Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Abram Tromka Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tromka, Abram, 1896-1954.
Title: Abram Tromka Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1934-1961
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Polish-born American Jewish painter, etcher, serigrapher. Also worked under name Abraham Phillips. Collection includes correspondence, exhibition catalogs, photographs of Tromka and his work, published material, including articles and clippings about Tromka.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Abram Tromka (1896-1954) was a Polish-born American Jewish painter, etcher and serigrapher. He also worked under the name Abraham Phillips.

Born in Poland, Tromka came to the United States at the age of 11 and attended public school in New York City. Although he studied at an early age with Henri and Bellows, Tromka was for the most part self-taught; he worked mostly in oil, gouache, watercolor, serigraphy, drawing and etching. As a youth, he illustrated the book The House on Henry Street by Lillian D. Wald, and his etching entitled "The sweet potato vendor was purchased by the Metropolitan Museum of Art when he was only nineteen.

Tromka's work has been exhibited in museums in the United States and in Central and South America, and is in the permanent collections of several important museums, including the Biro Bidjan Museum in the former Soviet Union.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Abram Tromka Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts (both of Tromka and of others) and published material (clippings, press releases, exhibition catalogs).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically; outgoing is arranged chronologically. The remaining series are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Tromka, Abram, 1896-1954.
Tromka, Ann.

Associated Titles

House on Henry Street.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Etchers -- United States.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Polish Americans.
Serigraphers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketchbooks.

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Painters.
Serigraphers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Abram Tromka Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ann Tromka, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 24 May 1966
Revision history: 12 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 A - N, miscellaneous
Box 1 Brooklyn Museum 1934, 1945, 1946, 1952
Box 1 Carnegie Institute 1941, 1944-1945
Box 1 Ellis, Havelock undated
Outgoing
Box 1 1952, undated
Of others
Box 1 Tromka, Ann 1961
Subject files
Box 1 Art and artists
Box 1 Awards
Box 1 Photographs of Tromka
Box 1 Photographs of Tromka's work
Box 1 Recipes
Box 1 USSR
Manuscripts
Of Tromka
Box 1 Drawing
Box 1 Journal of southern trip
Box 1 Sketchbook
Of others
Box 1 "Abram Tromka" / Dr. Isaac Klcomok
Box 1 "Foreword to catalogue for Tromka exhibition" / Herman Baron 1956
Box 1 "Foreword for Catalogue" / Philip Evergood 1961
Published material
Box 1 Articles about Tromka
Box 1 Book, The House on Henry Street by L. Wald, illustrated by A. Phillips (Tromka)
Box 1 Exhibitions, one-man shows
Box 2 Exhibitions, with others
Box 2 Newspaper clippings about Tromka
Box 2 Newspaper clippings by Tromka
Box 2 Press releases
Box 2 Reproductions of Tromka's work

Return to top