Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Trever Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Trever, John
Title: John Trever Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1977-2010
Quantity: 23 linear ft. (50 oversize boxes)
Abstract: American editorial cartoonist for the Albuquerque Journal. Collection contains original artwork for more than a thousand cartoons, convering subjects such as the O.J. Simpson Trial, the Iran/Contra affair, the Oklahoma City bombing, the Branch Davidian incident in Waco, the 1992 and 1996 presidential elections, the presidencies of Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush, all areas of U.S. domestic and foreign policy, current issues of the day (e.g., the deficit, Congressional gridlock, etc.), and many other events and personalities.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Trever is an American editorial and political cartoonist. A graduate of Syracuse University, he was the political cartoonist for the Albuquerque Journal for 35 years, from 1976 to 2011. He has been honored for his work by the Society of Professional Journalists, the Free Press Association, the Overseas Press Club, the New Mexico Legislature and the Albuquerque Arts Alliance, and his cartoons are distributed to more than 350 daily papers by King Features Syndicate.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Trever Cartoons consists of original artwork for more than a thousand editorial cartoons, dating from 1985 to 1996. Subjects covered include the O.J. Simpson Trial, the Iran/Contra affair, the Oklahoma City bombing, the Branch Davidian incident in Waco, the 1992 and 1996 presidential elections, the presidencies of Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush, U.S. domestic and foreign policy, current issues of the day, and many other events and personalities. In a few cases Trever has annotated an item on the back, indicating the subject.

There are gaps in the collection -- that is, not every single date is represented. In some cases the original was sold or given away, or retained by the donor. For some, but not all, of these missing items, photocopies (annotated by Trever as to date and the disposition of the original) were provided with the original donation. A complete list of dates present in the collection is available in PDF form. In two cases, a cartoon is in the form of a negative transparency rather than original art

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological, as identified by donor.

Return to top

Other Related Finding Aids

A complete list of dates present in the collection is available in PDF form.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the collections of more than 200 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bush, George, 1924- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Clinton, Bill, 1946- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Trever, John.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- New Mexico.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxes -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1985-1995 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1995-2005 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Foreign relations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Artwork.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Drawings (visual works)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Trever Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Trever, 2003, 2012-2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2012
Revision history: 10 Apr 2013 - added 1985-1990 items (MRC); 9 Mar 2016 - additions for 1977-1984, 1997-2010 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
The following is a list of inclusive dates for each box in the collection. A complete list of dates present in the collection is available in PDF form.
Oversize 18 Cartoons 1976, Nov-Dec (For all of 1976: 16 original items, 4 photocopies)
Oversize 18 Cartoons 1977, Jan-Jun (For all of 1977: 112 original items, 34 photocopies)
Oversize 19 Cartoons 1977, Jul-Dec (For all of 1977: 112 original items, 34 photocopies)
Oversize 19 Cartoons 1978, Jan (For all of 1978: 127 original items, 25 photocopies)
Oversize 20 Cartoons 1978, Feb-Jul (For all of 1978: 127 original items, 25 photocopies)
Oversize 21 Cartoons 1978, Aug-Dec (For all of 1978: 127 original items, 25 photocopies)
Oversize 21 Cartoons 1979, Jan (For all of 1979: 122 original items, 27 photocopies)
Oversize 22 Cartoons 1979, Feb-Jul (For all of 1979: 122 original items, 27 photocopies)
Oversize 23 Cartoons 1979, Aug-Dec (For all of 1979: 122 original items, 27 photocopies)
Oversize 23 Cartoons 1980, Jan (For all of 1980: 144 original items, 21 photocopies)
Oversize 24 Cartoons 1980, Feb-Jul (For all of 1980: 144 original items, 21 photocopies)
Oversize 25 Cartoons 1980, Aug-Dec (For all of 1980: 144 original items, 21 photocopies)
Oversize 26 Cartoons 1981, Jan-Jun (For all of 1981: 158 original items, 23 photocopies)
Oversize 27 Cartoons 1981, Jul-Dec (For all of 1981: 158 original items, 23 photocopies)
Oversize 28 Cartoons 1982, Jan-Aug (For all of 1982: 143 original items, 22 photocopies)
Oversize 29 Cartoons 1982, Sep-Dec (For all of 1982: 143 original items, 22 photocopies)
Oversize 29 Cartoons 1983, Jan-Mar (For all of 1983: 143 original items, 22 photocopies)
Oversize 30 Cartoons 1983, Apr-Oct (For all of 1983: 143 original items, 22 photocopies)
Oversize 31 Cartoons 1983, Nov-Dec (For all of 1983: 143 original items, 22 photocopies)
Oversize 31 Cartoons 1984, Jan-May (For all of 1984: 149 original items, 13 photocopies)
Oversize 32 Cartoons 1984, Jun-Dec (For all of 1984: 149 original items, 13 photocopies)
Oversize 10 Cartoons 1985, Jan-Sep (108 original items, 12 photocopies)
Oversize 11 Cartoons 1985, Oct-Dec (32 original items, 6 photocopies)
Oversize 11 Cartoons 1986, Jan-Jun (70 original items, 8 photocopies)
Oversize 12 Cartoons 1986, Jul-Dec (70 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 12 Cartoons 1987, Jan-Apr (45 original items, 5 photocopies)
Oversize 13 Cartoons 1987, May-Dec (102 original items, 10 photocopies)
Oversize 14 Cartoons 1988, Jan-Sep (108 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 15 Cartoons 1988, Oct-Dec (31 original items, 6 photocopies)
Oversize 15 Cartoons 1989, Jan-Aug (89 original items, 3 photocopies)
Oversize 16 Cartoons 1989, Sep-Dec (46 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 16 Cartoons 1990, Jan-Mar (40 original items, 3 photocopies)
Oversize 17 Cartoons 1990, Apr-Dec (107 original items, 12 photocopies)
Oversize 1 Cartoons 1991 Jan-Aug (101 original items, 9 photocopies)
Oversize 2 Cartoons 1991 Sep-Dec (40 original items, 6 photocopies)
Oversize 2 Cartoons 1992 Jan-Apr (50 original items, 4 photocopies)
Oversize 3 Cartoons 1992 May-Dec (107 original items, 4 photocopies)
Oversize 4 Cartoons 1993 Jan-May (57 original items, 5 photocopies)
Oversize 5 Cartoons 1993 Jun-Dec (71 original items, 13 photocopies)
Oversize 6 Cartoons 1994 Jan-Aug (81 original items, 12 photocopies)
Oversize 7 Cartoons 1994 Sep-Dec (39 original items, 5 photocopies)
Oversize 7 Cartoons 1995 Jan-Apr (35 original items, 4 photocopies)
Oversize 8 Cartoons 1995 May-Dec (74 original items, 8 photocopies)
Oversize 9 Cartoons 1996 (106 original items, 24 photocopies)
Oversize 33 Cartoons 1997, Jan-Oct (For all of 1997: 101 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 34 Cartoons 1997, Nov-Dec (For all of 1997: 101 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 34 Cartoons 1998, Jan-Aug (For all of 1998: 104 original items, 25 photocopies)
Oversize 35 Cartoons 1998, Sep-Dec (For all of 1998: 104 original items, 25 photocopies)
Oversize 35 Cartoons 1999, Jan-Jul (For all of 1999: 93 original items, 11 photocopies)
Oversize 36 Cartoons 1999, Aug-Dec (For all of 1999: 93 original items, 11 photocopies)
Oversize 36 Cartoons 2000, Jan-Aug (For all of 2000: 109 original items, 5 photocopies)
Oversize 37 Cartoons 2000, Sep-Dec (For all of 2000: 109 original items, 5 photocopies)
Oversize 37 Cartoons 2001, Jan-May (For all of 2001: 117 original items, 11 photocopies)
Oversize 38 Cartoons 2001, Jun-Dec (For all of 2001: 117 original items, 11 photocopies)
Oversize 38 Cartoons 2002, Jan-Mar (For all of 2002: 120 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 39 Cartoons 2002, Apr-Dec (For all of 2002: 120 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 40 Cartoons 2003, Jan-Sep (For all of 2003: 114 original items, 9 photocopies)
Oversize 41 Cartoons 2003, Oct-Dec (For all of 2003: 114 original items, 9 photocopies)
Oversize 41 Cartoons 2004, Jan-Jun (For all of 2004: 122 original items, 17 photocopies)
Oversize 42 Cartoons 2004, Jul-Dec (For all of 2004: 122 original items, 17 photocopies)
Oversize 42 Cartoons 2005, Jan-Mar (For all of 2005: 112 original items, 10 photocopies)
Oversize 43 Cartoons 2005, Apr-Dec (For all of 2005: 112 original items, 10 photocopies)
Oversize 44 Cartoons 2006, Jan-Sep (For all of 2006: 102 original items, 8 photocopies)
Oversize 45 Cartoons 2006, Oct-Dec (For all of 2006: 102 original items, 8 photocopies)
Oversize 45 Cartoons 2007, Jan-Apr (For all of 2007: 110 original items, 1 photocopies)
Oversize 46 Cartoons 2007, May-Oct (For all of 2007: 110 original items, 1 photocopies)
Oversize 47 Cartoons 2007, Nov-Dec (For all of 2007: 110 original items, 1 photocopies)
Oversize 47 Cartoons 2008, Jan-May (For all of 2008: 129 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 48 Cartoons 2008, Jun-Dec (For all of 2008: 129 original items, 7 photocopies)
Oversize 48 Cartoons 2009, Jan-Feb (For all of 2009: 108 original items, 6 photocopies)
Oversize 49 Cartoons 2009, Mar-Dec (For all of 2009: 108 original items, 6 photocopies)
Oversize 49 Cartoons 2010, Jan-Feb (For all of 2010: 116 original items, 2 photocopies)
Oversize 50 Cartoons 2010, Mar-Dec (For all of 2010: 116 original items, 2 photocopies)

Return to top