Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Thousand Islands Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Thousand Islands Collection
Inclusive Dates: early 20th century
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of miscellaneous material (photographs, souvenir booklets, sketches, correspondence, and so on) relating to the Thousand Islands area of New York State.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

"The Thousand Islands" is the name of a 50-mile chain of more than 1500 islands that straddle the U.S.-Canada border in the Saint Lawrence River as it emerges from the northeast corner of Lake Ontario. Some belong to the United States, others to Canada; the Canadian islands are in the province of Ontario (nearest town , while the the U.S. islands are in the state of New York. The islands range in size from 40 square miles to tiny uninhabited rock outcroppings (the criteria for "island" was that it must be above water level for 365 days per year, have a surface area larger than one square foot, and support at least one tree or shrub).

The area was a favorite summer vacation area for wealthy Americans and Canadians in the late 18th and early 19th century. Activities of the area include boating, fishing, birdwatching, camping, and diving. Points of interest include Boldt Castle on Heart Island, Singer Castle on Dark Island, popular fishing spot Eel Bay, and Deer Island, a retreat of Harvard's Skull and Bones Society.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thousand Islands Collection contains miscellaneous items (photographs, souvenir booklets, sketches, correspondence, and so on) related to the Thousand Islands area on the U.S.-Canada border between New York and Ontario.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Places

Thousand Islands (N.Y. and Ont.)

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Cards.
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thousand Islands Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, various dates.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 January 2008
Revision history: 2 Jun 2008 - updated (MRC); 12 Feb 2009 - adds, no longer an SC (MRC); 12 Jul 2010 - M10-050 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous

Return to top