Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Charles Skiles Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Skiles, Charles.
Title: Charles Skiles Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1940-1967
Quantity: 4.75 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 2,000 original drawings for the panel cartoon Josephine, original magazine cartoons, correspondence, and clippings of published cartoons, including work for Dr. Pepper.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Skiles (1911-1969) was an American cartoonist.

Charles Skiles was born in Pekin, Indiana on December 29, 1911. Skiles drew the syndicated single panel cartoon Josephine for the General Features Corporation. Skiles also contributed cartoons published in magazines such as the Saturday Evening Post, Collier’s, McCalls, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Christian Science Monitor and the Wall Street Journal.

Skiles lived in Florida for most of his life and he died Feb. 14, 1969 at Halifax Hospital in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Skiles Papers are arranged in three series: correspondence, original cartoons, and published material.

Correspondence (1946-1957), contains one folder of incoming correspondence regarding the use of Skiles' cartoons.

Cartoons (1940-1967) consists of original artwork and is divided into two subseries. Included in the collection are approximately 2,134 pieces of artwork for the Josephine panel cartoon. 1,626 items are dated, 483 cartoons bear only years and 25 items are completely undated. Items measure 7" x 9 3/4" and were drawn in ink on paper. Captions appear in blue pencil. The other subseries is magazine cartoons. These items have similar dimensions to the Josephine work and were produced in ink and watercolor on paper. Stamps are located on the back with Skiles' name and address as well as publication information.

The Published material series (1940-1965) contains clippings of Skiles' cartoons including his early work for publications such as Liquor News, foreign language versions of his cartoons and cartoons published for Dr. Pepper in 1943 along with a Dr. Pepper proof book.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Josephine cartoons are arranged in chronological order. Magazine artwork is arranged alphabetically by publication name. Correspondence and published material is arranged as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Skiles, Charles -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Dr. Pepper Co.
General Features Corp.

Associated Titles

Josephine (cartoon)

Subjects

Advertising -- Soft drinks.
American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Children -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Comic books, strips, etc.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Skiles Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Skiles, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CK
Date: Feb 1968
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Oct 2010 - added bio, revised inventory of Josephine cartoons (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Josephine (2,134 items)
Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 1 1959-1961 Jun
Oversize 2 1961 Jul-1962
Box 1 1963 Apr-1964 Feb
Box 2 1964 Mar-1965 Mar
Box 3 1965 Apr-Aug, 1965 Nov-1966 Oct
Box 4 1966 Nov-1967 Oct, undated
Magazine
Box 4 The American Magazine 1952-1955 (4 items)
Box 4 American Weekly 1957 (1 item)
Box 4 Blue Book Magazine 1952-1953 (6 items)
Box 4 Collier's 1952, undated (2 items)
Box 4 Farm Journal 1957 (1 item)
Box 4 Look 1954-1956 (4 items)
Box 4 National Enquirer 1965 (1 item)
Box 5 Nation's Business 1943-1953 (21 items)
Box 5 TV Guide 1957-1965 (4 items)
Box 5 W.O.W. 1964 (1 item)
Box 5 Wall Street Journal undated (1 item)
Box 5 Unidentifiable 1962-1966, undated (41 items)
Box 5 Series C 1952-1954 (11 items)
Box 5 Series F 1966, undated (37 items)
Box 5 Unscheduled 1946-1947 (3 items)
Correspondence
Box 1 1946-1967 (1 folder)
Published material - clippings
Oversize 1 Dr. Pepper cartoons 1943 Aug, undated - clippings and Dr. Pepper proof book
Box 5 Early work circa 1940 (3 folders)
Box 5 Foreign language 1955-1963 (2 folders)
Box 6 Foreign language 1955-1963
Box 6 Illustrations 1941-1955
Box 6 Published cartoons 1946-1965
Box 6 Published cartoons undated (3 folders)

Return to top