Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | Stolen Lives Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1997-2006 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Two booklets related to the "Stolen Lives" police brutality project. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Stolen Lives is a project of the October 22 Coalition to Stop Police Brutality, the National Lawyers Guild, and the Anthony Baez Foundation. Many victims of police brutality in America are overwhelmingly Black, Latino, other people of color, and youths. The project collects the names of people killed by U.S. police and border patrol. They publish a work-in-progress list of names and accounts of police murder and brutality.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Stolen Lives Collection contains two booklets printed by the project, a first edition from 1997 and a 2006 edition.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Stolen Lived Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 3 Oct 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| SC 891 | Booklets 1997, 2006 - titled Stolen Lives: killed and brutalized by law enforcement; contains the names of people killed by U.S. police and border patrol with the list of names and accounts of police murder and brutality. | ||||||||||