Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Gerry Sturm Collection

An inventory of his Collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sturm, Gerry
Title: Gerry Sturm Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1966-1968
Quantity: .5 linear ft. (oversize flat box)
Abstract: American editorial cartoonist, Syracuse, New York. Biographical material, photographs, exhibition catalogs and fliers, clippings, original artwork.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gerry M. Sturm (1914-2007) was an American editorial cartoonist and painter.

Born in Olean, New York, Sturm worked as a commercial artist in Chicago (1937-1938) before moving to Syracuse, New York. He studied figure and portrait painting with Frank Kent at Syracuse University College. He was president of Gerry Sturm Studios Inc., a commercial art studio in Syracuse, and was editorial cartoonist for the Syracuse Herald-Journal for a number of years. During the course of his career, his paintings were exhibited in many local venues.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gerry Sturm Collection consists of artwork, biographical material, printed material and photographs.

Artwork consists of original artwork by Sturm. All but one are final art for editorial cartoons; the other item is a charcoal sketch.

Biographical material contains a typed autobiographical sketch.

Printed material consists of clippings about Sturm and his work, and a few exhibit catalogs and brochures. Some of these include lists of artwork shown.

Photographs include a proof shot of four editorial cartoons and pictures of Sturm with his work.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sturm, Gerry.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Editorial cartoons.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Proofs (printed matter)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gerry Sturm Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Original material, gift of Gerry Sturm, 1968.

Sketch, gift of Laura Oliff-Maxey, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 23 Feb 2009
Revision history: 23 Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MD); 3 Sep 2013 - adds (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork
Oversize 1 Cartoons - original artwork for editorial cartoons
Map-Case 100 Cartoons, oversize - original artwork for editorial cartoons
Oversize 1 Sketch - charcoal on yellow paper
Biographical material
Oversize 1 Autobiographical sketch undated
Photographs
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous - photos of Sturm with paintings, with cartoons; photos of artwork and cartoons
Printed material
Oversize 1 Clippings 1966-1968 - short articles, exhibit announcements, etc.
Oversize 1 Exhibit catalogs and fliers 1966-1968, 1990, undated - some include lists of artwork shown

Return to top