Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Upton Sinclair Campaign Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Upton Sinclair Campaign Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1934
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Pulitzer Prize winning American author. The collection contains material relating to Sinclair's 1934 candidacy for Governor of California under the End Poverty in California (EPIC) platform.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Upton Sinclair (1878-1968) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American author, best known for his novels exposing corruption and poor social, economic and working conditions. His 1906 novel The Jungle led to reforms in the American meat-packing industry, including passage of the Pure Food and Drug Act. He ran twice for Congress on the Socialist Party candidate, unsuccessfully, and was the Democratic nominee for Governor of California in 1934. The campaign captured a great deal of attention; conservatives portrayed Sinclair as a Communist and circulated quotes from his novels taken out of context in an attempt to prove that he was an enemy of military veterans, lawyers, businessmen, the Knights of Columbus, universities, Christianity, and the Boy Scouts, among other things. He was defeated by his opponent, Frank F. Merriam. The campaign is notable for being one of the first to employ mass media techniques.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Upton Sinclair Campaign Collection consists of campaign letters and literature along with newspaper clippings, all relating to Sinclair's 1934 bid for the governor's seat in California. Included are a wide selection of publications and campaign ads by his opponent.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Campaign literature appears first, followed by newspaper clippings and Sinclair campaign letters.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sinclair, Upton, 1878-1968.

Subjects

Campaign literature -- 20th century.
Governors -- California -- Election -- History -- 20th century.
Governors -- Election.
Mass media -- Political aspects -- California -- History -- 20th century.
Political campaigns -- California -- History -- 20th century.

Places

California -- Politics and government -- 1850-1950.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Pamphlets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Upton Sinclair Campaign Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard W. Van Wagenen, 1988.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Campaign materials
SC 567 Campaign literature 1934 - from both Sinclair's and Merriam's parties
SC 567 Newspaper clippings 1934
SC 567 Sinclair campaign correspondence 1934 - mailings from the party to supporters

Return to top