Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Grace Hill Turnbull Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Turnbull, Grace Hill, 1880-
Title: Grace Hill Turnbull Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1914-1960
Quantity: 3.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American sculptor, painter, author. Collection includes correspondence (1938-1943); book manuscripts, as well as manuscript poems and essays; drawings; photographs; and published material by and about Turnbull, including articles, clippings, pamphlets, and exhibition catalogs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Grace Turnbull (1880-1976) was an American sculptor, painter and author.

Born December 30, 1880 in Baltimore, Maryland, Turnbull studied painting at the Maryland Institute, the Pennsylvania Academy, and the Art Students League. In 1930 she turned her artistic talents to sculpture, which she studied at the Rinehart School of the Maryland Institute and in Rome.

Her paintings and sculptures have been exhibited in many solo shows, including the Delphic Studio in New York (1931, 1946) and the Corcoran Gallery in Washington, DC (1948). She also participated in many group shows at the Art Institute of Chicago, Baltimore Museum of Art, Salon des Beaux Arts, and International Art Union in Paris, Pennsylvania.

Turnbull received the Whitelaw Reid Prize for painting in Paris in 1914, and for her sculpture she received the Anna Hyatt Huntington Prize in 1932 and 1944.

In addition to her artistic pursuits, Turnbull was also the author of numerous books, among them Tongues of Fire (1929), Essence of Plotinus (1934), Fruit of the Vine (1950), and the autobiography Chips from My Chisel (1953). She also wrote numerous pamphlets and contributed articles to various literary publications.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grace Hill Turnbull Papers consist of correspondence (incoming and outgoing), subject files, manuscripts (books, drawings, essays, hymns, lectures, poems and stories), photographs of her works, and published material (books, articles, clippings, pamphlets, exhibition notices, and a poem).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming (arranged alphabetically) and outgoing (arranged chronologically). All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Turnbull, Grace Hill, 1880-1960

Subjects

Animal sculpture -- United States.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.
Women authors, American.
Women painters -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Authors.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grace Hill Turnbull Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1965
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 4 Aug 2010 - adds M71-6 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming, B-W
Box 1 Outgoing 10 Oct 1938 - 22 Sep 1943
Subject files
Box 1 Business transactions
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Notes
Box 1 Program for Lizette Woodworth Reese dedication
Box 1 Exercises
Manuscripts
Books
Box 1 The autobiography of Paul the apostle
Box 1 The essence of Plotinus (3 folders)
Box 1 The fruit of the vine
Box 2 Tongues of fire (7 folders)
Drawings
Box 3 Original
Essays
Box 3 Asoka
Box 3 Credo
Box 3 A declaration of independence
Box 3 Isaiah on preparedness
Box 3 On anger
Box 3 Reasons for a new edition of Plotinus
Box 3 What going to church means to me
Box 3 Untitled
Hymns
Box 3 Written for the Chapel of the Four Chaplains of Different Creeds
Lectures
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Poems
Box 3 by Turnbull
Box 3 by Lizette Woodworth Reese
Reviews
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Stories
Box 3 First friend and advisor
Box 3 Planting the cross in Mexico
Synopses
Box 3 Prince Siddhartha
Photographs
Box 3 Paintings
Box 3 Sculpture, animals
Box 3 Sculpture, figures (2 folders)
Box 3 Miscellaneous - includes photo of Turnbull with some of her sculptures
Published material
Books
Box 4 Chips from my chisel - publicity flier only
Box 4 The essence of Plotinus - includes publicity flier
Box 4 Fruit of the vine
Box 4 Painting and sculpture
Box 4 Tongues of fire
Box 4 Introduction, to pamphlet on Sir Thomas Browne
Magazine articles
Box 4 The Bible of mankind
Newspaper clippings
Box 4 About Turnbull
Box 4 By Turnbull - letter to the editor
Pamphlets
Box 4 Battle front, as seen by a sculptor
Box 4 A new method of giving
Pamphlets of exhibitions
Box 4 One-man shows of Turnbull
Box 4 American Artists Professional League
Box 4 Art Institute of Chicago
Box 4 Charcoal Club
Box 5 Maryland Artists
Box 5 National Association of Women Artists
Box 5 National Association of Women Painters and Sculptors
Box 5 National Sculpture Society
Box 5 Penncylvania Academy of Fine Arts
Box 6 Society of Baltimore Independent Artists
Box 6 Society of Independent Artists
Box 6 Southern State League 1914-1960 (3 folders)
Poems
Box 6 Gracious living

Return to top