Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Vincent Starrett Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Starrett, Vincent, 1886-1974.
Title: Vincent Starrett Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1923-1926
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Outgoing correspondence of the American writer and newspaperman.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Vincent Starrett (1886-1974) was an American writer, journalist and bibliophile. He worked for the Chicago Tribune for many years, and wrote mystery, horror, fantasy and supernatural fiction, much of it for the pulp magazine Weird Tales.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Vincent Starrett Correspondence consists of two outgoing letters, one to "Eddy" and the other to a Mrs Lloyd. Both are about his books.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial number of items by and about Vincent Starrett in our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

See also the Stephen Crane Papers; this collection contains the Vince Starrett Research files, composed of Starrett's correspondence with Crane's contemporaries and publishers, as well as others associated with Crane.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Starrett, Vincent, 1886-1974.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vincent Starrett Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 6 Oct 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 599 Miscellaneous 1923, 1926

Return to top