Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert Louis Stevenson Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stevenson, Robert Louis, 1850-1894
Title: Robert Louis Stevenson Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1878-1880
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Three items of correspondence, including a letter to Edmund Gosse, a letter to his mother, and another to his parents; and five autographed manuscript essays and poems.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Scottish author, novelist, poet, short story writer.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stevenson, Robert Louis, 1850-1894, Correspondence
Stevenson, Robert Louis, 1850-1894, Manuscripts

Subjects

English literature, Scottish authors
Scottish literature

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Letters (correspondence)
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Louis Stevenson Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: -
Revision history: 31 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 18 Dec 2006 - updated to include memorabilia (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1878, 12 Nov Letter - "My dear mother"
Provenance: Edith Barbara Tranter (former owner); Sol Feinstone (donor)
Box 1 1880, 15 Dec Letter - "My dear Weg [i.e. Edmund William Gosse]"
Provenance: Edith Barbara Tranter (former owner); Sol Feinstone (donor)
Box 1 1880, 25 Dec Letter -"My dear people [i.e. parents]"
Provenance: Edith Barbara Tranter (former owner); Sol Feinstone (donor)
Writings
Box 1 "Books and reading. / No. 2. How books have to be written"
Autograph manuscript signed. 5 leaves. Portrait. Bound in full green morocco.
Provenance: Albert B. Ashforth, Jr. (former owner); Sol Feinstone (donor)
Box 1 "Did Chuchu sweat?"
Autograph manuscript signed. 2 leaves
Provenance: Sol Feinstone (donor)
Box 1 "My first book / Treasure Island"
Autograph manuscript signed. 8 leaves. Text published in: Syracuse University Library Associates Courier XXI:2:77-88 (Fall 1986)
Provenance: W.T.H. Howe (former owner); Edith Barbara Tranter (former owner); Sol Feinstone (donor)
Box 1 "St. Ives"
Autograph manuscript. 1 leaf. Bound in full black morocco.
Provenance: George Arents (donor)
Box 1 "The tropics vanish, and meseems that I"; "To my old comrades"; "The House of Tembinoka"
Autograph manuscript. [10] pages. Bound in full red morocco with mss. title leaf, portrait of Stevenson, typescript and published texts of the poems with illustrations.
Provenance: Sol Feinstone (donor)
Memorabilia
Box 1 Lock of hair

Return to top