Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Stone Family Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stone family.
Title: Stone Family Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1789-1855
Quantity: 0.3 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Letter to Stone from his godson requesting books, 1789; copy of Asaph Stone's will, 1853; legal correspondence of William, Frederick, and Michael Stone, attorneys; and an 1836 letter from Michael Stone to Mary E. Jenks of Boston. Also receipts and legal papers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Stone family (fl. 1789-1855) lived near Port Tobacco, Maryland during the first half of the 19th century.

Michael Jenifer Stone, a Congressman from Maryland (1789-1791), and his wife Mary Hanson Briscoe, had five children: Frederick D., William B., Michael J., Elizabeth J., and Eleanor Stone. The three brothers, Frederick, William, and Michael, worked as attorneys in Port Tobacco, Maryland.

It is unclear how Asaph is related to the Stone family of Maryland. He was born in 1786 in Watertown, Massachusetts to Moses Stone and Abigail Learned. On May 20, 1810, he married Jane MacFarlane in Boston. Tragically, Asaph, his wife Jane, and his daughter, Mary Foulke Stone, died aboard the S.S. Arctic when it sank off the coast of Newfoundland on September 27, 1854.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stone Family Collection contains biographical material, correspondence, and a legal document from various members of the Stone family. The majority of the collection is Correspondence to and from William, Frederick, and Michael Stone, attorneys in Maryland. Some of the pieces of correspondence also include receipts. In addition, the collection contains a letter to Stone from his godson, Walter M. Conchie, as well as a personal letter to Mary E. Jenks from Michael Stone. The single Legal document in the collection is Asaph Stone's will.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains three series: Biographical material, Correspondence, and Legal documents. The Correspondence is further divided into two subseries: General correspondence and Legal correspondence.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stone family.
Stone, William B.

Subjects

Genealogy.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters (correspondence)
Receipts (financial records)
Wills.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stone Family Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 10 Feb 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
SC 286, Folder 1 Stone, Frederick
Correspondence
General correspondence
SC 286, Folder 2 Conchie, Walter M. (?) 12 Aug 1789
SC 286, Folder 2 Jenks, Mary E. 30 Jun 1836
Legal correspondence
SC 286, Folder 2 1789-1855
Legal documents
SC 286, Folder 3 Asaph Stone's will 14 Oct 1853

Return to top