Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lee W. Stanley Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stanley, Lee Wright
Title: Lee W. Stanley Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1906-1964
Bulk Dates: 1930-1957
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons, proofs, newspaper clippings, photos and published material of the American cartoonist, most from his syndicated panel "The Old Home Town."
Language: English, with one item in French.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lee Wright Stanley (b. 1885) was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strip The Old Home Town.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lee W. Stanley Papers contains cartoons (original art and proof sheets), memorabilia, and printed material.

The vast majority of Cartoons consist of original art and proof sheets for Stanley's syndicated one-panel The Old Home Town (1930-1964). A detailed listing of the exact dates for which we have original art is available. The proof sheets, which are in two different sizes, each contain one week's worth of panels (Monday through Saturday); there is no detailed listing for the dates of the proof sheets but in most cases the entire year is present. The few other items in this series are original art for a few political cartoons relating to conventions (1912 and 1928) and some miscellaneous cartoons.

Memorabilia contains clippings about Stanley, a biographical sketch and essay on his career, and photographs of Stanley and his wife, Harriet, who assisted him on The Old Home Town.

Printed material contains clippings of Stanley's work, including some World War I cartoons, and a booklet entitled "Guide to Good Humor," produced and illustrated by Stanley and several other cartoonists.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All other material is in alphabetical order. Within the cartoon series, proof sheets are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stanley, Lee Wright.

Associated Titles

Old Home Town (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Mountain people -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.
Proofs (printed matter)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lee W. Stanley Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lee W. Stanley, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EF
Date: 7 June 1968
Revision history: 18 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 19 Nov 2009 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
"The Old Home Town"
Box 1 Character sheets - photocopies, showing all the characters from the strip
Original art 11" x 11"
Click here for detailed inventory.
Oversize 8 1930 13" x 14.5"
Oversize 1 1931-1935
Oversize 2 1936-1940, 1942, 1945, 1947-1948, 1951, 1958
Oversize 3 1959
Oversize 4 1960-Jun 1961
Oversize 5 Jul 1961-1962
Proof sheets - most on newsprint, two different sizes
Box 1 1926 10" x 14"
Oversize 6 1937-1944 14" x 20"
Box 1 1944 10" x 14"
Box 1 1945 10" x 14"
Oversize 7 1945-1957 14" x 20"
Box 1 1948-1962 (15 folders) 10" x 14"
Box 2 1963-1964 (2 folders) 10" x 14"
Oversize 8 Political conventions 1912, 1928 - original art
Oversize 8 Miscellaneous cartoons 1906-1907, undated - original art
Memorabilia
Box 2 Clippings about 1928, 1930, 1957, 1963, undated
Box 2 "Lee Stanley, Cartoonist" 1986
Box 2 Photographs of Stanley, family, friends 1923, 1927, 1949, 1952, 1950, 1963
Printed material
Box 2 Cleveland Press clippings 1913
Box 2 "Guide to Good Humor" 1945
Box 2 LIFE magazine cartoons 1902-1903
Box 2 World War I cartoons 1915 and later

Return to top