Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Standard Tool Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Standard Tool (Leominster, Mass.)
Title: Standard Tool Records
Inclusive Dates: 1940-1969
Quantity: 5.5 linear ft.
Abstract: This collection contains drawings of comb designs created for different companies; publications; and photographic prints and negatives of molds, machinery, factory interiors and building exteriors.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lionel B. Kavanaugh (1889-1991) and Robert Stowell founded Standard Tool in Leominster, Mass, in 1911. The company made molds and presses for injection molding.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Standard Tool Records contains drawings of comb designs created for different companies; publications; and photographic prints and negatives of molds, machinery, factory interiors and building exteriors.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged into series by format and chronologically within. The photographs and negatives are arranged numerically by the numbers appearing on them.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kavanaugh, Lionel B.

Corporate Bodies

Standard Tool (Leominster, Mass.) -- Archives.

Subjects

Combs.
Plastics -- Molds.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.
Negatives (photographic)
Photographs.
Publications.

Occupations

Manufacturing.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Standard Tool Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, photographs and publications gift of Abraham Brangrazi, 1989; remainder from unknown source.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD; 20 April 2011 - added material and updated finding aid (CEG)

Return to top

Inventory

Drawings
Box 1 Comb 1940-1950 - bound volume of technical drawings of comb molds for different molding companies (1 volume)
Photographs
Box 2 Machinery undated (5 folders)
Box 2 People 1981 - photo of Lionel Kavanaugh
Prints of machinary and equipment 1945-1969
Box 3 Unnumbered
Box 3 #61-157
Box 4 #158-307
Box 5 #309-428
Box 6 Unnumbered
Box 7 #71-436
Negatives of machinary and equipment 1945-1969
Box 8 #61-152
Box 9 #153-245
Box 10 #246-313
Box 11 #314-380
Publications
Box 2 Company 1955-1956, 1959, undated - employee newsletters, brochures and technical booklets related to Standard Tool, Detroit Mold Engineering Co., and Guy Harvey; Industry magazine

Return to top