Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Tupperware Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Plastics Center & Museum.
Title: Tupperware Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1949-2004
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection is an artificial compilation of pieces donated to the National Plastics Center & Museum. It includes sales material such as brochures and sales receipts, a copy photograph of the founder Earl Tupper with his signature, and a book of poetry published by Tupperware.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Earl Tupper (1907-1983) founded Tupperware Brands Corporation in 1938. Tupper's method of purifying a by-product of the oil refining process resulted in affordable polyethylene -- plastic -- products in a rainbow of colors for a wide range of kitchen and home uses. Tupper introduced the line in 1946 through department and hardware stores; sales were steady but modest until the advent of Tupperware Home Parties (based on a similar strategy developed by Stanley Home Products). The Home Parties were an immediate success and in 1958 Earl Tupper was able to sell the company for $16 million.

Tupperware spread to England and thence to Europe in the 1960s. As of 2009 Tupperware was being sold in nearly 100 countries -- still primarily through the home party method, though in some cases under alternate product names (for example, Kompakt-System in Germany and Eleganzia in England).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tupperware Collection contains correspondence, printed material and photographs.

Correspondence includes letters between Harold A. Holtz and Earl Tupper, Harold A. Holtz and Gladys M. Leedy, and Harold A. Holtz to Lou Agnello with accompanying photographs of the opening of a time capsule with the original Tupperware set inside. Harold A. Holtz was an employee of Union Carbide/Bakelite Company and a colleague and friend of Earl Tupper.

Photographs include several photos of Earl Tupper and Harold A. Holtz.

Printed material includes a Tupperware newsletter, Tupperware Home Parties material, Tupperware demonstration booklet, and promotional material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. There are also items made of Tupperware in the artifacts holdings.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Holtz, Harold A.
Tupper, Earl Silas.

Corporate Bodies

Tupperware Corporation.

Subjects

Plastic containers.
Plastic tableware.
Plastics industry and trade.
Tupperware Home Parties.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Brochures.
Catalogs.
Newsletters.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tupperware Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

"Tupperware: A Household Word in Homes Everywhere" (1958) catalog given to Harold A. Holtz by Earl Tupper, later donated to the National Plastics Museum.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); May 2009 - updated, rehoused (MRC); March 2011 - added material, updated (CEG) ; June 2014 - added material (DRF)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Holtz, Harold A. and Earl S. Tupper 1953, 1978-1979, 1982-1983 (8 letters)
Box 1 Holtz, Harold A. and Gladys M. Leedy 1983, 1985 (7 letters)
Box 1 Holtz, Harold A. and Lou A. Agnello 1983 - 5 photographs of Tupper and Holtz are enclosed with the letters featuring a Tupperware time capsule opening event (2 letters)
Box 1 Tupper, Glenn 1983 - handwritten Christmas card to Harold A. Holtz
Photographs
Box 1 Earl Tupper and Harold A. Holtz, signed by Earl Tupper
Box 1 Earl Tupper, Harold A. Holtz, and unknown man - one photograph is signed by Earl Tupper (3 photographs)
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1983 - Earl Tupper's obituaries, one from The New York Times and the other from The Tico Times
Box 1 Newsletter, "Sales Sentinal Magazine Section," Special Jubilee Edition July 1958
Box 1 Promotional material 1949, 1957, 2002, 2004
advertisement for a movie screening of "Tupperware!" being shown at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston (2004)
"American Experience: Tupperware!" postcard ad for PBS documentary (2004)
comb and shampoo fount advertisement
"Tupper Seals" brochure (circa 1949)
Tupperware Tumblers brochure (1949)
Tupperware holiday home catalog (2002)
Wonderlier bowls advertisement (1957)
Box 1 Tupperware Home Parties 1953-1955, 1957-1958, 1978, 1980
blank receipts
catalog (1980)
container insert explain how to fix the top if it becomes warped (1957)
map of the Orange Blossom Trail that highlights Tupperware Home Parties, Inc. HQ location and picture (1954)
paper card featuring Sauce Dishes of Poly-T (1953)
postcard featuring Tupperware Home Parties, Inc. National Headquarters (1955)
recipe cards (1953-1954)
"This is Tupperware" information guide
"Tupperware: A Household Word in Homes Everywhere" (1958)
You’re in the Company of Friends book of poems (1978)
Box 1 Tupperware Know How Demonstration Guide 1983

Return to top