Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Texas Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Texas Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1893
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Three articles on Texas history; one focuses on general history, one on challenges facing local Native American tribes, and the third on Texas at the World's Fair. Articles are unsigned, but may have been written by Dudly Goodall Wooten.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dudley Goodall Wooten (1860-1929) was a United States representative from Texas, and the author of several books on Texas history.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Texas Collection consist of typescripts of three articles on Texas history.

"Texas: The Lone Star State" considers first the derivations of the name "Texas" from a common root shared by the names of several Native American tribes. The complex naming of missions and pueblos is covered next, involving the combining of Spanish and Indian nomenclature. A general history of the area follows, from Spanish ownership through war to protection of the United States. Finally, the author touches on the geography of the area.

"The Indian Territory" speak to the problems of the several tribes in the southwestern U.S., predicting that lands and population would both diminish.

"Texas at the World's Fair" is first a blunt indictment of the Texas legislature and business community for their combined failure to assure a Texas entry in the 1893 World's Fair, and second a paean of praise to the men and women who succeeded, in the space of a few days, in organizing, collecting funds for, and achieving that entry. References are made to the contributions of Collis P. Huntington of the Southern Pacific Railroad ($5000), George J. Gould of the Missouri Pacific Railroad ($5000), and the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railway ($2000). The author especially praises these financiers because the Texas legislature had historically been hostile to the proposed plans of these transportation barons.

A description of the building follows, although the architect's name is not given. Elizabeth Ney, born in Munich, Germany and an immigrant to Texas, was chosen to sculpt the statues of Stephen F. Austin and Sam Houston. Later, marble copies were to be placed in Washington, D.C. Mrs. Benedette B. Tobin is given full credit, and a short family history, for the Texas entry.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wooten, Dudley G.

Corporate Bodies

World's Columbian Exposition (1893 : Chicago, Ill.)

Subjects

Indians of North America -- Southwest, New.
Indians, Treatment of -- Southwest, New.

Places

Southwest, New -- History.
Texas -- History.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Historians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Texas Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 26 Aug 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 15 Texas: The Lone Star State
SC 15 The Indian Territory
SC 15 Texas at the World's Fair

Return to top