Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Smith, Francis Hopkinson, 1838-1915
Title: Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1883-1915
Quantity: .25 linear ft.
Abstract: 25 outgoing letters, 4 incoming letters from William Henry Rideing; single typescript pages, with revisions, from 3 of Smith’s novels; and miscellany, including clipped signatures, an inscribed reproduction of a photographic portrait of F. Hopkinson Smith, and printed ephemera, including booksellers’ catalogs and an advertisement.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American author, illustrator, and novelist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1883 to 1915, the Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection comprises correspondence, writings and miscellany pertaining to the American author and illustrator (1838-1915). Correspondence includes 25 outgoing Smith letters and 4 incoming items from William Henry Rideing of The Youth's Companion. Four of the letters document an escalating dispute between Smith and agent Major James B. Pond concerning lecture fees. Writings include single typescript pages with extensive holograph revisions of three of Smith's novels, together with a published story bearing his signature. (The manuscript pages originally may have been enclosures with a 1903 Oct 23 letter to James Carlton Young.) Clipped signatures, an inscribed reproduction of a photographic portrait, and printed ephemera, including a periodical issue containing a tribute to F. Hopkinson Smith, booksellers' catalogues, and an advertisement, constitute Miscellany.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Doane, William Croswell, 1832-1913
Kobbé, Gustav, 1857-1918
Pond, James B. (James Burton), 1838-1903
Rideing, William H. (William Henry), 1853-1918
Smith, Francis Hopkinson, 1838-1915, Correspondence
Young, James Carleton, 1856-1918

Subjects

Art, American.
Authors, American
Illustrators, United States
Novelists, American

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Artists.
Authors.
Illustrators.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Francis Hopkinson Smith Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Linda Squair, 1994.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jun 1994
Revision history: 31 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Outgoing
Box 1 Incoming
Writing
Box 1 Caleb West - 1 p. typescript with holograph revisions, inscribed
Box 1 Oliver Horn - 1 p. typescript with holograph revisions, inscribed
Box 1 Tom Grogan - 1 p. typescript with holograph revisions, inscribed
Box 1 "The Professor on 'How to Train Our Wives and Children' " - published story, signed by F. Hopkinson Smith
Miscellany
Oversize 1 Bookseller's advertisement for Caleb West Master Diver by F. Hopkinson Smith
Box 1 Catalogue (1897-98) - Central Lyceum Bureau - lists F. Hopkinson Smith as lecturer (p. 15)
Box 1 "Catalogue of First Editions, Autographs" (1912) - James F. Drake - lists F. Hopkinson Smith (p. 15)
Box 1 "List of Holiday Books" (Dec. 1903) - H. H. Otis & Sons - contains reproduction of F. Hopkinson Smith photograph (p. 13)
Box 1 Pamphlet (1891) - Egypt Exploration Fund - lists Mrs. F. Hopkinson Smith among local honorary secretaries (last page)
Box 1 Periodical issue (21 Apr 1915) The Outlook - contains tribute to F. Hopkinson Smith upon his death (p. 910)
Box 1 Reproduction of a photograph of F. Hopkinson Smith
Box 1 Reproduction of a photographic portrait of F. Hopkinson Smith, inscribed and bearing date Mar. 1913
Box 1 Signatures (2) of F. Hopkinson Smith (with presentation letters)

Return to top