Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Walter Sutton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sutton, Walter.
Title: Walter Sutton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1958-1992
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, scholar, educator.Professor of English, Syracuse University, 1948-1985; born 1916. Collection includes correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1958-1992); book manuscripts. Notable correspondents include C.L. Barber, Stuart Gerry Brown, Lawrence Dembo, Byron Farwell, Robert Hudspeth, James Laughlin, Denise Levertov, Robert Emmet Long, Joyce Carol Oates, Tanure Ojaide, Roy Harvey Pearce, Robert Phillips, John Taggart, Brom Weber, Bette S. Weidman, Robert Weimann, and William Carlos Williams.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Walter Sutton (1916-2006) was an American literary critic, editor, and teacher. He attended Heidelberg College, where he earned his B.A. (1937), and then received an M.A. (1928) and PhD (1946) from Ohio State University. He served in the U.S. Coast Guard from 1942 to 1945. He spent a year teaching at the University of Rochester then in 1946 accepted a teaching position in the English department at Syracuse University. He was made a full professor there in 1959, a position he held for nearly fifteen years, and was named distinguished professor of humanities in 1971. He also served as director of graduate studies (1968-1971) and as head of the English department (1971-1974).

In addition to his teaching career at Syracuse University, Sutton was a Visiting professor at University of Minnesota, University of Washington-Seattle, Princeton University, Colgate University, and University of Hawaii, and lectured at universities and meetings in England, Germany, the Netherlands, and Romania.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter Sutton Papers offer a detailed look at the work of an expert in the field of American literature of the Romantic period, modern critical theory, and in the works of Ezra Pound and William Carlos Williams in particular. The collection is divided into three series.

Correspondence-subject files reflect the wide scope of Sutton's scholarly and professional interests and his contacts with students and colleagues. Writings comprises manuscripts as well as correspondence relating to SUtton's publications in American literature and criticism. Memorabilia contains a dissertation by one of Sutton's advisees and several computer disks.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Writings and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type; writings are further arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

An 1850 edition of Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter has been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barber, C. L. (Cesar Lombardi)
Brown, Stuart Gerry, 1912-1991.
Dembo, L. S.
Farwell, Byron.
Hudspeth, Robert N.
Laughlin, James, 1914-1997.
Levertov, Denise, 1923-1997.
Long, Robert Emmet.
Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
Ojaide, Tanure, 1948-
Pearce, Roy Harvey.
Phillips, Robert S.
Sutton, Walter.
Taggart, John, 1942-
Weber, Brom, 1917-1998.
Weidman, Bette S.
Weimann, Robert.
Williams, William Carlos, 1883-1963.

Subjects

American literature -- History and criticism.
American literature -- Study and teaching.
Authors, American.
Criticism -- Study and teaching.
Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walter Sutton Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Walter Sutton, 1992.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Jun 2004
Revision history: 10 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD); 19 Dec 2016 - typo in abstrct (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Students 1958-1992 (4 folders)
Box 1 A
Box 1 Agenda
Box 1 American Literature
Arms, Richard G.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 1 B
Box 1 Barber, C. L.
Basilius, Harold A.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Blackmur, Richard E.
See Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 1 Brown, Stuart Gerry
Box 1 C
Carper, Thomas R.
See Writings: Books: Plato to Alexander Pope
Box 1 Chang, Pei Wen 1985-1987 (2 folders)
Conyers, Claude
See Writings: Books: Modern American Criticism
Cookson, William
See Agenda
Box 1 D
Box 1 Daedalus
Box 1 Dembo, Lawrence S.
Box 1 E
Box 1 Engels, John
Box 1 F
Box 1 Farwell, Byron
Ford Humanities Project
See Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Box 1 Foster, Richard 1959-1962 (2 folders)
Box 1 Furbush, Elisabeth
Box 1 G
Box 1 Gannon College
Goheen, Robert F.
See Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Box 1 H
Hamilton, Donald R.
See Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Historical and Philosophical Society of Ohio
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 1 Hudspeth, Robert N.
Box 1 I
Box 1 J
Box 1 K
Kefauver, Weldon A.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 1 L
Langsam, Walter E.
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 1 Laughlin, James
See also Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays and Writings: Books: Plato to Alexander Pope
Box 1 Laxson, Martha
Box 1 Levertov, Denise
Levine, Edna S.
See Writings: Books: Modern American Criticism
Box 1 Literature and Psychology
Box 1 Long, Robert Emmett
Box 1 M
Mack, Maynard
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 1 Martin, Wallace
Box 1 The Minnesota Review
Montella, Irene
Box 1 1975-1982
Box 1 Material relating to her dissertation on Maud Bodkin's journal (3 folders)
Box 1 Mussulman, Joseph
Box 1 N
New Directions Publishing Corporation
See Writings: Books: American Free Verse
Box 1 O
Box 1 Oates, Joyce Carol
O'Connell, Paul E.
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays and Writings: Books: Modern American Criticism
Odyssey Press, Inc.
See Writings: Books: Plato to Alexander Pope
Ohio Historical Society
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Ohio State University Press
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 1 Ojaide, Tanure
Box 1 P
Box 1 Pearce, Roy Harvey
See also Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays and Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 1 Phillips, Robert
Box 1 Pound, Dorothy
Prentice-Hall, Inc.
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 1 Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Box 2 Q
Box 2 R
Rendall, Kenneth M. Jr.
See Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Rinehart, Edith C.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Rodabaugh, James H.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Box 2 S
Box 2 Schlatter, Richard
See also Writings: Books: Modern American Criticism
Box 2 Shulman, Robert
Spectrum Books
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Strauss, Ernest E.
See Writings: Books: Plato to Alexander Pope
Box 2 Syracuse University
Box 2 T
Box 2 Taggart, John
Thorp, Willard
See Princeton University Council of the Humanities
Tucker, Louis L.
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Turner, Arlin
See American Literature
Box 2 U
Box 2 University of Washington
Box 2 V
Box 2 W
Walters, Everett
See Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Watts, Harold H.
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 2 Weber, Brom
Box 2 Weidman, Bette S.
Box 2 Williams, William Carlos
Wittke, Carl
See Writings: Books: Ezra Pound, A Collection of Critical Essays and Writings: Books: The Western Book Trade
Writings
Books
American Free Verse: The Modern Revolution in Poetry
Box 2 Contract
Box 2 Correspondence 1971-1984
Box 2 Permissions, A-Z
Box 2 Reviews
Box 2 Royalty statements 1973-1990
American Literature: Tradition and Innovation
Box 2 Contract
Box 2 Correspondence 1965-1982
Box 2 Promotional material
Box 2 Royalty statements 1969-1981
American Poetry (1966)
Box 2 Contract
Box 2 Correspondence 1962-1965
Ezra Pound: A Collection of Critical Essays
Box 2 Adoptions
Box 2 Contract
Box 2 Correspondence
Box 2 Reviews
Box 2 Royalty statements
Modern American Criticism
Box 2 Manuscript - two drafts (2 folders)
Box 3 Manuscript - rejected pages from first draft, carbon copy (2 folders)
Modern Criticism: Theory and Practice (1963)
Box 3 Contract
Box 3 Correspondence 1959-1984
Box 3 Permissions, A-Z
Box 3 Reviews
Box 3 Royalty statements
Plato to Alexander Pope: Backgrounds of Modern Criticism (1955)
Box 3 Contract
Box 3 Correspondence 1965-1966
Box 3 Royalty statements
Pound, Thayer, Watson and The Dial: A Story in Letters (1994)
Box 3 Awards
Box 3 Manuscript
Box 3 Galley proofs (4 folders)
Research files
Box 3 "A.C. Barnes - S.T. 2 letters May 23, 25, 1923"
Box 3 "D/S.T. New"
Box 3 "J.S.W. to & from M. Moore 1921-1957"
Box 3 "E.P. to Dial Worcester letters 1915-1920" (4 folders)
Box 4 "E.P. to Dial Worcester letters 1915-1920" (2 folders)
Box 4 "E.P. to W.L. 1) July ? 1920 2) 7/14/20 3) c. 1920"
Box 4 "Letters S. Watson to S. Thayer 7/27/20 - 11/11/27"
Box 4 "Letters to S. Watson 10/3/22-12/2/40 plus checklist of K.B. typescripts"
Box 4 "S.T. to S. W. 3/18/20-8/11/25"
Box 4 "S.W. to & from staff 1922-1928"
Box 4 "W. Lewis to E.P. 6/30/46-9/24/46"
Stratford-Upon-Avon Studies (series title)
See American Poetry
Twentieth Century Views (series title)
See Ezra Pound, a collection of critical essays
The Western Book Trade
Box 4 Correspondence 1952-1979
Box 4 Manuscript (draft) (5 folders)
Box 4 Promotional material
Box 4 Reviews
Memorabilia
Printed material
Hawthorne, Nathaniel The Scarlet Letter (Boston: Ticknor, Reed, and Fields) 1850
Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging.
Writings by others
Box 4 Chang, Pei-Wen The Confucian Odes Made New: Ezra Pound's Translation of the Shi Jing
Miscellany
Box 4 Computer disks (27 5ΒΌ" diskettes)

Return to top