Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Slave Trade Record Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Slave Trade Record Book
Inclusive Dates: 1790-1795
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Record of sales of enslaved persons in Cacheu, for shipment to Brazil on the ship Nossa Senhore de Belton; lists individuals engaged in the sale/purchase, and names of the enslaved persons.
Language: Portuguese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Slave Trade Record Book is a single bound volume that documents the sales of enslaved persons at Cacheu (Portuguese Guinea) from 1790-1795. The text describes the enslaved individuals inluding gender and name, and lists the price, name of the seller, and the name of the captain performing the shipment. Shipments on the Nossa Senhore de Belton are described in much detail.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Nossa Senhore de Belton (Ship)

Subjects

Slave trade -- Africa, West.

Places

Cacheu (Guinea-Bissau)

Genres and Forms

Business records

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Slave Trade Record Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 22 Jan 2009
Revision history: 20 Apr 2021 - reparative description revisions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Business records
SC 283 [Record book documenting trade in enslaved persons] 1790-1795 - one volume, bound in modern paneled calf with gilt lines on front-cover (original)

Return to top