Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Elizabeth Trout Papers

An inventory of the her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Trout, Elizabeth.
Title: Elizabeth Trout Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1954-1962
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Reports, notes, printed material, clippings relating to the Oneida-Kenwood-Sherrill Migrant Committee's reading program, established and operated in central New York in the late 1950s to early 1960s.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Elizabeth Trout (1902-1989) of Farmington, New York was a member of the Oneida-Kenwood-Sherrill Migrant Committee and active in its reading program. The Migrant Committee's work focused on the needs of migrant workers who came up from Florida and other southern states in the summer months to help plant and harvest crops in Oneida County and Madison County in central New York. The migrant committee worked for better housing conditions and labor rights in migrant camps, established day-care centers and summer schools for migrant children, and set up a scholarship fund for migrant children going on to college.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Elizabeth Trout Papers consists of subject files, almost all related to Trout's work with the Oneida-Kenwood-Sherrill Migrant Committee, particularly their Reading Program. Formats include correspondence, printed material, newspaper and magazine clippings, and committee reports.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Prudence Wayland-Smith Papers and the Oneida Community Collection. There are also many published items relating to the Oneida Community in our Rare Books holdings; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Trout, Elizabeth.
Wayland-Smith, Prudence.

Corporate Bodies

Oneida Community.
Oneida-Kenwood-Sherrill Migrant Committee.

Subjects

Children of migrant laborers.
Civil rights movement -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Migrant agricultural laborers -- United States -- 1930-1960.
Migrant agricultural laborers -- United States -- 1960-1970.
Migrant labor -- Education -- United States.
Reading (Elementary)
Reading -- Remedial teaching.
Reading teachers -- United States.

Places

Kenwood (N.Y.) -- History.
Oneida (N.Y.) -- History.
Sherrill (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Printed ephemera.
Reports.

Occupations

Reading teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Elizabeth Trout Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 2001.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010
Revision history: 22 Feb 2012 - updated bio (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Subject files
Box 1 Clippings 1954-1964
Box 1 Correspondence 1954-1962, undated
Box 1 Oneida-Kenwood-Sherrill Migrant Committee reports 1954-1962
Box 1 Printed material - brochures, magazine articles, fliers, mass mailings, etc.
Box 1 Reading Program case studies, etc. - includes evaluations of other reading programs such as the Indian Reading Program
Box 1 Reading Program - typed and handwritten reports, evaluations, more (2 folders)
Box 1 Spirituals - typed newsletter-style sheets with words to spiritual songs
Box 1 Miscellaneous - notes, blank forms, typed prospectus on Horizons Unlimited, more

Return to top