Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Shaktman Associates Records

An inventory of its Records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Shaktman Associates
Title: Shaktman Associates Records
Inclusive Dates: 1983-2008
Quantity: 13 linear feet
Abstract: Records of the international presentation skills training company founded by American playwright and director Ben Shaktman. Correspondence subject files; publications; memorabilia, including photographs and appointment calendars; and media, including audiotapes, VHS tapes, and computer floppy disks.
Language: Majority in English, a few items in Chinese, Dutch and French.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Founded in 1983 by American playwright and director Ben Shaktman, Shaktman Associates is an international presentation skills training company based in Santa Monica, CA. The company conducts workshops, coaches executives and publishes training material for a wide range of corporate clients.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Shaktman Associates Records spans the years 1983-2008 and is divided into four groups: Correspondence-subject files, Publications, Media, and Memorabilia.

Correspondence-subject files is arranged alphabetically and includes letters to and from and information about Shaktman Associates' clients as well as general correspondence.

Media includes audio, video, and computer material produced by Shaktman Associates as well as its clients and partners.

Memorabilia contains appointment calendars, phone logs, photgraphs, and a diary from Ben Shaktman's trip to China in 2000.

Publications includes workshop materials and handouts as well as general Shaktman Associates brochures and advertising material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Carden, William.
Shaktman, Ben, 1937-

Corporate Bodies

Allianz Group.
Andersen Consulting.
Apple Computer, Inc.
Autodesk, Inc.
CRM Learning (Firm)
Claris Corporation.
Computer Sciences Corporation.
Deloitte & Touche.
Electronic Data Systems Corporation.
Forrester (Firm)
Gartner Group.
General Electric Company.
Guthy-Renker (Firm)
Inforum (Firm)
Infosys Technologies Ltd.
Insead.
International Business Machines Corporation.
London Business School.
META Group.
MediaWorks (Firm)
Morgan Stanley & Co.
Polaroid Corporation.
Price, Waterhouse & Co.
Texas Instruments Incorporated.
Xerox Corporation.

Subjects

Business communication.
Business presentations.
Communication in management.
Executive coaching.
Management -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Audiotapes.
CD-ROMs.
Correspondence.
DVDs.
Diaries.
Drafts (documents)
Floppy disks.
Lecture notes.
Mini-DV.
Photographs.
Research notes.
VHS (TM)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Shaktman Associates Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ben Shaktman: 1984, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: 2 Apr 2013
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box  1 General correspondence 1983-2000 (24 folders)
Box  2 General correspondence 2001-2006 (4 folders)
Box  2 Ahern, Terry 1983-1984
Box  2 [Sam] Albert Associates 1990
Box  2 Albrezzi, Steven 1984-1991
Box  2 Alden Design 1989
Box  2 Allianz 1988-2007 (11 folders)
Box  2 Andersen Consulting 1988-1994 (24 folders)
Box  2 Apple 1985-1986 (5 folders)
Box  3 Apple 1987-1995 (11 folders)
Box  3 Applied Business Technology 1994-1998 (10 folders)
Box  4 Applied Business Technology 1999-2000 (10 folders)
Box  4 Autodesk 1994-1997 (4 folders)
Box  4 A.X.A. 1999-2001 (2 folders)
Box  4 Belkin Productions, Inc. 1988
Box  4 Bell South 1988-1989
Box  4 Bromka, Elaine 1994
Box  4 Businessland, Inc. 1986-1987
Box  4 Businessland, Inc. 1986-1987
Box  4 Carden, William. 1988-2003 (2 folders)
Box  4 Chamberlain, Jeffery D. 1993-1994
Box  4 Claris Corp. 1989
Box  4 Cochrane, Stuart S. 1992-1993
Box  4 Computer Sciences Corporation 2000
Box  4 Construction Industry Solutions 2002
Box  4 Copyright 2001-2002
Box  4 CRM Films 1994
Box  4 Delivering Project Excellence Conference 2004
Box  4 Deloitte and Touche 1998-1999
Box  4 Devo Team 1998
Box  5 Drake and Scull 1997-1998
Box  5 Electronic Data Systems 1987-1994 (10 folders)
Box  5 Farb Company 1994
Box  5 Fish, Robert Stevens 1987
Box  5 Forrester Research, Inc. 2003-2004
Box  5 Forte Software 1998
Box  5 The Gartner Group 1997
Box  5 Gay, Andrew 2001
Box  5 General Electric 1989 (2 folders)
Box  6 GIGA 2000-2005 (5 folders)
Box  6 Goodman, Burt 1993
Box  6 Goss, Richard E. 2000-2002
Box  6 Greenleaf, Barbara 1991-1993
Box  6 Goodman, Burt 1993
Box  6 Grossman, Herb 1998-2002 (2 folders)
Box  6 Gruber, Michael 1987-1989
Box  6 Gunthy-Renker 1999
Box  6 Hirschowitz, Ralph G. 1987
Box  6 Hokus Pokus Productions 1993
Box  6 I.B.M. 1983-1989 (12 folders)
Box  7 I.B.M. 1990-1992 (14 folders)
Box  8 I.B.M. 1993-2004 (13 folders)
Box  8 Inforum 1988
Box  8 Infomart Dallas, Texas 1985-1988
Box  8 Infomart model 1985
Box  8 Inforum 1988
Box  8 Infosys 2004-2006 (3 folders)
Box  9 Insead 2001-2006 (5 folders)
Box  9 Intel Corporation 1990
Box  9 Jarvis, PLC 2000
Box  9 Jennings, David A. 1986
Box  9 Jones, Michael L. 1992-1993
Box  9 Kirchman Corporation 1988-1989
Box  9 Klemper, Cees 2005
Box  9 Lefkoe and Associates 1992
Box  9 Levinson, Richard 1984
Box  9 Lightwave Productions 1999
Box  9 Litz, Robert 1995
Box  9 London Business School 2005-2008
Box  9 Lowe, Peter 1999
Box  9 Marigold Associates 1990
Box  9 Mediaworks 1992
Box  9 Meta Group 2004
Box  9 Mignon, Laurent 2008
Box  9 Milken Institute 1990
Box  9 Morgan Stanley and Company 1997
Box  9 Nugent-Head, Tim 2004
Box  9 O'Connor, Geoffrey 1993
Box  9 Park, Russell D. 2002
Box  9 Polaroid 1986
Box  9 Pratt, Daniel W. 1987
Box  9 Price Waterhouse Coopers 1998-2008 (3 folders)
Box  9 Public Relations Society of America 1986
Box  9 Raphael, Lisa 1987
Box  9 Rasmus, Daniel W. 2002
Box  9 Rosenak, David S. 1986
Box  10 Sacharow, Neal 1992
Box  10 Schoonover Associates 1985-1991 (2 folders)
Box  10 Schreiber, Terry 1987
Box  10 Schubert, Peter 1998-1999
Box  10 Schwartz, Alan 1993
Box  10 Shames, Deborah 1993
Box  10 Shaktman Associates Training Program 1994
Box  10 Siemens 1997-2000
Box  10 Software 2000 1992-1993
Box  10 Stellar, Patricia Ann 1991-1992
Box  10 Stephenson, Karen 1999
Box  10 Streamline Holdings, Ltd. 1999
Box  10 Tassin, Philippe 1998-2005
Box  10 Telleen, Steve 2004-2005
Box  10 Texas Instruments 1986-1987
Box  10 Unger, Deborah 1986-1987
Box  10 Website 2000-2005 (5 folders)
Box  10 Wesker, Arnold 1987
Box  10 Xerox 1985-1990
Box  10 Zegers, Gerald 2004
Box  10 Zesker, Murlyn 1987
Media
Box 12 Susan Nussbaum Scenes from Mishuganismo (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_001)
Box 12 1) Don't hang Up 2) We're Not Kidding (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_002)
Box 12 Ben Shaktman IMPACT Presentation Paris Nov, 1999 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_003)
Box 12 IMPACT Model Training Workshop Jun, 2002 (6 VHSs) (ID#: shaktman_004-shaktman_009)
Box 12 Nov 15 1999 tape 2 15 Nov 1999 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_010)
Box 12 System/390 Magazine 1992 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_011)
Box 12 AS/400 Report Sep 1990 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_012)
Box 12 AS/400 In an Open World (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_013)
Box 12 AS/400 Advanced Series: That's The Beauty Of It 3 May 1994 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_014)
Box 12 AS/400 Extending Your Competitive Edge (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_015)
Box 12 Allied Welcome Home 4 Oct 1991 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_016)
Box 12 New York times Magazine Quality Gets Results (short version) 20 Feb 1991 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_017)
Box 12 Compilation Reel Part 2 1 Oct 1991 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_018)
Box 12 Seminar For One #4 19 Feb 1992 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_019)
Box 12 Attorneys & Macintosh: Partners For Success 1992 (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_020)
Box 12 Changing The Rules: The Jacksonville Story (1 VHS) (ID#: shaktman_021)
Box 12 Alice In Openland AS/400 1992 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_022)
Box 12 AZI 2004 2004 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_023)
Box 12 New Year Address 2006 Jan 2006 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_024)
Box 12 AZI 2006 1 Apr 2006 (3 DVDs) (ID#: shaktman_025-shaktman_027)
Box 12 AZI 2007 24 Mar 2007 (3 DVDs) (ID#: shaktman_028-shaktman_030)
Box 12 AZI Diversity Video 19 Mar 2007 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_031)
Box 12 Odysseus - Hero of Transformation 2007 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_032)
Box 12 Analyst Conference 13 Oct 1999 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_033)
Box 12 Emerging Technology Showcase 8 Dec 2003 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_034)
Box 12 CAD Camp 95 1995 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_035)
Box 12 Virage Demo CD v.11 2003 (1 CD) (ID#: shaktman_036)
Box 12 Web Site Business Alignment: Attaining Measurable Value 2004 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_037)
Box 12 Strap 2005 6 Jan 2005 (1 CD) (ID#: shaktman_038)
Box 12 Board Room 1201A (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_039)
Box 12 IMPACT Executive Presentation Skills Workshop Jun 2005 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_040)
Box 12 GSM Session 10 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_041)
Box 12 GSM Session 11 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_042)
Box 12 Delivering Project Excellence 28 Jun 2005 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_043)
Box 12 Ben's Presentation 28 Jun 2005 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_044)
Box 12 Ben Shaktman coaching an executive presentation 1 Apr 2008 (1 DVD) (ID#: shaktman_045)
Box 12 Photos and old website 13 Feb 2008 (1 CD) (ID#: shaktman_046)
Box 12 Alice in Openland Disk 1- Disk 4 (4 floppies (3-1/2 in.) ) (ID#: shaktman_047-shaktman_050)
Box 12 Present Yourself (1 floppy (3-1/2 in.) ) (ID#: shaktman_051)
Box 12 IBM AS/400 Dick O'Dell Teleconference 13 Dec 1996 (1 floppy (3-1/2 in.) ) (ID#: shaktman_052)
Box 12 Training Tape '94 Tape 1- Tape 4 1994 (4 audio cassettes ) (ID#: shaktman_053-shaktman_056)
Box 12 S.A. Training Program Tape 1- Tape 9 23 Feb 1994 (9 audio cassettes) (ID#: shaktman_057-shaktman_065)
Box 12 Client Marketing Review Tape 10 - Tape 16 28 Feb 1994 (7 audio cassettes) (ID#: shaktman_066-shaktman_072)
Box 12 Sales Training Tape 1 - Tape 3 3 Jun 1993 (3 audio cassettes) (ID#: shaktman_073-shaktman_075)
Box 12 GIGA Facilitation 17 Oct 2001 (1 audio cassette) (ID#: shaktman_076)
Box 12 Effective Presentation Skills (1 floppy (3-1/2 in.) ) (ID#: shaktman_077)
Box 12 Ben's Dynamics notes re: Credit Union/ Les Speech 19 Aug 1988 (1 audio cassette) (ID#: shaktman_078)
Box 12 Measures of Success in American Business today 1988 (1 audio cassette) (ID#: shaktman_079)
Box 12 Insead University Tape 1 - Tape 2 1988 (2 MiniDVs) (ID#: shaktman_080 - shaktman_081)
Box 12 Insead University Tape 1 - Tape 2 (2 MiniDVs) (ID#: shaktman_080 - shaktman_081)
Box 12 GIGA interviews Tape 1 - Tape 2 2002 (2 MiniDVs) (ID#: shaktman_082 - shaktman_083)
Box 12 S.A. Productions Master Tape 1 - Tape 14 (14 MiniDVs) (ID#: shaktman_084 - shaktman_097)
Memorabilia
Box 11 Appointment calendars 1987-2001
Box 10 Ben Shaktman diary "China Trip" 2000
Box 11 Phone logs 1988-2005
Box 10 Photographs
Publications
Box 10 Brochure 1987-2003
Box 10 "Don't Hang Up" 1992
Box 10 I.M.P.A.C.T.
Box 10 "Managing Media Projects" 1986
Box 10 "Present Yourself!" 1984
Box 10 Presentation/Communication Skills Workshop material 1994-2004
Box 10 "Writing Product (Technical) Brochures" 1991

Return to top