Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Rose Sherwood / Gladys Wells Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sherwood, Rose L. Wells, Gladys S.
Title: Rose Sherwood / Gladys Wells Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1896-1961
Quantity: 2.0 linear feet
Abstract: Correspondence, 1896-1961; travel journals, 1920, 1924-1932; and writings of Rose L. Sherwood. Inscribed books, memorabilia, teaching materials, and writings of Gladys S. Wells, 1948-1961.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of Rose L. Sherwood or her daughter Gladys S. [Sherwood?] Wells other than what can be gleaned from the collection. Rose evidently enjoyed the theater and wrote articles for Broadway Magazine. According to her daughter, she was a pioneer woman insurance executive. Gladys may have been a teacher of English and was clearly interested in Japan and Japanese culture. Both women traveled to Europe and Gladys went to Japan.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rose Sherwood / Gladys Wells Papers consists of the papers of two women, Rose L. Sherwood and Gladys S. [Sherwood?] Wells.

Rose L. Sherwood's papers contain correspondence, two travel diaries (one of a California trip, the other of "European travels"), memorabilia, and writings (two articles published in Broadway Magazine).

Gladys S. Wells' papers include published books by others, both fiction and non-fiction; memorabilia, most related to a trip to Japan; teaching materials, including some on teaching English to Spanish-Americans; a research paper by Wells on well-known author Lafcadio Hearn; and assorted memorabilia, including some relating to conferences and conventions.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hearn, Lafcadio, 1850-1904.
Sherwood, Rose L.
Wells, Gladys S.

Subjects

English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers.

Places

California -- Description and travel.
Europe -- Description and travel.
Japan -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Memorabilia.
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rose Sherwood / Gladys Wells Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1970
Revision history: 21 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Sherwood, Rose L.
Correspondence
Box 1 General 1896-1897, 1923-1961 (4 folders)
Box 1 Insurance-related 1932-1961
Diaries
Box 1 California trip 1920
Box 1 European travels 1924-1932
Memorabilia
Box 1 Plaque honoring membership in The Equitable Veteran Legion 1955
Box 1 Scrapbook 1923-1946
Box 1 Theater programs 1951-1964, undated
Box 1 Miscellaneous items 1896-1937
Writings
Box 1 "Hello, beautiful" in Broadway Magazine, p. 24 30 May 1931
Box 1 "The little side room" in Broadway Magazine, p. 44 11 Apr 1931
Wells, Gladys
Books
Box 1 Alger, Horatio. Tom the bootblack, or A western boy's success. New York, The New York Book Company 1909
Box 1 Apton, Adolph Abraham. Your mind and appearance. New York, Citadel Press 1951 - inscribed by the author to Mrs. Jutta Fist, and by Mrs. Fist to Gladys Wells
Box 2 Caprio, Frank. Helping yourself with psychiatry. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, Prentice-Hall 1957 - inscribed by the author to Gladys Wells
Box 2 Greenough, William C. and Francis P. King. Retirement and insurance plans in American colleges. New York, Columbia University Press 1959
Box 2 Lawing, Nellie Neal. Alaska Nellie. [Seattle?], Chieftain Press - inscribed by "Alaske Nellie" to Gladys Wells
Box 2 [New South Wales]. New South Wales, Australia. [Sydney?] 1959?
Box 2 Roosevelt, Eleanor. This is my story New York, Bantam Books 1950 - paperback; inscribed by the author to Gladys Wells
Box 2 Tugwell, Rexford G. The art of politics, as practiced by three great American: Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Luis Munoz Marin, and Fiorello H. La Guardia. Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday 1958 - inscribed by the author
Memorabilia
Box 2 Photocopies of miscellaneous items
Photograph albums
Box 2 Japan trip 1948-1949
Box 2 Japan (mostly Utsonomiya) 1949
Oversize 1 "A photograph report of occupied Japan" by Gladys S. Wells 1948-1949, 1951
Box 3 Postcard album of Japan trip
Box 3 Scrapbook of Japan trip 1948-1949, 1955
Box 3 Souvenirs 1948
Miscellanea
Box 3 Convention and conference programs 1957-1960
France-related periodicals
Box 2 La Boheme, cahiers 13-15 1963-1964
Box 2 French News Jan 1961
Box 2 The French Review, 6 issues May 1963-May 1964
Oversize 2 Japanese calendar art 1962
Box 3 Newspaper obituaries, photocopies 1951, undated
Box 4 Published material 1932-1963 - includes single numbers of periodicals and an exhibition catalog
Teaching materials
Box 4 Asia - printed material (3 folders)
Box 4 Speech and reading - printed material
Box 4 Teaching of English to Spanish-Americans - printed material
Box 4 Yugoslavia - printed material
Writings
Box 4 "The human cricket and the phantom past" 1961 - research paper on Lafcadio Hearn

Return to top