Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Don Swann Etching

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Don Swann Etching
Inclusive Dates: circa 1930
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Etching by American printmaker, Don Swann
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Don Swann, Sr. (1889-1954) was an American printmaker. He was born in Fernandina, Florida and raised in Baltimore, where he attended the Maryland Institute College of Art. He is known for detailed prints of colonial and Neo-classical American architecture.

Don Swann, Jr. (1911-1998) studied printmaking with his father, attended the Maryland Institute, Johns Hopkins Univesity, and was a graduate of Princeton University. After his father died, he continued publishing and signing his father's name to ensure etchings were printed from his father's original plates. He later taught etching and continued the Etchcrafters Art Guild started by his father.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Don Swann Etching is a single print. It is unclear if the etching is by Don Swann, Sr. or Don Swann, Jr.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Swann, Don, 1889-1954.
Swann, Don, 1911-.

Subjects

Churches -- Virginia.
Etchers -- United States.
Printmakers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Etchings (prints)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Don Swann Etching
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KD
Date: 16 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Etching
SC 840 Old St. Paul's, Norfolk circa 1930

Return to top