Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William C. Sexton Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sexton, William C.
Title: William C. Sexton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1946-1969
Bulk Dates: 1962-1969
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist. Collection contains biographical material, correspondence, printed material, speeches and writings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William C. Sexton (1929- ) is an American journalist. Born in 1929, Sexton attended Culver Military Academy and the University of North Carolina. He was with the United Press bureau from 1947 to 1959 (with a two-year absence for military service), then in 1961 joined the American Press Institute, eventually becoming its associate director. He was managing editor for the Louisville Courier-Journal and editor of World Book News Science Service.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William C. Sexton Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, printed material, speeches and writings.

Biographical material contains news releases from various significant points in Sexton's career.

Correspondence, most of which is photocopies of outgoing letters, contains relatively few letters but they are of notable length and substance. An index to correspondents appears at the end of this inventory.

Printed material contains a few items from 1946-1962 for which no drafts are present, only the published version.

Speeches include addresses given at professional conferences, workshops, and other occasions.

The majority of Writings appear to be pieces written for trade or professional journals; topics include information retrieval for the mass market, operation of news departments, staff meetings, newspaper style, and similar.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, printed material and speeches are arranged chronologically. Writings are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has substantial holdings relating to journalism and journalists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sexton, William C.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Speeches.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William C. Sexton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William C. Sexton, 1968-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1970
Revision history: 29 Jul 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Jan 2017 - fixed index code (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Box 1 [General] 1965-1968
Box 1 Confidential memos 1965, 1968
Printed material
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1946, 1960, 1962
Speeches
Box 1 1962, Aug 20 American Association of Sunday and Feature Editors
Box 1 1963, Aug Theta Sigma Phi workshop, Cleveland, Ohio
Box 1 1963, Dec 7 Sigma Delta Chi, University of Rhode Island
Box 1 1964 New England Daily Newspapers Association, Boston
Box 1 1964 High School Press Day, Troy, New York
Box 1 1964, May 5 Sigma Delta Chi, professional chapter, Louisville, Kentucky - notes for address
Writings
Box 1 African Seminar report 1965
Box 1 Bigness - bad for a newspaper or merely inevitable? 1967
Box 1 Church's own computer 1968
Box 1 Education for communicators: The second century 1968 - first and second drafts (2 folders)
Box 1 Forty-two hours in a pressure cooker: The world's longest staff meeting 1969
Box 1 Information retrieval for the mass market Jun 1968
Box 1 Introducing...World Book science service 1968
Box 1 Is there a better way to cover the news? 1967
Box 1 I've always known we'll get men there" John Jurgenson 1968
Box 1 National and international coverage in local newspapers 1963 - notes for discussion
Box 1 On becoming a professor 29 Dec 1962
Box 1 On the importance of being heard Nov 1967
Box 1 Organization and operation of the news department Sep 1966
Box 1 Style, The newspaper in the 1970s: a revolution? 1968
Box 1 Systems analysis in the newsroom 1967
Box 1 Why people read newspapers: a new non-McLuhan theory Sep 1967
Box 1 WBESSI (World Book Encyclopedia Science Service, Inc.) 1967
Box 1 Writing in depth: the long and short of it May 1968

Return to top

Index to correspondence

  • Arpan, Floyd (professor, Indiana University) : 1967 Dec 21
  • Associated Press International, miscellaneous memos : 1965, 1968
  • Ballotti, Geno A. (managing editor, Daedalus) : 1967 Nov 7
  • Benson, [ ] (University president) : 1967 Feb 15
  • Bingham, Barry (Louisville Courier-Journal) : 1965 Nov 24; 1966 Jun
  • Bogart, Leo (Bureau of Advertising, ANPA) : 1967 Nov 9
  • Furlong, Bill : 1967 Nov 6
  • Hines, William (Washington Evening Sun; Chicago Daily News bureau : 1968 Feb 6; 1968 Feb 12
  • Isaacs, Norman E. (Louisville Courier-Journal) : 1966 Feb 1; 1966 Aug 5
  • Larry Pryor : 1968 Dec 15 (incoming); 1968 Dec 19
  • Low, George M. (NASA Manned Spacecraft Center, Houston) : 1967 Feb 13
  • MacKinnon, Cyrus (Louisville Courier-Journal) : 1966 Dec 3
  • Montys : 1968 Feb 23
  • Murray, J. Edward (Arizona Republic) : 1968 Jul 23

Return to top