Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

H. C. Tinsley Collection Relating to John J. Pershing

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tinsley, Howard C.
Title: H. C. Tinsley Collection Relating to John J. Pershing
Inclusive Dates: 1919-1920
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Memorabilia, printed material, and writings by and about American General John J. Pershing.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

According to information provided by the donor of this material, Howard Carnes Tinsley (1876-1928) was an American soldier during World War I. He is listed as a staff member assigned to HQ COD [Combat Operations Division?], LoC [Lines of Communication] and later served as American Vice Consul to Uruguay. At some point during his military career he evidently served in some administrative capacity with General John J. Pershing.

John Joseph Pershing (1860-1948) was an American career military officer best know for his service in Europe during World War I. A graduate of West Point, Pershing had a long military career, serving in the Spanish-American War, the Philippines Insurrection, and the Mexican Expedition. During World War I, Pershing was appointed Commander-in-Chief of American Expeditionary Forces in France. When the war ended, he served as Chief of Staff to the United States Army. In 1919, he was awarded the title "General of the Armies of the United States" by Congress, the highest possible rank at the time, making him the only officer in U.S. history to hold the title other than George Washington. He retired in 1924. His memoirs, My Experiences in the World War, were awarded the 1932 Pulitzer Prize for history. During World War II he was a strong advocate of aid to Britain.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The H. C. Tinsley Collection Relating to John J. Pershing consists of memorabilia, printed material, and writings relating to General John J. Pershing, U.S. Army.

Memorabilia consists of a typed document concerning World War I battlefields in France, various invitations and programs for events honoring General Pershing upon his return the U.S., and a list of staff salaries and assignments, including H.C. Tinsley. There is also a color photocopy of three photographs.

Printed material contains several issues of "The Transport Ace," a newsletter printed by and for those aboard the USS Leviathan, and a small commemorative booklet printed for American soldiers heading home.

Writings are all by Pershing (or, possibly, by a speechwriter for him). There is a copy of Pershing's final formal report as Commander in Chief of the American Expeditionary Forces, and several speeches given by Pershing to ladies' clubs, high schools, and other civilian groups in late 1919 and early 1920.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Pershing, John J. (John Joseph), 1860-1948.
Tinsley, Howard Carnes.

Corporate Bodies

Leviathan (Steamship)
United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Subjects

Battlefields -- France -- 1910-1920.
Generals -- United States.
World War, 1914-1918 -- France.

Places

United States -- History -- 1919-1933.
United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Invitations.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)
Reports.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Soldiers -- 1910-1920.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

H. C. Tinsley Collection Relating to John J. Pershing,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert C. Sewell, whose grandfather was Tinsley's nephew.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jul 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Guide to the Battlefields circa 1919
Box 1 Invitations, programs. etc. 1919-1920
Box 1 List of staff salaries and assignments 1920 - also includes one typed sheet with some notes on overall organization
Box 1 Photographs (reproductions) 1919 - color photocopies of three photographs, two showing Tinsley and one possibly showing Pershing
Printed material
Box 1 "To the Homeward Bound Americans" by B. Van Vorst circa 1919 - expresses gratitude of the people of France to American soldiers
Box 1 "The Transport Ace," USS Leviathan Sep 1919
Writings
Reports
Box 1 Final report of Gen. John J. Pershing, Commander, American Expeditionary Forces (Government Printing Office) 1919
Speeches
Box 1 Lincoln, Nebraska Dec 1919 (3 items)
Box 1 Mesa and Phoenix, Arizona 30 Jan 1920 (7 items)
Box 1 Fort Worth, Texas 7 Feb 1920 (1 item)

Return to top