Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

Printed material

Engraving plate

printer friendly version

Bob Stevens Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Stevens, Bob, 1923-1994.
Title: Bob Stevens Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1966-1970.
Quantity: 2.83 linear ft.
Abstract: 135 original editorial cartoons, printed material and an engraving plate (with a copy of the cartoon).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Robert Merrill Stevens (1923-1994), commonly known as Bob Stevens, was an American cartoonist and illustrator.

Bob Stevens, born in Iowa in 1923, became interested in drawing at age seven and graduated from Syracuse University with a B.A. Stevens joined the Air Force, as a pilot, and served for 22 years before retiring in 1964. During his military career, Stevens contributed cartoons to the Army Times and Stars and Stripes.

His comic strip, Clementine, distributed by the Lew Little Syndicate debuted in July 1965. He joined Copley Newspapers (publishers of the San Diego Union Tribune) as an editorial cartoonist and his cartoons appeared in 300 papers. In 1972 he left Copley to pursue freelance work. Stevens, influenced by his Air Force career, was also known for his aviation cartoons which appeared in Private Pilot magazine in the 1970s and 1980s and in Professional Pilot. His published books include: There I Was, Flat On My Back (1968) and More There I Was (1974). He also served as the cartoon editor for Trailer Life Publications.

Stevens was a member of the National Cartoonists Society. He received five Freedoms Foundation awards and was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize.

Bob Stevens died in 1994.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bob Stevens Papers (1966-1970) contain primarily original editorial cartoons.

The Cartoons series (1966-1970) is comprised of 135 original editorial cartoons drawn by Stevens for syndication through Copley Newspapers. The cartoons typically bear two dates: one on the front indicating the day on which the cartoon was to appear and a stamped date on the back listing the day the engraver received the cartoon prior to publication. For the purpose of this finding aid, the date on the front of the cartoon has been used where possible. Note that cartoons dating to 1970 are stamped with an engraving date of "1960".

The cartoons were drawn primarily with ink and crayon on illustration board with dot screening. Many pieces from 1969 and 1970 (see Oversize Box 3) were created on Grafix paper. Captions and dates appear in pencil. Dimensions vary but the majority of the cartoons measure 11" x 14".

Printed material contains one copy of the Copley Press from Winter 1969.

The Engraving plate is of Stevens' cartoon about the death of Walt Disney (1966). It shows Mickey Mouse in a spotlight with a tear running down his cheek. A 8"x10" copy of the cartoon is included.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Stevens, Bob, 1923-1994.

Corporate Bodies

Copley Press, inc.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
College students -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Demonstrations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Peace -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics--1965-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

China -- Politics and government -- 1949-1976 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1945-1991 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1969-1974 --Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.
Printing plates.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bob Stevens Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Bob Stevens, 1967-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 1 Dec 2008
Revision history: 1 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 11 Jan - added detailed bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons 11" x 14"
Click here for a detailed inventory.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1966 Jan - Mar
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1966 Apr - Jun
Oversize 1, Folder 3 1966 Jul - Aug
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1966 Sep - Oct
Oversize 1, Folder 5 1966 Nov - Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 1 1967 Jan - Mar
Oversize 2, Folder 2 1967 Apr - May, 1967 Jul, 1967 Sep, 1967 Nov - Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 3 1968 Jan, 1968 Mar - Apr
Oversize 2, Folder 4 1968 May - Aug
Oversize 2, Folder 5 1968 Sep, 1968 Nov - Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 6 1969 Jan - Apr
Oversize 3, Folder 1 1969 May - Aug
Oversize 3, Folder 2 1970 Jan - Mar
Oversize 3, Folder 3 1970 Apr - May
Oversize 3, Folder 4 1970 Jun - Jul
Oversize 3, Folder 5 1970 Aug - Nov
Printed material
Oversize 3 Copley Press Winter 1969 - contains cartoon by Stevens and short blurb about Stevens
Engraving plate 4 3/4" x 6 1/2" x 1/16"
Oversize 3 Walt Disney's death with copy of the cartoon 1966 Dec

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top