Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jack Stachel Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stachel, Jack.
Title: Jack Stachel Papers
Inclusive Dates: TBD
Quantity: 4 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, writings, speeches, clippings, printed matter, books and other material
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jack (Jacob Abraham) Stachel (1900-1965) was a Jewish-American political activist. A leader of the American Communist Party for forty years, Stachel was one of eleven Communist leaders convicted under the Smith Act in 1949, for which he served a sentence of five years in prison. He and his wife Bertha had one son.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack Stachel Papers consists of correspondence, writings, speeches, clippings, printed matter, books and other material relating to the personal and professional life of the American Community Party leader.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Stachel, Jack.

Corporate Bodies

Communist Party of America.
Workers Party of America.

Subjects

Communism -- United States.
Labor unions -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- 20th century.
United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.
United States -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack Stachel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Stachel, 2012-2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 6 Mar 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top