Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Seneca Ray Stoddard Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stoddard, Seneca Ray, 1844-1917.
Title: Seneca Ray Stoddard Photographs
Inclusive Dates: 1882-1890
Quantity: 7 items (SC)
Abstract: Photographs of New York landscapes by the American photographer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Seneca Ray Stoddard (1844-1917) was an American landscape photographer, naturalist, writer, poet and cartographer. Born in Saratoga County, New York, he taught himself painting (one his first jobs was painting scenes in passenger cars) and photography. He eventually published several guide books to areas in and around the Adirondacks; two important works were The Adirondacks: Illustrated, published in 1873 and revised and reprinted several times up through 1914, and the first tourist map of the Adirondacks, published in 1874. His work publicizing the beauties of upstate New York helped influence the creation of the Adirondack Park in the late 1880s.

In addition to his work in New York, Stoddard travelled widely both in the United States (Alaska, Florida, the southwest) and internationally (Italy, Switzerland, France, and Scandinavia). His experiences in these journeys resulted in several lecture tours and travel books, including The Cruise of the Friesland and The Midnight Sun.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Seneca Ray Stoddard Photographs contains 7 landscape views by the New York State photographer. sepia- toned and in their original mattes, the photographs include views of Adirondack hunters in a canoe, Fort Ticonderoga, Lake George, and Niagara Falls in winter.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs are arranged alphabetically by location.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stoddard, Seneca Ray, 1844-1917.

Subjects

National parks and reserves -- New York (State)
Natural history -- New York (State) -- Adirondack Park.

Places

Adirondack Park (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Naturalists.
Photographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Seneca Ray Stoddard Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1996, with Edward Smith Fund.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Nov 1996
Revision history: Feb 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
Adirondacks
SC 128 49. In the Adirondacks 7x9 in.
Fort Ticonderoga
SC 128 290. Ruins of Fort Ticonderaga 1882 5x8 in.
Lake George
SC 128 288. South from Rogers Rock Cottage 5x8 in.
SC 128 894. In the Narrows 5x8 in.
SC 128 905. The Narrows N. from Shelving R. 5x8 in.
SC 128 [unnumbered and unidentified] 5x8 in.
Niagara Falls
SC 128 [winter scene, unnumbered and unidentified; verso reads "C. H. Nielson, manufac. of all kinds of paper & glass views, Niagara Falls"] 8x10 in.

Return to top