Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Sheean, Vincent, 1899-1975.
Title:	Vincent Sheean Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1940-1965
Quantity:	2.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, journalist. Collection includes correspondence; manuscript articles, books, book reviews, plays, radio broadcasts, short stories, and speeches; and clippings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

James Vincent Sheean (1899-1975) was an American journalist, novelist and biographer.

Born in Christian County, Illinois on Dec. 5, 1899 to William and Susan Sheean, he attended the University of Chicago. Sheean's best-known works are Personal History (1935), a political memoir, and Not Peace But a Sword (1939). Other books include Lily (1954), Mahatma Ghandi (1955), Nehru, Ten Years of Power (1959), and Dorothy and Red (1963), about Dorothy Thompson and Sinclair Lewis.

In 1935, he married Diana Forbes-Robertson, the daughter of Sir Johnston and Lady Forbes-Robertson, with whom he had two daughters. During the latter part of his life he resided in Ariolo, Italy.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Vincent Sheean Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing correspondence.

Subject files contains manuscripts, published material, and a photograph.

Manuscripts includes manuscripts of articles, books, book reviews, plays, radio broadcasts, short stories, speeches, a story outline, and a symposium. It also includes a galley proof.

Published material contains newspaper clippings by and about Sheean.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author; outgoing is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts are subdivided by type and within that arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vincent Sheean Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vincent Sheean.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Feb 1967
Revision history: 22 Jul 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 22 Feb 2012 - updated box #s (MRC); 12 Sep 2016 - updates/corrections (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			B-W, unidentified
Box 1			Churchill, Winston, Sir (his Private Secretary)
Box 1			Hammerstein, Arthur
Box 1			Marshall, George C., General
Box 1			Roosevelt, Eleanor
		Outgoing
Box 1			White, Leigh 1946-1949
Box 1			1940, 1948, undated

	Subject files
Box 1		Birth certificate
Box 1		Chiang Kai-Shek
Box 1		Contracts
Box 1		Hammerstein, Oscar
Box 1		Lists
Box 1		Photograph of Colin Kelly
Box 1		Research material
Box 1		Wireless press messages

	Manuscripts
		Articles
Box 1			"Air War Story"
Box 1			"Alexandra Tolstoy"
Box 1			"America and the Peace"
Box 1			"An American and the Big Four"
Box 1			"Batavia"
Box 1			"Bernard Shaw and the Twentieth Century"
Box 1			"Between the Thunder and the Sun"
Box 1			"Cairo and the Arab Center"
Box 1			"Capitals at War" (4 copies)
Box 1			"China is Vital to Us"
Box 1			"Chinese Influence in Asia"
Box 1			"Civilian Defense: English and American" (2 copies)
Box 1			"Cradle and All" - Part 1, 2 copies; Part 2, 1 copy; Part 3, 2 copies (5 items)
Box 1			"Death and Transfiguration"
Box 1			"Don Carlo"
Box 1			"England and Egypt"
Box 1			"The Fighting Irish"
Box 1			"The French Crisis"
Box 1			"Impressions of Tokyo"
Box 1			"The International Brigades of England"
Box 1			"Labor and the British Labor Party"
Box 1			"MacArthur's Tokyo"
Box 1			"Metropolitan Opera House"
Box 2			"On the Public Apathy"
Box 2			"The Permanent French Crisis"
Box 2			"The Return of the Native"
Box 2			"Untitled Article in Ireland"
Box 2			"What a Hitler Victory Would Mean to the United States"
Box 2			"The Windsors"
Box 2			"The Winning of the Way"
Box 2			"A Woman for President"
Box 2			Fragments
Box 2			From the Far East
Box 2			Untitled 1940
Box 2			Untitled 1948-1949, 1951
Box 2			Untitled undated
Box 2			Notes, "Thy Brother's Keeper"
		Book reviews
Box 2			Miscellaneous
		Books
Box 2			Beware of Caesar - Chapters I-XI (4 folders)
			Dorothy and Red
Box 2				Chapters I-VI
Box 3				Chapters VII-XI, Epilogue, Index
Box 3				Galley proofs (3 folders)
Box 3			The Family Album
Box 4			Oscar Hammerstein
Box 4			The Pieces of a Fan
		Plays
Box 4			An International Incident
Box 4			Money Talks
		Notes
Box 4			Inheritance
Box 4			Wake Island
		Radio broadcasts
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		Short stories
Box 4			At Loch Key
Box 4			The Great Embankment
Box 4			The Impecunious Eunuch
Box 4			The Luck of Tommy Thomas
Box 4			The Sealskin Coat
Box 4			When the Bud is Perfect
		Speeches
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		Story outlines
Box 4			Russian Easter
		Symposium
Box 4			[Untitled] (4 copies)
		Unidentified
Box 4			Fragment, pages 75-124

	Published material
Box 4		Newspaper clippings about
Box 4		Newspaper clippings by

Return to top