Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.) Records

An inventory of the records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.)
Title: Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1814-2005
Bulk Dates: 1814-1945
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Minutes, treasurer records, and membership records of a church in Madison County; modern transcripts and National Historic Places registry documentation
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Union Congregational Church in Lenox and Sullivan is an American Congregational Church founded in 1814 in Madison County, New York. It was reincorporated as the Oneida Lake Congregational Church in 1847. Construction of the building, which is one of the oldest standing churches in Madison County, began in 1824; it has been added to and expanded over the years and was listed on the National Registers of Historic Places in 2005.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.) Records contains meeting minutes, treasurer's records, and membership records, as well as documentation regarding the church's inclusion on the National Register of Historic Places. Some of the volumes have been transcribed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Oneida Lake Congregational Church.
Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.)

Subjects

Church buildings -- New York (State)
Church records and registers -- New York (State) -- Lenox.
Church records and registers -- New York (State) -- Sullivan.
Congregational churches -- New York (State) -- Lenox.
Congregational churches -- New York (State) -- Sullivan.
Congregationalists -- New York (State) -- Lenox.
Congregationalists -- New York (State) -- Sullivan.

Places

Madison County (N.Y.)
Oneida Lake (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Church registers.
Financial records.
Minutes (administrative records)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Union Congregational Church (Lenox and Sullivan, N.Y.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Volume of minutes and historical records, gift of A. P. Corman, 1969.

Five volumes plus transcripts, gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 02 Dec 2008
Revision history: 9 Feb 2021 - 5 volumes plus transcripts and NRHP documentation added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Administrative records
Box 1 Church trustee records 1845-1909
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Box 1 Incorporation documents 1814, 1824, 1847 - photocopies
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Box 1 Minutes and membership records 1814-1837
Gift of A. P. Corman, 1969
Box 1 Minutes and membership records, transcript 1814-1837 - typed transcript of above volume
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Box 1 Oneida Lake Society Records 1847-1945
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Financial records
Box 1 Treasurer's books 1910-1914
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Box 1 Treasurer's books 1921-1984
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Box 1 Treasurer's reports 1965-1967, 1971
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020
Historic registry documentation
Box 1 National Register of Historic Places application 2005
Gift of Sandy Wilsey, 2020

Return to top