Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music
Title: Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records
Inclusive Dates: 1950-2004
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Records from the Syracuse (New York) music society. Clippings, constitution and bylaws, correspondence, financial records, fundraising material, grant applications, minutes, printed material, programs. Includes material related to the organization's 40th anniversary celebration.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, founded by Syracuse professor of music and violinist Louis Krasner, has been in operation since 1950. The SFCM brings acclaimed chamber musicians to the H.W. Smith Concert Hall in Jamesville for a series of six concerts each year from October through April. Past performers include the Ying Quartet, Gryphon Trio, Tokyo String Quartet, and Concertante.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records comprises the files of the Syracuse (New York) music society. It includes clippings, constitution and bylaws, correspondence, financial records, fundraising information, grant applications, minutes, printed material, programs, and audio recordings as well as material related to the organization's 40th anniversary celebration.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has the records of the Syracuse Society for New Music as well as the records of Clark Music Company, a local manufacturer of pianos and organs, and Professor Louis Krasner's Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music

Subjects

Chamber music
Concert programs
Music -- Performance -- New York (State) -- Syracuse
Music -- Societies, etc.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Minutes.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Musicians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dorothea P. Nelson and Fritz Rohrlich, Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music board members

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 11 Oct 2006
Revision history: 24 Oct 2006 - revised funder/founder information (MRR); 13 Oct 2016 - audiorecording inventory added (PJM)

Return to top

Inventory

Audio Recordings
Oversize  1 Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute: Michala/Hanne Petri 04/28/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_001 )
Oversize  1 Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Pieces 1 and 2] 02/11/1986 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_002 )
Oversize  1 Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 3] 04/14/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_003 )
Oversize  1 Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 4] 04/14/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_004 )
Oversize  1 Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 5 and 6] 04/14/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_005 )
Oversize  1 Emerson String Quartet - Piece #3 11/02/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_006 )
Oversize  1 Emerson Quartet Piece #3 11/02/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_007 )
Oversize  1 Cascade Soloists Piece #10 11/16/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_008 )
Oversize  1 Cascade Soloists Piece #4 11/16/1985 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_009 )
Oversize  1 Juilliard String Quartet - “old” Piece #1 and #2 04/26/1986 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_010 )
Oversize  1 Juilliard String Quartet - Piece #2 - Beethoven 04/26/1986 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_011 )
Oversize  1 Michala Petri Duo - Pieces #1-3 03/07/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_012 )
Oversize  2 The Petri Duo - Pieces #1-4 03/07/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_013 )
Oversize  2 Los Angeles Piano Quartet 03/21/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_014 )
Oversize  2 Los Angeles Piano Quartet - Piece #3 Brahms 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_015 )
Oversize  2 Tokyo String Quartet - Part 2 - Pieces #3 and 4 04/11/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_016 )
Oversize  2 Tokyo String Quartet - Part 1 - Pieces #1 and 2 04/11/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_017 )
Oversize  2 Concerto Soloists: Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia - Pieces #4 and 5 10/17/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_018 )
Oversize  2 Concerto Soloists: Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia - Pieces #1-3 10/17/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_019 )
Oversize  2 Boston Chamber Music Society - Piece #2 11/14/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_020 )
Oversize  2 Boston Chamber Music Society - Piece #2 11/14/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_021 )
Oversize  2 Mendelssohn String Quartet - Piece #2 12/05/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_022 )
Oversize  2 Mendelssohn String Quartet - Piece #1 12/05/1987 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_023 )
Oversize  2 Vermeer Quartet - Pieces #1-2 02/06/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_024 )
Oversize  3 Vermeer Quartet - Piece #3 02/06/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_025 )
Oversize  3 The Painter’s Music, The Musician’s Art, An die Musik [Part 1 and 2] 03/19/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_026 )
Oversize  3 The Painter’s Music, The Musician’s Art, An die Musik [Part 3 and 4] 03/19/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_027 )
Oversize  3 Tokyo String Quartet [Pieces #1 and 2] 04/16/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_028 )
Oversize  3 Tokyo String Quartet [Piece #3] 04/16/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_029 )
Oversize  3 Takacs String Quartet - Pieces #1-2 [Haydn and Bartok] 03/12/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_030 )
Oversize  3 Takacs String Quartet - Pieces #2-3 [Bartok and Brahms] 03/12/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_031 )
Oversize  3 Members of the Juilliard String Quartet with Gilbert Kalish [Piece #1-5] 10/15/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_032 )
Oversize  3 Members of the Juilliard String Quartet with Gilbert Kalish [Piece #2] 10/15/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_033 )
Oversize  3 Los Angeles Piano Quartet [Piece #6] 10/21/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_034 )
Oversize  3 Music Antiqua Koln - Pieces #8-10 [Purcell, Biber, Pachelbel] 10/29/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_035 )
Oversize  3 Music Antiqua Koln - Pieces #11-14 [Telemann, Bach, Biber] 10/29/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_036 )
Oversize  4 Musicians from Marlboro - Pieces #4-5 [Beethoven and Shostakovich] 11/12/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_037 )
Oversize  4 Musicians from Marlboro - Piece #3 [Dvorak] 11/12/1988 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_038 )
Oversize  4 Buswell-Parnas-Luvisi Trio [Haydn, Zaninelli and Brahms] 01/21/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_039 )
Oversize  4 Emerson String Quartet - Pieces #1-2 [Schubert and Shostakovich] 09/23/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_040 )
Oversize  4 Emerson String Quartet - Pieces #4-5 [Beethoven and Haydn encore] 09/23/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_041 )
Oversize  4 Los Angeles Piano Quartet - Piece #7 [Dvorak] 10/21/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_042 )
Oversize  4 Buswell-Parnas-Luvisi Trio 01/21/1989 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_043 )
Oversize  4 [untitled Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Tape #1] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_044 )
Oversize  4 [untitled Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Tape #2] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_045 )
Oversize  4 Tokyo String Quartet 10/27/1984 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_046 )
Oversize  4 [Tokyo String Quartet] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_047 )
Oversize  4 [Tokyo String Quartet] 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_048 )
Oversize  4 Emerson Quartet - Musica Viva 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: sfcm_049 )

Return to top