Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Wayne C. Taylor Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Taylor, Wayne Chatfield, 1893-1967.
Title: Wayne C. Taylor Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1927-1960
Bulk 1940-1955
Quantity: 8.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American economist, banker; advisor on trade issues to Franklin D. Roosevelt. Correspondence, memoranda, speeches, and government publications relating to Taylor's work as an investment banker and economic advisor. Includes material relating to commerce, foreign investment, and the National Planning Association.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Wayne Chatfield Taylor (1893-1967) was an American economic advisor and banker. He was born in Chicago, Illinois on December 19, 1893. He received a B.A. degree from Yale University in 1916. He began his banking career with the Central Trust Company of Illinois. In 1923 he became vice-president of Marshall Field, Glore, Ward and Company, investment bankers. From 1935 to 1936 he was the vice-president and trustee of the Export-Import Bank of Washington, DC, and he became president in 1945. He was also a member of the Board of Directors of Encyclopaedia Britannica Films and a delegate for the American Red Cross.

Taylor held many advisory and administrative positions in the presidential administrations of both Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman. In 1933 he began as an assistant to the administrator of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration. From 1936 to 1939 he was the assistant Secretary of the Treasury. From 1940 to 1945 he was Under Secretary of Commerce. From 1948-1950 he was an assistant to Paul G. Hoffman, the European Cooperation Administrator. He was also a trustee on the Committee for Economic Development, the chairman of the executive committee of the National Planning Association, and a consultant to the War Assets Administration. He represented the United States at many international trade conferences and acted as an economic adviser to the European Recovery Program after World War II.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wayne C Taylor Papers contains materials relating to Taylor's work as an investment banker and economic advisor. Items in the Correspondence and subject files include correspondence, manuscripts, speeches, memoranda, booklets, reports, and newspaper clippings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged alphabetically by the name of the correspondent, organization, or subject. Speeches are arranged alphabetically by the name of the organization or conference at which they were given.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Messersmith, George S. (George Strausser), 1883-1960.
Taylor, Wayne Chatfield, 1893-1967.
Benton, William, 1900-1973.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.

Corporate Bodies

American Red Cross.
Montgomery Ward.
National Planning Association.

Subjects

Marshall Plan.
Bankers -- United States.
Economists -- United States.
Investments, American.

Places

United States -- Commerce.
United States -- Economic policy -- 1933-1945.
United States -- Economic policy -- 1945-1960.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1945-1953.
United States -- Politics and government -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memoranda.
Speeches.

Occupations

Bankers.
Economists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Taylor Wayne C Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 15 Sep 2009 - converted to EAD (LMD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence and subject files
Box 1 A - general 1947-1953
Box 1 A - miscellaneous 1940-1953
Box 1 ATA final 1942
Box 1 American Consulate General (Latin America) 1956-1957
Box 1 American overseas aid 1948
American Red Cross
Box 1 1948-1957 (2 folders)
Box 1 Business 1939-1940
Box 1 Correspondence 1940
Box 1 Files 1939-1940
Box 1 General 1941-1945
Box 1 Mission 1940
Box 2 B - general 1951-1953
Box 2 B - miscellaneous 1940-1955
Box 2 Barber, Maurice 1943-1949
Box 2 Barrett, Wendell 1940-1945
Benton, William
Box 2 1944-1954 (2 folders)
Box 2 Commission on Government 1944
Box 2 Confidential 1947-1948
Box 2 Bretton Woods statements 1945
See also United Nations: Monetary Conference - Bretton Woods, N.H.
Box 2 British - correspondence 1952
Box 2 Burgess, E. W. 1947-1952
Box 2 Business notes undated
Box 2 C - general 1950-1955
Box 2 C - miscellaneous 1943-1948
Box 2 Carbons, Daily 1933-1934
Box 3 Charlottesville, Va. 1949
Box 3 Chicago investors 1929-1932
Box 3 Chicago - letters received from 1927-1929
Box 3 Conference of American Republics - foreign ministers, Mexico City, February 21, 1945
Box 3 Congressional Record Digest 1944
Box 3 D - miscellaneous 1944-1955
Box 3 de Basily, Nicholas 1942-1948
See also Taylor, Wayne C.: de Basily, correspondence with
Box 3 Democratic National Committee 1942-1954
Box 3 E - miscellaneous 1945-1946
Box 3 E-I and SAFT official correspondence A-Z 1934-1935
Box 3 Emory University 1949
Box 3 Encyclopedia Britannica Films 1954-1955
Box 3 European Recovery Program 1948
See also Marshall Plan
Box 3 F - general 1952-1954
Box 3 F - miscellaneous 1943-1954
Box 3 Fairs, trade (Hartigan, etc.) 1935-1951
Box 4 Federal City Council 1952-1959
Box 4 Last years in FOA (Foreign Operations Administration) 1950-1954
Box 4 Foreign Service Educational Foundation 1943-1947
Box 4 Foreign Trade Administration proposed by George Peek 1953
Box 4 French matters 1941-1945
Box 4 G - general 1951-1953
Box 4 Gassette, Grace 1941-1947
Box 4 Germany - cotton 1935-1936
Box 4 H - miscellaneous 1941-1953
Box 4 Hartigan, John D. 1951-1955 (2 folders)
Box 4 Hellier, Walter 1941-1942
Box 4 Hewes, Thomas 1942-1954
Box 4 I-J - general 1951-1953
Box 5 I-J - miscellaneous 1940-1946
Box 5 Inter-American Conference 1945
Box 5 International Hudson Corporation 1949-1950
Box 5 International Trade Comm. of Advertising Club, NYC 1949
Box 5 Italian financial matters 1944-1945
Box 5 Jewelers Acceptance Corporation 1956-1958
Box 5 K - miscellaneous 1941-1953
Box 5 Kenney - memorandums for 1952-1953
Box 5 Knowles, Mr. and Mrs. Carroll W. 1943-1949
Box 5 L - miscellaneous 1945-1955
Box 5 LaVarre, William - miscellaneous letters 1944
Box 5 M - miscellaneous 1940-1955
Box 5 Mc and Mac - miscellaneous 1940-1948
Marshall Plan
See also European Recovery Program
Box 5 1947-1948
Box 6 CED (Committee on European Development) 1947
Box 6 NPA (National Planning Association) 1947
See also NPA (National Planning Association)
Box 6 Pre 1947-1948
Box 6 Meeker, Lawrence A. 1943
Box 6 Messersmith, George S. 1941-1948
Box 6 Mexican-American Commission for Economic Cooperation report 1943
Box 7 Mexican matters 1943-1945
Box 7 Mexico Light 1956-1959
Box 7 Minott, James 1951-1953
Miscellaneous
Box 7 1931-1936
Box 7 Correspondence 1940-1953
Box 7 Items 1939-1950
Box 7 Letters 1932
Box 7 Letters - ECA (European Corporation Administration) 1945-1948
Box 7 Letters 1939
Box 7 Manuscripts in package undated
Box 7 Organizations 1956-1958
Box 7 Papers 1952-1953
Box 8 Reports, pamphlets, etc. 1936-1939
Montgomery Ward & Company
Box 8 Anonymous letters 1944
Box 8 Chicago, Illinois 1944
Box 8 Correspondence 1944
Box 8 Court matters 1944
Box 8 Fan mail 1944
Box 8 Management 1944
Box 8 Official 1944
Box 8 Newspaper and clippings 1944
Box 8 Signed letters from public 1944
Box 9 N - miscellaneous 1941-1951
NPA (National Planning Association)
See also Marshall Plan: NPA (National Planning Organization)
Box 9 1955-1958
Box 9 Brazil 1957
Box 9 Case studies 1957-1959
Box 9 Liberia 1956-1957
Box 9 Charles Symington project 1951-1953
Box 9 0 - miscellaneous 1941-1955
Box 9 OEEC meetings and conference in London 1952-1953
Box 9 P & Q - miscellaneous 1940-1955
Box 9 Mr. Peek memoranda 1934-1936
Box 9 Peoples Trust & Savings Bank 1932
Box 9 Personnel Reserve Corps 1951
Box 9 Pierson, John 1953-1955
Box 9 "The Position of British Overseas Investments, 1919-1943" by Donald F. Heatherington-BFDC
Box 9 R - general 1952-1955
Box 9 R - miscellaneous 1940-1953
Box 9 Releases, departmental - Committee for Economic Development 1943
Box 9 RIO Conference 1941-1942
Box 10 Roosevelt, Franklin D. Foundation 1948-1953
Box 10 Roosevelt for President Campaign 1932-1933
Box 10 Roper, Elmo 1953
Box 10 S - general 1951-1953
Box 10 S - miscellaneous 1943-1951
Box 10 Service Bureau for Women's Organizations 1951-1952
Box 10 Small business 1944
Box 10 L. Smit correspondence 1950-1953
Box 10 Society of the Cincinnati 1941-1949
Box 10 South American problems correspondence 1940
Speeches
Box 10 American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business, Lexington, Va., address April 24, 1942
Box 10 American Business Congress, New York City, address November 19, 1942
Box 10 American Congress, New York City, remarks March 17, 1944
Box 10 American Forum of the Air, Washington, D.C. May 10, 1942
Box 10 American Forum of the Air March 28, 1943
Box 10 American Institute of Banking, New York City February 2, 1946
Box 10 American Lesion Post, address November 7, 1941
Box 10 American 'Marine Conference, New York City, address October 20, 1944
Box 10 D.C. Bankers Association, speech January 21, 1946
Box 10 14th Annual Boston Conference on Distribution Boston, Mass., address October 5, 1942
Box 10 Breakfast Club of Los Angeles, Los Angeles, Calif., radio address April 15, 1942
Box 10 Building & Loan League speech material, Miami, Florida, cancelled December 5, 1941
Box 10 Business Forum Broadcast, Radio Station WMCA, New York City, on small business October 25, 1944
Box 10 Business Forum Broadcast, New York City November 13, 1945
Box 10 Canadian Chamber of Commerce, Ottawa, Can., address September 17, 1941
Box 10 Chemical Association Panel, New York City November 24, 1953
Box 10 Chicago Association of Commerce, Chicago, Ill., address February 6, 1941
Box 10 Chicago World Trade Conference, Chicago, Ill., address February 14, 1944
Box 10 Christ Church Forum, New York City, address September 15, 1943
Box 10 Conference of Retail Merchants for the Northwest, Minneapolis, Minn., address August 26, 1942
Box 10 Cotton Textile Institute, New York City, remarks October 20, 1943
Box 10 Council on Foreign Relations, New York City, speech January 22, 1946
Box 10 Credit Men's Association of Eastern Pa., speech November 1, 1945
Box 11 Demobilization of Wartime Economic Controls
Box 11 First National Negro Business Conference, speech April 18, 1941
Box 11 Merrill Foundation, private investment
Box 11 Mexico Pilgrims, New York City, address September 16, 1943
Box 11 Mississippi Valley Association, St. Louis, Missouri, address October 18, 1943
Box 11 National Council of American Importers, New York City, speech April 24, 1941
Box 11 National Foreign Trade Convention, Boston, Mass., address October 7, 1942
Box 11 National Foreign Trade Convention, New York City, speech November 13, 1945
Box 11 National Foreign Trade Council, New York City, address October 8, 1941
Box 11 National Industrial Advertisers Assn., Chicago, Ill., address March 13, 1942
Box 11 New Orleans Association of Commerce luncheon meeting, New Orleans, La., address November 30, 1944
Box 11 New York Board of Trade, New York City, address October 21, 1942
Box 11 New York State Maritime Academy, Fort Schuyler, N. Y., address April 26, 1944
Box 11 Norfolk Association of Commerce, Norfolk, Va., address December 8, 1942
Box 11 Pan American Day, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, Calif. April 14, 1942
Box 11 Philadelphia Plan for Wartime Business Clinics, Philadelphia, Pa., address September 15, 1942
Box 11 Society for Advancement of Management, Washington, D.C., forum meeting November 15, 1944
Box 11 Society for Advancement of Management, New York City, address November 18, 1944
Box 11 Society for Advancement of Management Conference, Washington, D.C., remarks May 26, 1943
Box 11 Southern Political Science Association, Lexington, Va., speech October 21, 1948
Box 11 Speeches - Miscellaneous
Box 11 Tampa Chamber of Commerce, Tampa, Florida, address March 31, 1942
Box 11 Town Hall Foreign Trade Week Observance, Los Angeles, Calif., address May 17, 1943
Box 11 Town Hall, Inc., discussion program New York City, address November 23, 1943
Box 11 Trade Association speech, Washington, D.C., April 28, 1941
Box 11 U.S. Junior Chamber of Commerce, Dallas, Texas, address June 18, 1942
Box 11 Virginia Manufacturers Association, Roanoke, Va., address October 17-18, 1941
Box 11 Virginia State Chamber of Commerce, Richmond, Va., address
Box 11 War Restrictions in Commerce, Federal-State Conference on, Washington, D.C., address May 7, 1942
Box 11 Washington Board of Trade Meeting, Washington, D.C., remarks January 16, 1945
Box 11 Washington, D.C., radio broadcast, (Jobs after the War)
Box 11 Women's National Democratic Club, talk December 9, 1940
Box 11 World Trade Luncheon of National Foreign Trade Week, New York City, address May 16, 1942
Box 11 Station WOR, radio speech October 26, 1940
Box 11 Station WOR, radio speech October 30, 1940
Box 11 World Statesmen: "Post-War Planning on the Home Front," Radio Station WWDC program, Washington, D.C. September 28, 1943
Box 11 Weather Bureau, Washington, D.C.
Box 11 State Department (Dumbarton Oaks Conference) 1944-1945
Box 11 Storms, Alice 1941-1945
Box 11 T - miscellaneous 1941-1952
Taylor, Wayne C.
Box 11 Charity contributions 1936-1938
Box 12 Congratulations - acknowledgments 1940
Box 12 Congratulatory correspondence 1945
Box 12 Congratulations - nomination 1940
Box 12 de Basily, correspondence with 1927-1928
See also de Basily, Nicholas
Box 12 Letters, business 1927-1929
Box 12 Letters from friends and acquaintances 1944
Marshall Field
Box 12 Chicago, letters to 1927-1929
Box 12 New York, letters to 1927-1929
Box 12 Memorandums - Taylor's 1933
Box 12 Notebook of W. Taylor 1932
Box 13 Notes on miscellaneous items 1934
Personal
Box 13 Mr. Taylor 1927-1929, 1934-1937 (2 folders)
Box 13 Data 1933-1935
Box 13 File 1929
Box 13 Miscellaneous 1933-1959 (2 folders)
Box 13 "Thank you" 1946
Box 13 Random notes 1931-1933
Box 14 Report - Taylor's to Mr. Hoffman August 1949
Box 14 Resignation from Treasury - Mr. Taylor's 1939
Box 14 Semi-personal - Wayne C. Taylor 1948-1951
Box 14 State Dept. Press Release 1942
Box 14 "Taylor" - miscellaneous 1941
Box 14 Taylor, Wayne Chatfield 1949-1952
Box 14 Treasury - proposed bank for reconstruction development 1944
Box 14 Trips taken - Wayne C. Taylor 1929
Box 14 U-V - miscellaneous 1940-1948
Box 15 Under Secretary of Commerce 1941-1945
United Nations
Box 15 1952-1945
Box 15 Monetary Conference - Bretton Woods, N.H., July 1, 1944, 1943-1945
See also Bretton Woods statements
Box 15 Stabilization - preliminary draft 1942
Box 15 W - miscellaneous 1940-1954
Box 15 W - Y miscellaneous 1933-1938
Box 15 Waddington, John 1942-1953
Box 15 War Assets Administration 1946-1947
Box 15 The White House 1941-1945
Box 15 Wiley, ambassador 1945-1953
Box 16 Wilson, Carroll S. 1953-1954
Box 16 Winston, Farwell 1941-1952
Box 16 World Trade Center, San Francisco 1952-1953
Box 16 Wright, William V. D. (National City Bank, N. Y.) 1940-1942
Box 16 Yale institute of International Studies 1939
Box 16 Yale University - miscellaneous 1941-1953

Return to top