Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Science Fiction Fanzines and Ephemera Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Science Fiction Fanzines and Ephemera Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1983
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of science fiction fan-generated publications (zines), science fiction convention material, clippings, photographs, and assorted other ephemera. Originally 12 linear feet, all of the zines have now been cataloged and only a few items remain in the manuscript collection.
Language: Most are in English, a few items in Chinese and Russian.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Science Fiction Fanzines and Ephemera Collection spans more than thirty years and contains an assortment of miscellaneous ephemera -- artwork, photographs, clippings, publicity, etc. -- relating to science fiction authors, conventions, publishers, and so on.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A list of material originally present in the collection appears in Box 1, but all of the fanzines themselves have been removed and cataloged. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction authors and organizations, including the Science Fiction Writers of America; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

The library also holds a considerable number of science fiction books; please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Fantasy fiction -- Congresses.
Fantasy fiction -- History and criticism.
Fantasy fiction -- Societies, etc.
Fanzines.
Science fiction -- Congresses.
Science fiction -- History and criticism.
Science fiction -- Societies, etc.

Genres and Forms

Book jackets.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drawings.
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Science fiction fans.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Science Fiction Fanzines and Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Jan 1999
Revision history: 18 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 24 Feb 2015 - updated to reflect cataloging of majority of collection (MRC); 2 Oct 2017 - updated to reflect additional items returned from cataloging (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Articles and clippings
Box 1 Long after Ecclesiastes, Ray Bradbury, Orbit 1983 - poem
Box 1 Professor Tolkien and the hobbits, Diplomat Oct 1966 - special section of magazine with several articles
Box 1 Science fiction and fantasy, Saturday Review Dec 1949
Box 1 Science fiction of the nuclear age, Johns Hopkins Magazine Mar 1977
Box 1 The threat of creationism, Isaac Asimov, New York Times Magazine 1981
Box 1 Through space and time with Forrest Ackerman, New West 28 Jan 1980
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1964, 1970, 1973, 1980 - on various science fiction-related topics
Conventions
Box 1 Con-Committee Chairman's Guide, by George Scithers
Box 1 Miscellaneous - fliers, registration forms, posters, etc.
Fanzines and newsletters
The vast majority of these items have been cataloged. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate these items.
Box 1 List of titles (original) - complete list of what was originally in the collection
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Movies and films
Box 1 Miscellaneous - movie press releases, movie and film societies, etc.
People and organizations
Box 1 Cogswell, Theodore 1975 - Christmas card
Box 1 Ellison, Harlan 1980-1981 - article by Ellison for Writer's Digest, few items of correspondence
Box 1 Heinlein, Robert 1972 - brochure for Forrestal Lecture Series, featuring Heinlein
Box 1 International Aviation Writer's Association 1957 - text of speech on legal aspects of space travel
Box 1 NASA (National Aeronatics and Space Administration) - Kennedy Space Center material, teacher's guide on the planets, list of names given to surface features near the Apollo 15 landing site, etc.
Box 1 Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) 1966-1978 - correspondence, mailings, ballots, etc.; much of it pertains to the Nebula Awards (2 folders)
Box 1 Zelazny, Roger - few items of correspondence, publicity poster for Madwand, "Working bibliography" compiled by Phil Stephensen-Payne, photocopy of "My lady of the diodes"
Box 2 Zelazny, Roger (cont.) - article by Zelazny on writing for children, miscellaneous items from a Russian fan
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Photographs and artwork
Box 2 Artwork, original - original art by unidentified artists, mostly pen and ink
Box 2 Artwork, reproduction - line art illustrations for Dragons of Darkness, Pocket , possibly others
Box 2 Photographs - living "pods" on alien planet, possibly a movie set?
Publishers and books
Box 2 Avon - mostly press releases about upcoming SF titles
Box 2 Ballantine - publicity posters and book lists for their Del Rey line of SF
Box 2 Bantam
Box 2 Carcosa - press release for its first title
Box 2 Pocket Books - includes numerous issues of "Timescape," their science fiction newsletter
Box 2 Miscellaneous - includes several jacket proofs and some used book lists
Miscellaneous
Box 2 Atomic Clock 1959 - packet of material pertaining to the atomic clock and its use in testing Einstein's theory of relativity
Box 2 Correspondence
Box 2 Printed material - Japanese issue of Omni magazine, poster for "Science fiction at your library!", etc. (2 folders)

Return to top