Finding Aids
printer friendly version

F. Robert Stein Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stein, F. Robert.
Title: F. Robert Stein Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1974-1976
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Legal documents relating to license renewal, rerun regulation, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

F. Robert Stein is an American attorney. Early in his career he worked in the Broadcast Section of the CBS Inc. legal department where, among other things, he drafted numerous Federal Communications Commission (FCC) filings on behalf of CBS. CBS "took very seriously its First Amendment rights and its obligations to the public" [Stein, email] and weighed in on a wide range of issues relating to television and radio broadcasting.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The F. Robert Stein Papers consists of photocopies of Federal Communications Commission (FCC) filings relating to a wide range of issues relating to television and radio broadcasting. Each document is, in effect, a position paper reflecting the views of CBS Inc. in a rulemaking proceeding or a license renewal proceeding then before the Commission. A few of these papers concern fairly technical or esoteric issues, such as the Commission's requirements for station program logs. Most, however, concern issues of considerable potential interest to scholars or historians of popular culture. Among these is a 30-page brief, entitled "Comments of CBS Inc.", in a rulemaking proceeding instituted at the behest of the Hollywood production community, intended to limit the number of hours of re-runs that network-owned or -affiliated stations could broadcast during prime time, and thus to force the networks to purchase additional hours of original programming from the Hollywood production community. Others responded to efforts by interest groups such as "Chinese for Affirmative Action" and "Committee for Open Media", to deny the renewal of the broadcast license of CBS-owned radio station KCBS, or, more realistically, to use the threat of potential denial to force CBS to accede to their respective demands.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to radio, television and film. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stein, F. Robert.

Corporate Bodies

CBS Inc.
National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting.
United States. -- Federal Communications Commission.

Subjects

Broadcasting -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Broadcasting -- Licenses -- United States.
Broadcasting policy -- United States.
Radio -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Radio stations -- Licenses -- United States.
Television -- Law and legislation -- United States.
Television stations -- Licenses -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Briefs (legal documents)
Dockets.
Legal documents.
Petitions.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

F. Robert Stein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of F. Robert Stein, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2014
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Legal documents
Box 1 Documents 1974 - petitions regarding license renewal
Box 1 Documents 1975 - use of re-runs in prime time; license renewal; "ascertainment of community problems"; distortion of audience ratings; program logs for AM, FM and TV stations
Box 1 Documents 1976 - "ascertainment of community problems"; rules and regulations for AM and FM stations; "clear channel" question

Return to top