Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Syracuse University Libraries Postcard Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University Libraries.
Title: Syracuse University Libraries Postcard Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1910-1950
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Architecture, museums, people, street scenes, World War I. Mostly Europe.
Language: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Many of the postcards are stamped ART LIBRARY SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY, so the assumption is that they were collected by the Libraries here at SU and at some point transferred to Special Collections Research Center.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Libraries Postcard Collection consists entirely of postcards depicting architecture, cathedrals, fountains, landscapes, sculpture, statuary, street scenes, and so on. The vast majority are from countries in western Europe, but there are a few from Czechoslovakia, Panama, Cuba, and other countries. There collection also contains a substantial number of World War I postcards, whose images include soldiers, battlefields, ruined towns and buildings, hospitals and wounded, and so on. Almost all of the cards are blank. Many are stamped ART LIBRARY SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY on the back. Most are unused/blank, but a few are written on and addressed to Syracuse University Art Library.

The geographical subdivisions of the collection were retained as originally defined, with the exception of the World War I postcards. Those subdivisions were created during the processing of the collection. The original packet labels are filed at the end of the last box.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by topic and within that alphabetical by country, with the exception of World War I postcards which are subdivided again by topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Architecture -- Europe -- Pictorial works.
Cathedrals -- Europe -- Pictorial works.
Fountains -- Europe -- Pictorial works.
Landscapes -- Europe -- Pictorial works.
Postcards -- Europe.
Sculpture, European -- Pictorial works.
Soldiers -- Pictorial works.
World War, 1914-1918 -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Postcards.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Libraries Postcard Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Syracuse University Art Library, date unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Nov 2010
Revision history: 19 Jan 2019 - processed, name corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Postcards
Box 1 Angels
Box 1 Animals, demons and grotesques
Box 1 Arab - mostly people, some landscapes
Architecture
Box 1 Algeria
Box 1 Austria
Box 1 Belgium
Box 1 Costa Rica
Box 1 Cuba
Box 1 Czechoslovakia
Box 1 England
Box 1 France
Box 2 France (cont.)
Box 2 Germany
Box 2 Ireland
Box 2 Italy
Box 2 Japan
See also Oriental, below.
Box 2 Netherlands
Box 2 Portugal
Box 2 Puerto Rico
Box 2 Spain
Box 2 Sweden
Box 2 Switzerland
Archways
Box 2 Algeria
Box 2 Belgium
Box 2 England
Box 2 France
Box 2 Germany
Box 2 Italy
Box 2 Portugal
Box 2 Spain
Bas reliefs
Box 2 Religious
Box 2 Secular - most from Versailles
Box 3 Busts, secular
Cathedrals - most of these are from Musée de Sculpture Comparée (Museum of Comparative Sculpture); also includes churches, monasteries, chapels
Box 3 Abstract designs, columns, portals
Box 3 Column heads and arches
Box 3 Facades and columns
Box 3 Interiors - also includes some museum interiors
Box 3 Sculpted figures
Box 3 Miscellaneous - tombs, choir stalls, porticos, windows, etc.,
Box 3 Dolls
Box 3 Figurines, secular - mostly France
Box 4 Fountains and water features
Box 4 Furniture, clothing, household design - mostly France
Interiors - other than cathedrals
Box 4 Belgium
Box 4 England
Box 4 France
Box 4 Germany
Box 4 Portugal
Box 4 Spain
Landscapes
Box 4 Algeria
Box 4 Austria
Box 4 Belgium
Box 4 Cuba
Box 4 Czechoslovakia
Box 4 England
Box 4 France
Box 5 France (cont.)
Box 5 Germany
Box 5 Gibraltar
Box 5 Italy
Box 5 Portugal
Box 5 Scotland
Box 5 Spain
Box 5 Switzerland
Box 5 Wales
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Box 5 Oriental - people, landscapes, architecture
See also Architecture: Japan.
Box 5 Paintings, tapestries, etc. - includes secular frescoes, paintings from El Escorial in Spain
Box 6 People - some with livestock, including scenes of bullfighting
Religious sculpture
Box 6 Female figures
Box 6 Male figures
Sculpture
Box 6 Bas reliefs, medallions, columns, facades, etc. - from public buildings, estates, chateaux
Box 6 Gallo-Roman
Box 6 Miscellaneous - mostly France
Box 6 Statuary - miscellaneous secular, mostly neo-Classical
Street scenes
Box 6 Algeria
Box 6 Austria
Box 6 Belgium
Box 6 Cuba
Box 6 Czechoslovakia
Box 6 England
Box 6 France, Paris
Box 7 France, miscellaneous
Box 7 Germany
Box 7 Italy
Box 7 Netherlands
Box 7 Portugal
Box 7 Spain
Box 7 Switzerland
Box 7 Tunisia
Box 7 Wales
Box 7 Miscellaneous
Box 7 Tombs, monuments, statues - of famous people, e.g. Napoleon, Joan of Arc, Charles V, Voltaire
Box 7 Vessels, urns, etc. - including church artifacts
Box 7 Virgin and child figures
Water and boats
See also Fountains.
Box 7 Belgium
Box 7 Cuba
Box 7 England
Box 7 France
Box 8 France (cont.)
Box 8 Germany
Box 8 Gibraltar
Box 8 Netherlands
Box 8 Panama
Box 8 Portugal
Box 8 Spain
Box 8 Switzerland
Box 8 Wales
Box 8 Wooden sculpture - most from Musée des Arts Décoratifs
World War I
Box 8 Battlefield scenes - including trenches
Box 8 Damage and ruins - mostly France and Belgium; towns, cathedrals, houses, etc.
Box 9 Damage and ruins (cont.) - mostly France and Belgium; towns, cathedrals, houses, etc.
Box 9 Hospitals and wounded - includes one scene of man training dog to find wounded
Box 9 Monuments, tombs, graves
Box 9 Prisoners and spies - includes executions
Box 9 Ships and boats
Box 9 Soldiers - eating, talking, on the march, on parade, etc.; mostly French but also some British, Belgian, other nationalities
Box 9 Unusual or interesting - priests saying mass, Indian and Egyptian soldiers (the latter on camels), refugees, children, livestock, undamaged towns and homes, etc.
Box 9 Miscellany - birds, trains, the giant beer vat of Heidelberg, etc.
Box 9 Original packet labels

Return to top