Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Sir Lady Java Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1967 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft |
| Abstract: | Promotional material for Sir Lady Java's performances. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Sir Lady Java (b. 1943) is the first transgender individual to be defended by the ACLU, a fact still cited by the group as an example of their committment to the transgender community in promotional material. The case began when police shut down her act in 1967 at Red Foxx's club, using the infamous Rule 9, which outlawed shows in which a performer "impersonated" the opposite sex. Java responded by picketing the club, and solicited the help of the ACLU in a legal challenge. The case was dismissed on grounds that only club owners could sue. The unconstitutional rule was later struck down in a separate case in 1969.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Sir Lady Java Collection consists of printed promotional material for multiple performances on the west coast, such as Joe's Nairobi Lounge, Hustlers, Roy's Twenty Grand West, and The Baby Grand West. There is also a short biography and promotional photographs of Java, which she used in multiple performance flyers.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Sir Lady Java Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023
Poster transferred from the American Radical Ephemera Collection, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 12 Oct 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Promotional material | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Miscellaneous 1967 - flyers, photographs, and biographies promoting Java's performances on the west coast | ||||||||||