Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tinker, Mark
Title: Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1994-2002
Quantity: 14 linear ft.
Abstract: Scripts and production notes for the television drama NYPD Blue
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

NYPD Blue is a police drama from producer Steven Bochco (Hill Street Blues, LA Law) that mixes action with cops' personal lives. Premiering in September 1993, NYPD Blue weathered early criticism from Christian watchdog groups and ABC station affiliates for its adult language and partial nudity to become one of network television's most critically acclaimed programs. The show is widely recognized for its realism, brilliant writing, exceptional acting, and treatment of controversial subject matter. It has received more than 80 Emmy nominations, winning 19.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection contains Scripts and production notes for most of the seasons (scripts and production notes from Seasons 1, 4, and 10 are not included within the collection). The four-digit production number for each episode is given in parenthesis ( ).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in order by season and, within each season, by air date. Production notes can be found at the end of each season.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Videotapes of 193 episodes from seasons 2 thorugh 9 have been removed from the collection and shelved in Media Services. Please contact the repository listed above for further information.

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Tinker, Mark

Associated Titles

NYPD Blue (television series)

Subjects

Popular culture, United States
Television serials
Television, Production and direction
Television, United States

Genres and Forms

Notes.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Television producers and directors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mark Tinker, director of the series.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: unknown
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Scripts and production books
Season 2
Box 1 Episode 2-1 (0V01) TRIALS & TRIBULATIONS 10/11/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-2 (0V02) FOR WHOM THE SKELL TOLLS 10/18/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-3 (0V03) COP SUEY 10/25/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-4 (0V04) DEAD & GONE 11/1/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-5 (0V05) FINAL ADJUSTMENT 11/22/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-6 (0V06) DOUBLE ABANDANDO 11/29/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-7 (0V07) SIMONE SAYS 11/15/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-8 (0V08) YOU BET YOUR LIFE 12/6/1994
Box 1 Episode 2-9 (0V09) DON WE NOW OUR GAY APPAREL 1/3/1995
Box 1 Episode 2-10 (0V10) IN THE BUTT, BOB 1/10/1995
Box 1 Episode 2-11 (0V11) VISHY VASHY VINNIE 1/17/1995
Box 1 Episode 2-12 (0V12) LARGE MOUTH BASS 2/7/1995
Box 1 Episode 2-13 (0V13) TRAVELS WITH ANDY 2/14/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-14 (0V14) A MURDER WITH TEETH IN IT 2/21/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-15 (0V15) BOMB'S AWAY 2/28/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-16 (0V16) UNAMERICAN GRAFFITI 3/14/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-17 (0V17) DIRTY SOCKS 3/21/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-18 (0V18) INNUENDO 4/4/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-19 (0V19) BOXER REBELLION 5/2/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-20 (0V20) THE BOOKIE & KOOKY COOKIE 5/9/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-21 (0V21) THE BANK DICK 5/16/1995
Box 2 Episode 2-22 (0V22) A.D.A. SIPOWITZ 5/23/1995
Box 2 2nd SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes production schedules, weekly status reports, Nielsen Ranking Reports, spotting notes, and air dates
Season 3
Box 2 Episode 3-1 (0G01) E.R. 10/24/1995
Box 2 Episode 3-2 (0G02) TORAH! TORAH! TORAH! 10/31/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-3 (0G03) ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY 11/7/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-4 (0G04) HEAVEN CAN WAIT 11/14/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-5 (0G05) DIRTY LAUNDRY 11/21/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-6 (0G06) CURT RUSSELL 11/28/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-7 (0G07) AGING BULL 12/12/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-8 (0G08) COLD HEATERS 12/19/1995
Box 3 Episode 3-9 (0G09) SORRY, WONG SUSPECT 1/9/1996
Box 3 Episode 3-10 (0G10) THE BACKBOARD JUNGLE 1/16/1996
Box 3 Episode 3-11 (0G11) BURNIN' LOVE 1/30/1996
Box 3 Episode 3-12 (0G12) THESE OLD BONES 2/6/1996
Box 3 Episode 3-13 (0G13) A TUSHFUL OF DOLLARS 2/13/1996
Box 3 Episode 3-14 (0G14) THE NUTTY CONFESSOR 2/20/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-15 (0G15) HEAD CASE 2/27/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-16 (0G16) GIRL TALK 3/19/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-17 (0G17) HOLLIE & THE BLOWFISH 3/26/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-18 (0G18) WE WAS ROBBED 4/2/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-19 (0G19) AUNTIE MAIMED 4/30/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-20 (0G20) A DEATH IN THE FAMILY 5/7/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-21 (0G21) CLOSING TIME 5/14/1996
Box 4 Episode 3-22 (0G22) HE'S NOT GUILTY, HE'S MY BROTHER 5/21/1996
Box 4 3rd SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes shooting schedules, status reports, correspondence, cost summaries, and scripts
Season 5
Box 4 Episode 5-1 (0T01) THIS BUD'S FOR YOU 9/30/1997
Box 4 Episode 5-2 (0T02) ALL'S WELLS THAT ENDS WELLS 10/7/1997
Box 4 Episode 5-3 (0T03) THREE GIRLS AND A BABY 10/14/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-4 (0T04) THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE 10/28/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-5 (0T05) IT TAKES A VILLAGE 11/4/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-6 (0T06) DEAD MAN TALKING 11/11/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-7 (0T07) SHEEDY DEALINGS 11/18/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-8 (0T08) LOST ISRAEL [PART I] 11/25/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-9 (0T09) LOST ISRAEL [PART II] 12/9/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-10 (0T10) REMEMBRANCE OF HUMPS PAST 12/16/1997
Box 5 Episode 5-11 (0T11) YOU'RE UNDER A RASTA 1/6/1998
Box 5 Episode 5-12 (0T12) A BOX OF WENDY 1/13/1998
Box 5 Episode 5-13 (0T13) TWIN PETES 2/10/1998
Box 5 Episode 5-14 (0T14) WEAVER OF HATE 2/17/1998
Box 5 Episode 5-15 (0T15) DON'T KILL THE MESSENGER 2/24/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-16 (0T16) THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY 3/3/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-17 (0T17) SPEAK FOR YOURSELF, BRUCE CLAYTON 3/24/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-18 (0T18) I DON'T WANNA DYE 3/31/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-19 (0T19) PROSTRATE BEFORE THE LAW 4/28/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-20 (0T20) HAMMER TIME 5/5/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-21 (0T21) SEMINAL THINKING 5/12/1998
Box 6 Episode 5-22 (0T22) HONEYMOON AT VIAGRA FALLS 5/19/1998
Box 6 5th SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes shooting schedules, production reports, contact lists, correspondence, cost summaries, and scripts
Season 6
Box 6 Episode 6-1 (0C01) TOP GUM 10/20/1998
Box 6 Episode 6-2 (0c01) COP IN A BOTTLE 10/27/1998
Box 6 Episode 6-3 (0c03) NUMB & NUMBER 11/10/1998
Box 6 Episode 6-4 (0C04) BROTHER'S KEEPER 11/17/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-5 (0C05) HEART AND SOULS 11/24/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-6 (0C06) DANNY BOY 12/1/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-7 (0C07) CZECH BOUNCER 12/8/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-8 (0C08) RAGING BULLS 12/15/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-9 (0C09) GRIME SCENE 1/5/1998
Box 7 Episode 6-10 (0C10) SHOW AND TELL 1/12/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-11 (0C11) THE BIG BANG THEORY 2/9/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-12 (0C12) WHAT'S UP CHUCK? 2/16/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-13 (0C13) DEAD GIRL WALKING 2/23/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-14 (0C14) RAFAEL'S INFERNO 3/2/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-15 (0C15) I HAVE A DREAM 4/6/1999
Box 7 Episode 6-16 (0C16) TAIN'T MISBEHAVIN' 4/13/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-17 (0C17) DON'T METH WITH ME 4/20/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-18 (0C18) MR. ROBERTS 4/27/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-19 (0C19) JUDAS PRIEST 5/4/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-20 (0C20) I'LL DRAW YOU A MAPP 5/11/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-21 (0C21) VOIR DIRE THIS 5/18/1999
Box 8 Episode 6-22 (0C22) SAFE HOME 5/25/1999
Box 8 6th SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes daily production status reports, scripts, and shooting schedules
Season 7
Box 8 Episode 7-1 (0E01) LOOGIE NIGHTS 1/11/2000
Box 8 Episode 7-2 (0E02) A HOLE IN JUAN 1/18/2000
Box 8 Episode 7-3 (0E03) THE MAN WITH TWO RIGHT SHOES 1/25/2000
Box 8 Episode 7-4 (0E04) THE NAKED AND THE DEAD 2/1/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-5 (0E05) THESE SHOOTS ARE MADE FOR JOAQUIN 2/8/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-6 (0E06) BROTHERS UNDER ARMS 2/15/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-7 (0E07) ALONG CAME JONES 2/22/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-8 (0E08) EVERYBODY PLAYS THE MULE 2/23/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-9 (0E09) JACKASS 2/29/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-10 (0E10) WHO MURDERS SLEEP 3/7/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-11 (0E11) LITTLE ABNER 3/14/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-12 (0E12) WELCOME TO NEW YORK 3/21/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-13 (0E13) THE IRVIN FILES 3/28/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-14 (0E14) SLEEP OVER 4/4/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-15 (0E15) STRESSED FOR SUCCESS 4/11/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-16 (0E16) GOOD-BYE CHARLIE 4/18/2000
Box 9 Episode 7-17 (0E17) ROLL OUT THE BARREL 4/25/2000
Box 10 Episode 7-18 (0E18) LUCKY LUCIANO 5/2/2000
Box 10 Episode 7-19 (0E19) TEA AND SYMPATHY 5/9/2000
Box 10 Episode 7-20 (0E20) THIS OLD SPOUSE 5/16/2000
Box 10 Episode 7-21 (0E21) BATS OFF TO LARRY 5/23/2000
Box 10 Episode 7-22 (0E22) THE LAST ROUND UP 5/23/2000
Box 10 7th SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes daily production status reports, shooting schedules, call sheets, contact lists, scripts, air dates, and cost summaries
Season 8
Box 10 Episode 8-1 (EA01) DAVELESS IN NEW YORK 1/9/2001
Box 10 Episode 8-2 (EA02) WAKING UP IS HARD TO DO 1/16/2001
Box 10 Episode 8-3 (EA03) FRANCO MY DEAR, I DON'T GIVE A DAMN 1/23/2001
Box 10 Episode 8-4 (EA04) FAMILY TIES 1/30/2001
Box 10 Episode 8-5 (EA05) FOOLS RUSSIAN 2/6/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-6 (EA06) WRITING WRONGS 2/13/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-7 (EA07) IN-LAWS, OUTLAWS 2/20/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-8 (EA08) RUSSELLMANIA 2/27/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-9 (EA09) OH GOLLY GOTH 3/6/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-10 (EA10) IN THE STILL OF THE NIGHT 3/13/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-11 (EA11) PEEPING TOMMY 3/20/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-12 (EA12) THUMB ENCHANTED EVENING 3/27/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-13 (EA13) FLIGHT OF FANCY 4/3/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-14 (EA14) NARIZ A NARIZ 4/10/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-15 (EA15) LOVE HURTS 4/17/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-16 (EA16) EVERYONE INTO THE POOLE 4/24/2001
Box 11 Episode 8-17 (EA17) DYING TO TESTIFY 5/1/2001
Box 12 Episode 8-18 (EA18) LOST TIME 5/8/2001
Box 12 Episode 8-19 (EA19) UNDER COVERS 5/15/2001
Box 12 Episode 8-20 (EA20) IN THE WIND 5/22/2001
Box 12 8th SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes cost summaries, correspondence, call sheets, daily production reports, shooting schedules, contact lists, and scripts
Season 9
Box 12 Episode 9-1 (GA01) LIE LIKE A RUG 11/6/2001
Box 12 Episode 9-2 (GA02) JOHNNY GOT HIS GOLD 11/6/2001
Box 12 Episode 9-3 (GA03) TWO CLARKS IN A BAR 11/13/2001
Box 12 Episode 9-4 (GA04) HIT THE ROAD, CLARK 11/20/2001
Box 12 Episode 9-5 (GA05) COPS AND ROBBER 11/27/2001
Box 12 Episode 9-6 (GA06) BABY LOVE 12/4/2001
Box 13 Episode 9-7 (GA07) MOMS AWAY 12/11/2001
Box 13 Episode 9-8 (GA08) PUPPY LOVE 12/18/2001
Box 13 Episode 9-9 (GA09) HERE COMES THE SON 1/8/2002
Box 13 Episode 9-10 (GA10) JEALOUS HEARTS 1/15/2002
Box 13 Episode 9-11 (GA11) HUMPTY DUMPED 2/5/2002
Box 13 Episode 9-12 (GA12) OH, MAMA 2/19/2002
Box 13 Episode 9-13 (GA13) SAFARI, SO GOOD 2/26/2002
Box 13 Episode 9-14 (GA14) HAND JOB 3/5/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-15 (GA15) GUNS AND HOSES 3/12/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-16 (GA16) A LITTLE DAD'LL DO YA 3/19/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-17 (GA17) GYPSY WOE'S ME 3/26/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-18 (GA18) LESS IS MORTE 4/16/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-19 (GA19) LOW BLOW 4/30/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-20 (GA20) OEDIPUS WRECKED 5/7/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-21 (GA21) DEAD MEAT IN NEW DELI 5/14/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-22 (GA22) BETTER LAID THAN NEVER [PART I] 5/21/2002
Box 14 Episode 9-23 (GA23) BETTER LAID THAN NEVER [PART II] 5/21/2002
Box 14 9th SEASON PRODUCTION BOOK - Includes correspondence, cost summaries, call sheets, daily production status reports, shooting schedules, and scripts

Return to top