Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Sullivan, A. M. (Aloysius Michael), 1896-1980.
Title:	A. M. Sullivan Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1925-1980
Quantity:	10.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Irish-American poet, editor of Dun's Review, and lecturer. Collection includes correspondence, business and literary essays, radio scripts, plays, poems, journals, and speeches. Correspondents include Padraic Colum, Robert Hillyer, Seumas O'Brien, Shaemas O'Sheel, and other literary figures.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

A. M. Sullivan (1896-1980) was an American poet, radio broadcaster, editor and businessman. An advertising executive for Dun and Bradstreet, Inc., and later the editor of Dun's Review, Sullivan simultaneously maintained close ties with the literary world through a career as a radio broadcaster for the WOR-Mutual network's "New Poetry Program," the publication of 13 books of poetry, and membership in the Poetry Society of America, which included five terms as its President. The collection illuminates Sullivan's reconciliation of the two seemingly different aspects of his life, in which he urged upon fellow businessmen the need for ethics, humanitarianism and creativity in their lives, while bringing managerial skills and organizational talents to his literary endeavors.

List of "New Poetry Program" broadcasts
	1933 Jan 29	Monroe, Harriet
	1933 Mar. 5	Dole, Nathan Haskell
	1933 Mar. 12	Markham, Edwin
	1933 Apr. 16	Mullins, Helene; Roberts, Walter Adolphe
	1933 Apr. 30	Griffith, William; Widdemer, Margaret
	1933 May 28	Russell, Sydney King; Vinal, Harold; Wagner, Charles A.
	1933 June 11	Morton, David
	1933 June 18	Curran, Eileen; Herron, Walter
	1933 June 25	Curran, Eileen; Erskine, Gladys Shaw; Lawrence, Gordon
	1933 July 16	Benet, William Rose
	1933 July 23	Erskine, Gladys Shaw; Vargas, Ramon de
	1933 July 30	Torrence, Ridgely
	1933 Aug. 6	Everett, Herbert C.; Holberg, Ruth Langland
	1933 Aug. 13	Hasselriis, Caspar Henrik Wolffsen; Litsey, Sarah
	1933 Aug. 20	"Irish Program"
	1933 Sept. 10	Vilas, Faith
	1933 Sept. 27	"Irish Program" (rebroadcast)
	1933 Oct. 1	Kenyon, Theda
	1933 Oct. 8	Lieberman, Elias
	1933 Oct. 15	Deutsch, Babette
	1933 Oct. 22	Cowell, Henry (not broadcast); Curran, Eileen?
	1933 Nov. 12	Benet, Rosemary; Benet, Stephen Vincent; Farrar, John
	1933 Nov. 19	Cowell, Henry; Curran, Eileen
	1933 Dec. 17	Coffin, Robert Peter Tristram
	1933 Dec. 24	Christmas program; Erskine, Gladys Shaw ; Griffith, William ; Hast, Gwendolyn; Henderson, Daniel Maclntyre ; Lieberman, Elias; O'Sheel, Shaemas ; Van Doren, Mark ; Vinal, Harold; Wagner, Charles A.
	1933 Dec. 31	Markham, Anna Catherine
	1934 Jan. 7	Colum, Padraic
	1934 Jan. 14	"Kahlil Gibran Memorial"; Young, Barbara (reader)
	1934 Jan. 21	Benet, Laura
	1934 Jan. 28	Coffin, Robert Peter Tristram
	1934 Feb. 2	"Continuity for St. Brigid"; Colum, Padraic ; Curran, Eileen ; Herron, Walter
	1934 Feb. 4	Laing, Alexander
	1934 Feb. 11	Auslander, Joseph
	1934 Feb. 18	Smith, Chard Powers; Vinal, Harold
	1934 Feb. 25	Kenyon, Bernice
	1934 Mar. 4	Wurdemann, Audrey
	1934 Mar. 11	Deutsch, Babette
	1934 Mar. 17	St. Patrick program; Colum, Padraic ; Curran, Eileen ; Nunan, Sean
	1934 Mar. 18	Flaccus, Kimball; Raftery, Gerald
	1934 Mar. 25	Helton, Roy Addison
	1934 Apr. 1	Campbell, Joseph
	1934 Apr. 8	McCord, David
	1934 Apr. 15	Hay, Sara Henderson
	1934 Apr. 22	Davison, Edward; Tribute to Edwin Markham
	1934 Apr. 27	Markham, Edwin (rebroadcast)
	1934 Apr. 27	Ephros, Gershon
	1934 Apr. 29	Kantor, MacKinlay
	1934 May 6	Henderson, Daniel Maclntyre
	1934 May 13	O'Brien, Seumas
	1934 May 20	"Edwin Arlington Robinson Program"; Kenyon, Theda (reader)
	1934 May 31	"Memorial [Day] Program"; Curran, Eileen ; Erskine, Gladys Shaw; Firth, Ivan; Robinson, W. C.
	1934 June 3	Myers, Betty (and intercollegiate group); Bagg, Aaron Moore; Deschere, Carol ; Fletcher, Lucille ; Flowers, Nancy ; Horton, Philip
	1934 June 10	Cane, Melville
	1934 June 17	Conrad, Lawrence Henry (reading poetry of Robert Frost); Review of Leonard Bacon's Dream and Action
	1934 June 24	Rorty, James
	1934 July 1	Gengo, Kimi
	1934 July 15	"69th Regiment Program"
	1934 Dec. 17	Bostelmann, Carl John
	1935 Dec. 25	Christmas program; Petersen, Edward (zither)
	1936 May 24	Hay, Sara Henderson; Holden, Raymond
	1936 May 31	"Memorial [Day] Program"; Firth, Ivan; Kilmer, Kenton; Roberts, Walter Adolphe (?) ; Wagner, Charles A.
	1936 July 26	Masters, Edgar Lee
	1936 Sept. 13	Coffin, Robert Peter Tristram
	1936 Sept. 27	Masters, Edgar Lee
	1936 Nov. 1	Landreth, Helen
	1936 Nov. 17	"Memorial Program for Harriet Monroe"; Dillon, George; Leach, Henry Goddard ; Speyer, Leonora; Taggard, Genevieve ; Widdemer, Margaret
	1937 Jan. 16	Robinson, Henry Morton
	1937 Jan. 30	Roosevelt, Theodore
	1937 Feb. 16	Jones, Thomas S. (dedication); Foley, John L. (reader)
	1937 June 13	"Modern Irish Poets"; Curran, Eileen (reader)
	1937 June 20	Corwin, Norman
	1938 Feb. 13	"Poetry: a Magazine of Verse" (tribute); Corwin, Norman (reader); Masters, Edgar Lee (guest)
	1938 Feb. 20	Teasdale, Sara (dedication); Girard, Ruth (reader); Wheelock, John Hall (appreciation)
	1938 Feb. 27	Taylor, Henry W.
	1938 July 3	Johnson, James Weldon (memorial); Cullen, Countee; Fauset, Jessie Redmon; McKay, Claude; Waters, Ethel
	1938 Apr. 15	La Farge, Christopher
	1940 May 12	"A Day in Manhattan" - by A. M. Sullivan (Columbia Workshop)
	1948 July 2	Cane, Melville
	1948 July 9	Firth, Ivan
	1948 July 23	Munson, Gorham
	1948 Aug. 20	Johnson, Norman ("Negro Poetry")
	1948 Aug. 27	Firth, Ivan
	1948 Sept. 10	Keith, Joseph Joel
	1948 Sept. 17	Kreymborg, Alfred
	1948 Oct. 1	Grimes, Willard M.
	1948 Oct. 8	Vinal, Harold
	1948 Oct. 22	Lee, Lawrence
	1948 Dec. 3	Kramer, Aaron
	1954 Mar. 14	St. Patrick program

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. M. Sullivan Papers comprise Correspondence-Subject files, Writings and Memorabilia. Spanning the years from 1925 to 1980, the papers reflect Sullivan's dual career as businessman and poet.

Correspondence-subject files contain biographical material; incoming and outgoing business and personal letters interspersed with biographical data, radio interviews, and other miscellaneous material relating to various correspondents; and topical subject information. The bulk of the literary correspondence concerns the Poetry Society of America and Sullivan's radio broadcasts. His radio program was variously entitled "The New Poetry Program," "New Poetry Period," and "Poetry Appreciation Series." These titles appear to have been used interchangeably during Sullivan's tenure as poetry broadcast conductor with the WOR-Mutual Network, however the program's dialog format was retained regardless of the title. The programs were generally divided into two parts: a broadcast essay by Sullivan regarding a particular aspect of poetry, followed by a dialog with one or more contemporary poets. These program scripts have been filed by program title or poet's name in the Correspondence-Subject files. In addition, the correspondence includes a significant number of letters in which Sullivan either requests or receives background information which he incorporated into his historical ballads. Of particular interest is a substantial amount of material about Edgar Lee Masters and Edwin Markham, including autographed poems, photographs, printed ephemera, and memorabilia. Most of the business correspondence concerns speaking arrangements before various organizations represented by Dun and Bradstreet, and there are a number of letters to and from business and political contacts to whom Sullivan presented his poetry volumes. Reflecting his ethnic origins, Sullivan maintained a life-long fascination with Ireland, its history, landscape, and most particularly, its writers. Sullivan was an active member of the American Irish Historical Society and the Brendan Society. There is extensive correspondence with both Irish and Irish-American writers including Padraic Colum, Oliver St. John Gogarty, Mary Margaret McBride, Phyllis McGinley, Seumas O'Brien and Shaemas O'Sheel.

Writings includes research material and typescripts for Sullivan's books; typescript business and literary essays; as well as poetry, reviews, scripts and speeches. There are extensive files of research material for Sullivan's historical ballads about John Castner and Timothy Morgan, in addition to drafts and revisions of those works. The bulk of the Writings document the production of his poetic work, The Bottom of the Sea, a labor of more than two decades which was published and distributed by Dun and Bradstreet in celebration of its 125th anniversary. Also included in the collection are scripts for Sullivan's plays, two of which "A Day in Manhattan" and "Wings for an Eagle," were broadcast on radio in the Columbia Workshop series of productions. Among the printed material in the collection are business articles which appeared in Dun's Review, and copies of Sullivan's Ballad of Dick Dowling (1954) and This Day and Age (1943).

Memorabilia includes photographs, reviews of Sullivan's work, and publicity items for his books.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically. The writings are divided by type (books, essays, poetry, etc) and arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. M. Sullivan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Aloysius M. Sullivan, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1996-02-07
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 29 Sep 2009 - EAD updated (LMD); 15 Sep 2015 - moved broadcast list (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence - subject files
Box 1		Biographical material (3 folders)
Box 1		Bibliography of poetry
Box 1		Lists of business and literary articles
Box 1		A (1 folder)
Box 1		"A. E. Memorial Program" undated - radio broadcast
Box 1		Adams, Marguerite Janvrin undated
Box 1		Adams, Sherman 1958
Box 1		Ahearn, Jeremiah 1948, 1958
Box 1		Alexander, Charles T. 1925
Box 1		Allen, Gay Wilson 1955
		Allen, Sara Van Alstyne
			See Columbia University
Box 1		America 1955, 1959
Box 1		American Arbitration Association 1955-1956
Box 1		American Forestry Association 1956
		American Friends of Danish Freedom and Democracy
			See Hasselriis, Caspar Henrik Wolffsen
Box 1		American Heritage 1955-1959
Box 1		American Management Association 1958
		Anderson, Alexander E.
			See "69th Regiment Program" (radio broadcast)
Box 1		Andrews, John Williams undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 1		Anthony, Richmond George 1938-1940
		Apken, Lillian
			See Columbia University
Box 1		Armstrong, Edward Robert 1930
Box 1		Armstrong, Spencer 1955-1959
Box 1		Ash, Sarah Leeds 1959
Box 1		Atkinson, O'Brien 1940, 1956
Box 1		Atlantic Monthly 1945, 1958
Box 1		Attridge, Richard 1958-1959
		Auslander, Joseph
			See Wurdemann, Audrey
Box 1		Avery, Delos 1947
Box 1		Ayscough, Florence undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 1		B (1 folder)
Box 1		Bacon, Leonard 1934, 1941, 1951
Box 1		Balint, Nicholas G. 1955
Box 1		Barney, William D. 1953-1956
Box 1		Barr, Isabel Harriss 1955
Box 1		Barry, Patrick 1958 - correspondence about
Box 1		Barzun, Henri Martin 1940, 1945
Box 1		Belitt, Ben undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 1		Beliveau, Emile 1940
Box 1		Benet, Laura 1934, 1948-1958, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 21, 1934
Box 1		Benet, Stephen Vincent 1933, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Nov. 12, 1933
Box 1		Benet, William Rose 1933, 1940-1948, 1958, 1962, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on July 16, 1933
			See also The Saturday Review
Box 1		Bennett, Anna Elizabeth 1955
Box 1		Bennett, Murray 1954-1956
Box 1		Benton, Patricia 1955, 1958
Box 1		Berger, Meyer 1956
Box 1		Berrigan, Daniel 1956-1959, undated
Box 1		Bertenshaw, Bill 1956
Box 1		Bettmann, Otto L. 1949
Box 1		Bianchi, Martha Dickinson 1940
Box 1		Black, John 1957
Box 1		Blasco, A. J. 1956
Box 2		Bodenheim, Maxwell 1951
Box 2		Bogan, Louise 1941
Box 2		Boggs, Tom undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Dec. 11, ?
		Bohm, Elizabeth
			See Columbia University
Box 2		Bonner, Amy 1941, 1950-1954, 1958
		Borestone Mountain Poetry Awards
			See Moore, Robert Thomas
Box 2		Bostelmann, Carl John 1945, 1967, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 2		Boyd, Madeleine Elise Reynier 1940
Box 2		Bradshaw, Laura D. 1925
Box 2		Braithwaite, William Stanley 1958-1959
Box 2		Branch, Anna Hempstead undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 2		Brasier, Virginia 1956, undated
Box 2		Breit, Harvey 1956
Box 2		Brendan Society 1933-1938, 1944, undated
Box 2		Brick, John 1953
Box 2		Brinton, Crane 1956
Box 2		Broderick, David C. 1956-1957
Box 2		Broun, Heywood 1930
Box 2		Brunini, John Gilland 1955-1959, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
		Buchtenkirk, Elizabeth J.
			See Columbia University
Box 2		Bullock, Marie 1955
Box 2		Bunker, John Joseph Leo 1941, 1949
Box 2		Burke, Claire B. 1959
Box 2		Burnett, Hallie 1958
Box 2		Bynner, Witter 1952-1955, 1959
Box 2		Byrd, Richard E. 1930
Box 2		C (1 folder)
Box 2		Cadman, S. Parkes 1930
Box 2		Caldwell, Cyril Cassidy 1930
Box 2		Campbell, Joseph 1933, 1934, 1944, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Apr. 1, 1934 and undated broadcast
Box 2		Campbell, Vance 1941
Box 2		Canby, Courtlandt 1956
Box 2		Cane, Melville 1934, 1948, 1951, 1956, 1959 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on June 10, 1934 and July 2, 1948
Box 2		Carasso, Katharine undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Aug. 9, ?
Box 2		Carleton, Sara King 1954, 1956, 1959, undated
Box 2		Carlin, Francis undated
Box 2		Carlton, Doyle E. 1930
Box 2		Carmer, Carl 1948
Box 2		Carpenter, Margaret 1954-1955, 1958-1959, 1967
Box 2		Carroll, Ellen M. 1925
Box 2		Carter, George Calvin 1956-1957
Box 2		Catholic Digest 1955-1959
Box 2		Catholic Poetry Society of American 1954-1959, 1965
Box 2		Catholic Press Association of the U.S. 1950
Box 2		The Catholic World 1953-1960
Box 2		Caulfield, Henry S. 1930
Box 2		Chamberlin, Clarence Duncan 1930
Box 2		Chapin, Katherine Garrison 1940, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 2		Chapman, George 1941, 1944-1945
Box 2		Chauvel, Jean 1950-1951
Box 2		Christianson, Theodore 1930
Box 2		Christman, Lansing 1956
Box 2		Christmas programs (radio broadcasts) 1933, 1935, undated
Box 2		Chubb, Thomas Caldecott 1957
Box 2		Ciardi, John 1954-1956
Box 2		Claytor, Gertrude 1952, 1956-1959, undated
Box 2		Clivette-Aikens, Juanyta 1948, 1950, undated
Box 2		Cobb, Irwin S. 1928
Box 2		Coblentz, Stanton A. 1940, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 2		Coburn, Charles 1945
Box 2		Coffin, Robert Peter Tristram 1933, 1934, 1936, 1949 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on Dec. 17, 1933, Jan 28, 1934, and Sept. 13, 1936
Box 2		Cohen, Morris undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 3		The College English Association Institute 1954-1956
Box 3		“College Poetry” undated - radio broadcast
Box 3		Collyer, John Lyon 1943
Box 3		Colum, Padraic 1928, 1934, 1936-1966, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 7, 1934
Box 3		Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. 1940, 1941, 1944, 1962
Box 3		Columbia University undated
Box 3		Commerce and Industry Conference (Philadelphia) 1956
		The Companions of Brendan
			See Brendan Society
Box 3		Conley, William Gustavus 1930
Box 3		Connery, William Patrick 1936
Box 3		Conrad, Lawrence Henry 1934, 1954, 1957-1959 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on June 17, 1934
Box 3		"Continuity for St. Brigid" 1934 - radio broadcast Feb. 2, 1934
Box 3		Cooper, Myers Young 1930
Box 3		Corning, Howard McKinley 1925
Box 3		Corwin, Norman 1937, 1940-1941, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on June 20, 1937 and undated broadcast
			See also Poetry: a Magazine of Verse
Box 3		Cousins, Norman 1950, 1955-1957
		Cowell, Henry
			See Curran, Eileen
Box 3		Credit Conference (31st) 1957-1958
Box 3		Crowley, P. E. 1929
Box 3		Cullen, Countee 1936, 1938, 1956 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on July 3, 1938
Box 3		Cummins, Virginia Kent 1950
Box 3		Cunningham, John T. 1955
Box 3		Curran, Eileen 1933, 1937, 1949-1959 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on June 18, 1933, June 25, 1933, Oct. 22, 1933, Nov. 19, 1933, and June 13, 1937.
Box 3		Curran, Henry H. 1930
Box 3		Cushing, Richard J. 1955-1956
Box 3		D (1 folder)
Box 3		Daly, James undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 3		Daly, John Jay 1958
Box 3		Dash, James Allan 1955
Box 3		D'Auria, Gemma Abkazoff 1950
Box 3		Davidson, Gustav 1954-1959, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 3		Davin, Tom 1925
Box 3		Davis, Alice Elizabeth 1956
Box 3		Davis, Julia Johnson 1956, 1959
Box 3		Davison, Edward 1934, 1954-1955 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Apr. 22, 1934
Box 3		Davison, Frederick Trubee 1930
Box 3		Day, Frank Parker 1925
Box 3		Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce 1959
Box 3		Decker, Clarence Raymond 1955-1956
Box 3		Decker Press 1950, undated
Box 3		Denman, Frank 1954
Box 3		Dern, George Henry 1930
Box 3		Deutsch, Babette 1933, 1934, 1940, 1948, 1955 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on Oct. 15, 1933 and Mar. 22, 1934
Box 3		Devlin, Denis 1940
Box 3		DeWitt, Samuel Aaron 1956
Box 3		Di Castagnola, Alice Fay 1933, 1945, 1949-1952
Box 3		Dickinson, Thomas Herbert 1945
Box 3		Dillon, George 1936, 1951, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 3		Dimmette, Celia Puhr 1953, 1955
Box 3		Dole, Nathan Haskell 1933, undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Mar. 5, 1933 and undated broadcast
Box 3		Donaghy, William Andrew 1956
Box 3		Dooher, M. Joseph 1956
Box 3		Dooley, Edwin 1955
Box 3		Doolittle, James Harold 1930
Box 3		Dowling, Eddie 1954-1955
Box 3		Downes, Olin 1941
Box 3		Drew, Elizabeth undated
Box 3		Duggan, Eileen 1951, 1955, undated
Box 3		Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. 1936-1965
Box 3		Dupuy, Maurine C. 1955-1958
Box 3		Durkin, Joseph T. 1953
Box 3		E. P. Dutton 1946, 1955, undated
Box 3		Dyer, Frederick Charles 1959
Box 4		E (1 folder)
Box 4		Eagan, Edward Patrick Francis 1957
Box 4		Earhart, Amelia 1929
Box 4		Earle, Walter K. 1964
Box 4		Easter programs 1939?, undated - radio broadcasts
Box 4		Eells, Richard Sedric Fox 1956
Box 4		Elgin, Lilian Lucene 1925
		Elizabethan poets - radio broadcast
			See Firth, Ivan
Box 4		Empire State Chamber of Commerce 1956
Box 4		Engle, Paul 1951
Box 4		Ephros, Gershon 1934, undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Apr. 27, 1934 and undated broadcast
Box 4		Erskine, Gladys Shaw 1933 - includes interview from radio broadcasts on June 25, 1933 and July 23, 1933
Box 4		Erskine, John 1940
		Everett, Herbert C.
			See Holberg, Ruth Langland
Box 4		F (1 folder)
Box 4		Farnum, Louise Kobbe undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 4		Farren, Robert 1953-1956, undated
Box 4		Fauset, Jessie Redmon 1938 - includes introduction and interview from radio broadcast on July 3, 1938
Box 4		Fechet, James Edmond 1929
Box 4		Feeney, Leonard undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 4		Ferril, Thomas Hornsby 1950, 1951
Box 4		Ficke, Arthur Davison 1942, undated
Box 4		Field, Sara Bard undated
Box 4		Fine Editions Press 1943
Box 4		Finerty, John F. 1953
Box 4		Firth, Ivan 1948, undated - includes interview from radio broadcasts on July 9, 1948, Aug. 27, 1948, and undated broadcast
Box 4		Fishback, Margaret 1938
Box 4		Fisher, Dorothy Canfield 1948
Box 4		Fisher, Mahlon Leonard undated
Box 4		Fitts, Dudley 1939
Box 4		Fitzell, Lincoln 1942
Box 4		Fitzmaurice, James C. 1930
Box 4		Flaccus, Kimball 1934, 1938, 1940, 1955, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Mar. 18, 1934 and undated broadcast
Box 4		Flaherty, Robert 1951
Box 4		Flaig, Phyllis M. 1956
Box 4		Foley, John L. 1937?, 1944 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Feb. 6, 1937?
Box 4		Fontanne, Lynn 1937
Box 4		Frost, Elizabeth Hollister 1950
Box 4		Frost, Robert 1941, 1943
Box 4		G (1 folder)
Box 4		The Gaelic Society 1954-1955
		Gaffney, Cloradh
			See Campbell, Joseph
Box 4		Garrity, Devin A. 1945, 1948, 1954, 1955
Box 4		Gengo, Kimi 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on July 1, 1934
Box 4		Georgetown University 1956
		"Kahlil Gibran Memorial" - radio broadcast
			See Young, Barbara
Box 4		Gillies, Archibald 1954
Box 4		Ginder, Richard 1954, 1956
Box 4		Ginsberg, Louis 1934-1935, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 4		Gogarty, Oliver St. John 1942-1957, undated
		Goldberg, Maxwell H.
			See The College English Association Institute
Box 4		Golding, Louis 1942
Box 4		Goodman, Mae Winkler 1946
Box 4		Grace, Eugene Gifford 1944
Box 4		Grady, Richard F. 1951
Box 4		Gregory, Horace undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 4		Griffin, John 1935
		Griffith, William
			See Widdemer, Margaret
Box 4		Grimes, Willard M. 1940, 1948 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Oct. 1, 1948
Box 4		Griswold, Denny 1954, 1956, undated
Box 4		Guinness, Bryan Walter 1953
Box 4		Gustayson, Ralph 1949
Box 4		H (1 folder)
Box 4		Hagedorn, Hermann undated
Box 4		Hall, Amanda Benjamin 1950
Box 4		Hamblen, Emily S. 1948-1949, 1951
Box 4		Hamill, Katharine Forrest 1927
		Hampton, Vernon Boyce
			See Markham, Edwin
Box 4		Hanes, Leigh 1955
		The Harp
			See Newman, I. H.
		Harris, Jessie Fauset
			See Fauset, Jessie Redmon
Box 4		Harrison, Henry 1925
Box 4		Hasselriis, Caspar Henrik Wolffsen 1933, 1941, 1956 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Aug. 13, 1933
Box 4		Hastings, Fanny de Groot 1950
Box 4		Haulot, Arthur 1954
Box 4		Hawks, Frank W. 1930
Box 4		Hawley, Cameron 1958
Box 4		Hay, Sara Henderson 1934, 1936, 1939, 1942-1955 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on Apr. 15, 1934 and May 24, 1936
		Hayden, (Mrs.) Charles
			See McGinley, Phyllis
Box 4		Healy, James A. 1952-1955
Box 4		Healy, Thomas 1943
Box 4		Helton, Roy Addison 1934, 1941 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on May 6, 1934
Box 4		Henderson, Daniel Maclntyre 1934, 1945
Box 4		Henrich, Edith 1942
Box 4		Herndon, Brodie S. 1952, 1955
		Herron, Eileen Curran
			See Curran, Eileen
		Herron, Walter
			See Curran, Eileen
Box 4		Herzberg, Max J. 1955
Box 4		Hess, Mary Whitcomb 1953-1954
Box 4		Heyden, Francis Joseph 1957
Box 4		Hickey, Agnes MacCarthy 1954, undated
Box 4		Higgins, Frederick Robert undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 4		Highet, Gilbert 1957
Box 5		Hill, Frank Ernest 1935, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		Hillyer, Robert S. 1947-1957, undated
Box 5		Himmell, Sophie 1952
Box 5		Hinkson, Pamela 1944
Box 5		Hinton, Walter 1929
Box 5		Hoagland, Clayton 1955, undated
Box 5		Hoeny, A. Winfield undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		Hoffman, Harold Giles 1944
Box 5		Hogan, Patrick G. 1954-1955, 1961
Box 5		Holberg, Ruth Langland 1933, 1944 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Aug. 6, 1933
Box 5		Holden, Raymond 1936 - includes interview from radio broadcast on May 24, 1936
		Holden, Sally
			See Hay, Sara Henderson
Box 5		Holland, Maurice 1955-1956
Box 5		Holmes, John 1951-1953, 1956
Box 5		Hospitalized Veterans Writing Project 1954-1955
Box 5		Howard, Frances Minturn 1946, 1950-1951, 1957, undated
Box 5		Huberman, Edward 1952
		Hughes, Dorothy Berry
			See Columbia University
Box 5		Hume, Paul 1954
Box 5		Humphries, Rolfe undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		Hunton, George K. 1950, 1955
Box 5		Hutchens, John K. 1947
Box 5		I (1 folder)
Box 5		The Institute of Management Sciences (TIMS) 1961
Box 5		Irish Arts and Literary Society 1955
Box 5		Irish Cultural Circle, Inc. 1954-1959
Box 5		Irish Digest 1955
Box 5		"Irish Program(s)" 1933, undated - radio broadcast on Aug. 20, 1933 and undated broadcast
Box 5		J (1 folder)
Box 5		Jackson, Barbara Ward 1956
Box 5		Jennings, Leslie Nelson 1954, undated
Box 5		Johns, Orrick undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		Johnson, James Weldon 1938 - includes memorial radio broadcast for him on July 3, 1938
Box 5		Johnson, Norman 1948 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Aug. 20, 1948
Box 5		Jones, Robert Edmond 1945?
		Jones, Thomas S. - dedication, radio broadcast
			See Foley, John L.
Box 5		K (1 folder)
Box 5		Kahmann, Chesley 1952-1953
Box 5		Kahn, Hannah 1950-1952, 1956, undated
Box 5		Kane, Whitford 1949, 1955
Box 5		Kantor, MacKinlay 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Apr. 29, 1934
Box 5		Keith, Joseph Joel 1953-1955
Box 5		Keller, Martha 1948, 1951, 1955, undated
Box 5		Kendall, Jeanine 1954
		Kendall, Virginia
			See The Catholic World
Box 5		Kenedy (P. J.) & Sons 1954-1958, undated
Box 5		Kennedy, Eamon 1947
Box 5		Kenny, Herbert A. 1956-1957
Box 5		Kenseth, Arnold 1953
Box 5		Kenyon, Bernice 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Feb. 25, 1934
Box 5		Kenyon, Theda 1933, 1934, undated - includes interview from radio broadcasts on Oct. 1, 1933, May 20, 1934, and undated broadcast
Box 5		Keyhoe, Donald E. 1930
Box 5		Kieran, John 1943
Box 5		Kilmer, Kenton undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		King, Cameron 1954, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 5		Kinkead, Eugene 1954, 1957
Box 5		Kleiner, Rheinhart 1924, 1925
Box 5		Kramer, Aaron 1948, 1950, 1957-1958 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Dec. 3, 1948
Box 5		Kreymborg, Alfred 1942, 1948-1950
Box 5		Kruger, Fania 1954-1955
Box 5		Kuhn, Irene Corbally 1957
Box 5		L (1 folder)
Box 5		La Farge, Christopher 1939, 1940, 1947, 1950 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Apr. 15, 1939
Box 5		Laidlaw, Louise Burton undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Apr. 25, ?
Box 5		Laing, Alexander 1934 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Feb. 4, 1934
Box 6		Landreth, Helen 1936 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Nov. 1, 1936
Box 6		Laramore, Vivian Yeiser 1925
Box 6		Lawrence, Gordon 1925, 1933 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on June 25, 1933
Box 6		Leach, Henry Goddard 1954-1958
Box 6		Leach, Leacy Naylor Green 1925
Box 6		League of American Writers Program undated - radio broadcast
Box 6		Leamy, Edmund undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 6		Leamy, Margaret undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 6		Lebhar, Godfrey Montague 1955
Box 6		Lee, Alfred McClung 1955
Box 6		Lee, Lawrence 1948 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Oct. 22, 1948
Box 6		Lee, Muna 1953
Box 6		Lehigh University 1961, undated
Box 6		Leitch, Mary Sinton 1953
Box 6		Lieberman, Elias 1933, 1948, 1951 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Oct. 8, 1933
Box 6		Lissner., Will 1956, 1966
		Litsey, Sarah
			See Hasselriis, Caspar Henrik Wolffsen
Box 6		Livermore, Shaw 1957
Box 6		Logan, Douglas 1953-1954
		Lopatnikov, Nikolai (Mrs.)
			See Hay, Sara Henderson
Box 6		Loving, Pierre undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 6		Luce, Clare Booth 1956
Box 6		Luckner, Felix 1929
Box 6		Lundbergh, Holger undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 6		Lynch, Frank Curtis 1964, 1965
Box 6		Ma-Me (1 folder)
Box 6		Mf-Mz (1 folder)
Box 6		Maas, Willard undated
Box 6		McBride, Mary Margaret 1941-1942, 1950-1951
Box 6		McBrown, Gertrude Parthenia 1957
Box 6		McConnell, Albert Joseph 1955
Box 6		McCord, David 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Apr. 8, 1934
Box 6		McCormick, Richard Patrick 1952
Box 6		McDaniel, Weston Owen 1952
Box 6		McDonnell, Thomas P. 1957
Box 6		McGinley, Phyllis 1952-1955, 1966
Box 6		McGinnis, Patrick B. 1958
Box 6		McGuinness, Charles John 1947, undated
Box 6		McGurrin, James 1954, 1955
Box 6		McHenry, Roy C. 1947-1948
Box 6		MacKaye, Percy 1948-1950, 1954-1957
Box 6		MacLeish, Archibald 1940-1941, undated
Box 6		MacManus, Seumas 1955-1956, undated
Box 6		Declan X. McMullen Company 1948, 1955, undated
Box 6		MacNeil, Neil 1948
Box 6		Maher, James 1958
Box 6		Mahoney, Tom 1957
Box 6		Mansfield, Beatrice Cameron 1940
Box 6		Mansfield, Richard 1950-1952
Box 6		Manville, Herbert Emery 1925
Box 6		Markham, Anna Catherine 1933-1934, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Dec. 31, 1933
Box 6		Markham, Edwin 1933, 1934, 1948-1954, 1940, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on Mar. 12, 1933 and Apr. 27, 1934 (2 folders)
Box 6		Markham, Edwin - printed material
Box 6		Markham, Virgil 1934-1935, 1958-1959
Box 6		Marquand, John P. 1941
Box 7		Sister Mary Madeleva 1954-1956
Box 7		Masefield, John 1950, 1951
Box 7		Mason, Madeline 1955
		Masters, Edgar Lee
Box 7			1936, 1940-1945 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on July 26, 1936 and Sept. 27, 1936 (2 folders)
Box 7			Correspondence about 1940-1944, 1949-1950
Box 7			Photographs
Box 7			Clippings
Box 7			Printed material
Box 7			Writings
Box 7		Masters, Ellen (Mrs. Edgar Lee) 1951
Box 7		Masters, Marcia 1952, undated
Box 7		Mattice, Paul B. 1947, 1948
Box 7		Maxwell, Gilbert undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 7		Meacham, Harry M. 1955-1956, 1959
Box 7		Medina, Harold R. 1950
Box 7		"Memorial [Day] Programs" 1934, 1936, undated - radio broadcasts on May 31, 1934, May 31, 1936 and undated broadcast
		"Memorial Program for Harriet Monroe" - radio broadcast
			See Monroe, Harriet
Box 7		Miller, Spencer 1957
Box 7		Monroe, Harriet 1933, 1936 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 29, 1933 and memorial broadcast on Nov. 17, 1936
Box 7		Montgomery, Roselle Mercier 1925
Box 7		Mooney, Ria 1954, 1956
Box 7		Moore, Douglas Stuart undated
Box 7		Moore, Marianne 1941-1944, 1950, 1954-1956
Box 7		Moore, Merrill 1952, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 7		Moore, Robert Thomas 1954-1957
Box 7		Morgan, Angela 1950
		Moriarty, Francis Edwin
			See St. Michael's College
Box 7		Morton, David 1933, 1938, 1949, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on June 11, 1933 and undated broadcast
Box 7		Moskowitz, Henry 1925
Box 7		Movietone News 1951, 1955, 1957
		Moyne, Bryan Walter Guinness
			See Guinness, Bryan Walter
		Mullins, Helene
			See Roberts, Walter Adolphe
Box 7		Munson, Gorham 1948, 1956 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on July 23, 1948
Box 7		Murphy, John Maher 1944, undated
Box 7		Murray, T. C. 1950, 1951
Box 7		Myers, Betty 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on June 3, 1934
Box 7		Myers, Robert Manson 1955
Box 7		N (1 folder)
Box 7		Nardi, Marcia 1950, undated
Box 7		Narveson, Robert 1957
Box 7		Nathan, Robert 1941, undated
Box 7		National Broadcasting Company 1959
		National League of American Penwomen
			See Benton, Patricia
Box 7		National Office Furniture Association, Inc. 1957-1958
Box 7		Native American literature undated - undated radio broadcast
Box 7		Natural History Magazine 1953
		"Negro Poetry" - radio broadcast
			See Johnson, Norman
Box 7		Neihardt, John Gneisenau 1951
Box 7		Neilson, Francis 1955-1958
Box 7		"The New Poetry" 1934, 1957, undated - radio broadcast
Box 7		Newman, I. H. 1925, undated
Box 7		Newman, J. Wilson 1954-1958
Box 7		Nicholl, Louise Townsend 1948-1957
Box 7		Noyes, Alfred 1944
Box 7		O (1 folder)
Box 7		O'Brien, Katharine 1955
Box 7		O'Brien, Michael Joseph 1948
Box 7		O'Brien, Sean 1940-1943, undated
Box 8		O'Brien, Seumas 1934, 1938-1957, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on May 13, 1934 (4 folders)
Box 8		O'Connell, Robert J. 1956
Box 8		O'Conor, Norreys Jephson 1954-1955
		O'Farachian, Roibeard
			See Farren, Robert
Box 8		O'Flaherty, Liam undated
Box 8		O'Ryan, John F. 1930
Box 8		O'Sheel, Shaemas (and Annette) 1938-1957, undated
Box 8		O'Sullivan, Seumas 1953-1955
Box 8		P (1 folder)
Box 8		Patterson, Elizabeth B. 1954-1956
Box 8		Pauker, Edmond 1957
Box 8		Pegler, Westbrook 1940-1941
Box 8		Peloubet, Maurice E. 1951-1957
			See also The Poetry Society of America
Box 8		Personnel Management for Executives Conference 1959, 1960
Box 8		Pick, John 1944
Box 8		Piercy, Josephine Ketcham 1955
Box 8		Pim, Sheila 1953-1956
Box 8		Poetry: a Magazine of Verse 1938 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Feb. 13, 1938
		Poetry Awards
			See Moore, Robert Thomas
Box 8		The Poetry Society of America 1941-1942, 1949-1958, 1965, undated
			See also Peloubet, Maurice
Box 8		Pollock, Channing 1931
Box 8		Pratt, Edwin J. (Ned) 1948-1951, undated
Box 8		Price, William James 1925
Box 8		Pulsifer, Harold Trowbridge 1938
Box 8		Putnam, George Palmer 1930
Box 8		Q (1 folder)
Box 8		Quinn, Arthur Hobson 1942
Box 8		R (1 folder)
Box 8		Raftery, Gerald 1934, undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Mar. 18, 1934 and undated broadcast
Box 8		Raley, Loker 1940
Box 8		Reardon, Mark S. 1955
Box 8		Redmond, Liam undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcasts
Box 8		Reilly, Joseph 1952-1956
Box 8		Richards, Rosa Coates 1954-1955
Box 8		Richardson, Stanley undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 8		Riemer, George R. 1954
Box 8		Ritter, Margaret Tod 1941
Box 8		Robb, Wallace Havelock 1937
Box 8		Roberts, Ruby Altizer 1950, 1956
Box 8		Roberts, Walter Adolphe 1933, 1941, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast Apr. 16, 1933 and undated broadcast
		"Edwin Arlington Robinson Program" - radio broadcast
			See Kenyon, Theda
Box 9		Robinson, Henry Morton 1937?, 1951, 1954 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 16, 1937?
Box 9		Robinson, Lennox undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Rodman, Selden undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Romatka, Anton 1925
Box 9		Ronalds, Francis Spring 1943
Box 9		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1948
Box 9		Roosevelt, Theodore 1937, 1938, 1940 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 30, 1937
Box 9		Rorty, James 1934 - includes interview from radio broadcast on June 24, 1934
Box 9		Ross, Patrick Hore Warriner 1925
Box 9		Rotary Club of New York 1955, 1957
		Rowland, Martha Keller
			See Keller, Martha
Box 9		Rubin, Vera 1954
		Russell, George
			See "A. E. Memorial Program"
Box 9		Russell, Sydney King 1955, 1956, undated
Box 9		Ryan, Alvan Sherman 1954, 1955
Box 9		S (1 folder)
Box 9		"St. Francis Program" undated - radio broadcast
Box 9		St. Michael's College 1954-1955
Box 9		St. Patrick programs 1934, 1954 - radio broadcasts on Mar. 17, 1934 and Mar. 14, 1954
Box 9		Salomon, Isidore Lawrence 1957
Box 9		Sampley, Arthur McCullough 1953, 1955
Box 9		Sangster, Margaret Elizabeth undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Sarett, Lew 1951-1952
Box 9		Sarton, May 1953
Box 9		The Saturday Review 1947-1957
			See also Benet, William Rose
Box 9		Saunders, Louise undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Seaman's Church Institute of New York 1954-1957
Box 9		Sergeant, Howard 1954
Box 9		Seward, William W. 1954, 1963
		Sheerin, John B.
			See The Catholic World
Box 9		Shepperd, Tad undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Dec. 18, ?
Box 9		Simpson, Maxwell Stewart 1947
Box 9		"69th Regiment Program" 1934, 1938, undated - radio broadcast on July 15, 1934
Box 9		Skinner, Cornelia Otis 1957
Box 9		Sloane, Thomas O. 1948, 1955
Box 9		Smith, Chard Powers 1934, undated - includes interview from radio broadcast on Feb. 18, 1934 and undated broadcast
Box 9		Society for the Advancement of Management (Mohawk Valley Chapter) 1959
Box 9		"Soldier Poets" undated - radio broadcast
Box 9		Solum, Sjanna 1950
		Southern Humanities Conference
			See Hogan, Patrick G.
Box 9		Speyer, Leonora 1948-1952, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Spire, Andre 1942
		Spirit
			See Brunini, John Gilland
Box 9		Stearns, Florence Dickinson 1954-1957
Box 9		Stefansson, Vilhjalmur 1945
Box 9		Steinman, D. B. 1955
Box 9		Stevens, Wallace 1950-1951
Box 9		Stickney, Helen Frith 1956
Box 9		Stork, Charles Wharton undated
Box 9		Stringer, Arthur John 1948, 1950
Box 9		Stuart, Jesse undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Sullivan, A. M. undated - poetry reading and radio broadcast
Box 9		Sullivan, Louis - printed material
Box 9		Sullivan Shrine 1943
Box 9		Sweeney, John L. 1957
		Swinburne, Algernon Charles - memorial and radio broadcast
			See Roberts, Walter Adolphe
Box 9		T (1 folder)
Box 9		Taggard, Genevieve undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Tate, Allen 1941
Box 9		Taylor, Henry W. 1938 - includes interview from radio broadcast on Feb. 27, 1938
Box 9		Teasdale, Sara 1938 - includes dedication from radio broadcast on Feb. 20, 1938
Box 9		Thaden, Louise 1930
Box 9		Tichenor, Frank A. 1929
Box 9		Tobin, James Edward 1954
Box 9		Tolbert, Frank X. 1955
Box 9		Torrence, Ridgely 1933, 1938-1948 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on July 39, 1933
Box 9		Towne, Charles Hanson 1945, undated
Box 9		Tusiani, Joseph 1957
Box 9		U (1 folder)
Box 9		Untermeyer, Jean Starr 1940, undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 9		Untermeyer, Louis 1939
Box 9		V (1 folder)
Box 9		Valle, Isabel 1938
Box 9		Van Doren, Carl 1943
Box 9		Van Doren, Mark 1940, 1941, 1948-1958, undated
Box 10		Van Engen, Henry 1955
Box 10		Van Vechten, Carl 1926
Box 10		Verhesen, Fernand undated
Box 10		Viereck, Peter 1949-1952
Box 10		Vilas, Faith 1933, 1948 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Sept. 10, 1933
Box 10		Vinal, Harold 1934, 1933, 1948, 1954-1957 - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on May 28, 1933, Feb 18, 1934, and Oct. 8, 1948
Box 10		The Virginia Quarterly Review 1955
Box 10		Vroman, Myron 1953, 1956, 1957
			See also Writings: Poetry: "Tim Murphy, Morgan Rifleman:" research material
Box 10		W (1 folder)
Box 10		Wagstaff, Blanche Shoemaker undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 10		Walsh, Joseph Cyrillus 1954, undated
Box 10		Walsh, Lorna Gill 1941-1943
Box 10		Wang, Yang 1957
		Ward, Barbara
			See Jackson, Barbara Ward
Box 10		Ward Manor 1948-1949
Box 10		Ward, May Williams 1949, 1951
Box 10		Warren, Elinor Remick 1954
Box 10		Weaver, John V. A. undated - includes tribute from undated radio broadcast
Box 10		Welles, Winifred undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 10		Wells, Henry Willis 1942, 1944
Box 10		Wenham, Edward 1949-1956
Box 10		Wheelock, John Hall 1938, 1950, 1956, 1966, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcasts on Feb. 20, 1938, May 9, ?, and undated broadcast
Box 10		Whitefield, Grace Woodley 1954
Box 10		Whitney, Barbara 1955 - correspondence about
Box 10		Whyte, William Hamilton 1957
Box 10		Widdemer, Margaret 1933, 1941, 1942, 1947-1957, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Apr. 20, 1933 and undated broadcast
		Wilder, Charlotte
			See Daly, James
Box 10		Williams, William Carlos undated - includes interview from undated radio broadcast
Box 10		Willis, William 1965
Box 10		Wood, Clement 1950
Box 10		Woodall, Allen E. undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast and scripts
Box 10		Wrinn, Mary J. J. 1939?, 1955-1957 - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Apr. 22, 1939?
Box 10		Wurdemann, Audrey 1934, undated - includes interview from radio broadcasts on Feb. 11, 1934, Mar. 4, 1934, and Nov. 29, ?
Box 10		Y (1 folder)
Box 10		Yancey, Lewis Alonso 1930, 1932
Box 10		Yeats, William Butler 1933
Box 10		Young, Barbara 1934, undated - includes introduction from radio broadcast on Jan. 14, 1934
Box 10		Young American poets undated - radio broadcasts
Box 10		Yurka, Blanche 1954
Box 10		Zaturenska, Marya undated - includes introduction from undated radio broadcast
Box 10		Zoll, Howard S. 1955, 1956

	Writings
		Books
Box 11			Ballad of a Man Named Smith - draft
			The Ballad of John Castner
Box 11				Research material
Box 11				Draft
			The Bottom of the Sea
Box 11				Research material (5 folders)
Box 11				Correspondence 1945-1967
Box 11				Proposal to publish
Box 11				Arrangement
Box 11				Front matter
Box 11				Publication references and credits
Box 11				Poems (by title) - drafts, revisions (2 folders)
Box 11				Additions, revisions (2 folders)
Box 11				Side panels
Box 12				P. 1-33 (2 folders)
Box 12				"Nicholls key set of text" p. 1-33
Box 12				"Williamson proofs" p. 1-33
Box 12				Drafts p. 1-40 (various paging) (2 folders)
Box 12				Typescript drafts (9 folders)
Box 13				Typescript manuscript (13 folders)
Box 14				Production records (11 folders)
Box 15				Production records (8 folders)
Box 15				Miscellany
Box 15			A Day in Manhattan - typescript manuscript (2 folders)
			"Harvey Merrill"
Box 16				"Unpublished and not to be published" - typescript manuscript
Box 16				Typescript manuscript with illustrations (2 folders)
Box 16			Incident in Silver - typescript manuscript
Box 16			New Jersey Hills - preface, epilogue
Box 16			"Notes on a Sentimental Journey" - unpublished, typescript manuscript (2 folders)
Box 16			Psalms of the Prodigal, and Other Poems - typescript manuscript
Box 16			The Return and Other Irish Poems - typescript manuscript
Box 16			Stars and Atoms Have No Size - typescript manuscript
Box 16			"There is No Prose" - book outline
Box 16			The Three-Dimensional Man - typescript manuscript (2 folders)
Box 16			Tim Murphy, Morgan Rifleman, and Other Ballads - publicity
		Essays
			Business (by title)
Box 17				A-P (12 folders)
Box 18				R-Z and untitled (9 folders)
			Literary (by title)
Box 18				A-Fr (5 folders)
Box 19				Fs-T (14 folders)
Box 20				U-Z and untitled (4 folders)
Box 20			Miscellaneous (by title) (4 folders)
		Poetry
Box 20			"Footnote to Tragedy" - typescript
Box 20			"In the Beginning Was the Word" - typescript
Box 20			"Inauguration Poem" - typescript
			"Tim Murphy, Morgan Rifleman"
Box 20				Research material (6 folders)
					See also Vroman, Myron
Box 20				Holograph drafts
Box 20				Introduction - typescript drafts with holograph corrections
Box 21				Incidents A-0 - drafts (4 folders)
Box 21			"Transcontinental" - typescript manuscript
		Reviews
Box 21			By title (4 folders)
		Scripts
Box 21			"The Ballad of John Castner" - typescript manuscript
Box 21			"The Bird With the Feathery Face" - typescript manuscript
Box 21			"A Day in Manhattan," Columbia Workshop - typescript manuscript
Box 21			"A Matter of Conscience" - typescript manuscript with holograph corrections
Box 21			"Wings for an Eagle," Columbia Workshop - typescript manuscript
		Speeches
Box 21			Literary (by title)
		Stories
Box 21			"Blind Man's Bluff" - typescript manuscript
Box 21			"Every Country House a Zoo" - typescript manuscript with holograph corrections
		Miscellany
Box 21			Discoveries and Inventions, by Percy MacKaye - typescript draft of Foreword by A.M. Sullivan
Box 21			Poems, by Francis Neilson - typescript draft of foreword by A. M. Sullivan
Box 21			Travel reminiscence (untitled), Southern United States tour
Box 21			Gaelic script - unidentified
		Published material
			Articles
				Business (by title)
Box 21					A-H (2 folders)
Box 22					I-Z
Box 22				Literary 1951, 1953, undated
			Books
Box 22				The Ballad of Dick Dowling, American Irish Historical Society c1954
Box 22				Elbows in the Wind - published excerpts
Box 22				Modern American Poetry with selections by A.M. Sullivan New Jersey Hills - photocopy
Box 22				This Day and Age 1943 - "A limited edition, privately printed for distribution, Christmas 1943 by Dun's Review"
Box 22			Poetry 1933, undated
			Reviews
Box 22				Hold Your Hour and Have Another, by Brendan Behan. "The Side Streets of Dublin," Saturday Review Feb. 8, 1964
			Stories
Box 22				"Kerry Don," The Catholic World Mar. 1963

	Memorabilia
Box 22		Photographs 1930s, undated
Box 22		Publicity items for books
Box 22		Reviews about 1947-1966, undated
Box 22		Writings by others
Box 22		Miscellaneous printed material

Return to top