Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Three Shepherds Print

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walsh, Davitt
Title: Three Shepherds Print
Inclusive Dates: circa 1930
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A single print depicting three shepherds observing an airplane in the sky.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the artist, possibly named Davitt Walsh, or Dewitt Walsh. This is possibly H. Davitt Walsh, an artist referenced in The Nation, vol. CVII, No. 2788 (New York: December 7, 1918), p. 712, or H. Dewitt Walsh, artist of "They Give Their Lives," a World War I poster. H. Davitt Walsh and H. Dewitt Walsh are posibly variant spellings of the name of a single person.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Three Shepherds Print is a single item, a print showing three shepherds gazing upon a passing two-engine airplane, of apparently 1930s vintage.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Walsh, Davitt.

Subjects

Airplanes -- Pictorial works.
Shepherds -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Prints (visual works)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Three Shepherds Print,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 05 Jun 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Prints
SC 853 Untitled print circa 1930 - Signature "W.–" in corner, with handwritten signature in pencil possibly reading "Davitt Walsh" below.

Return to top