lead others to love poetry as he did. Throughout his life he remained passionate about poetry, corresponding with such notable people as Robert Frost, and eventually became poet laureate of the United States from 1961 to 1963.

Pirie MacDonald (1867-1942) was a prolific American portrait photographer. As he only photographed male subjects, he dubbed himself the "Photographer of Men." Throughout his career, he estimated he had photographed a total of 70,000 men overall, including such notable subjects as United States Presidents Theodore Roosevelt and Woodrow Wilson and many other notable contemporaries worldwide.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Louis Untermeyer Photograph is a single item, Pirie Macdonald's portrait of Untermeyer with Untermeyer's autograph.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A collection of Pirie MacDonald's photographs is also held by New York Historical Society, in the Pirie MacDonald Portrait Photograph Collection, which also includes a portrait of Untermeyer.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

MacDonald, Pirie, 1867-1942.
Untermeyer, Louis, 1885-1977.

Subjects

Poets, American.
Portrait photography.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis Untermeyer Photograph,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 11 Jun 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 857 Louis Untermeyer 1929 - signed and inscribed, "Cordially, Louis Untermeyer, 1929."

Return to top