Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John S. Sewall Ship's Log

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Sewall, John S. (John Smith), 1830-1911.
Title: John S. Sewall Ship's Log
Inclusive Dates: 1850-1903
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the U.S. naval officer. Journal of "J. S. Sewall, Vagabonde," serving on the U.S.S. Saratoga as Captain's Clerk during a Pacific cruise, 1850-1854. Also a list of officers and deaths, and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Smith Sewall (1830-1911) was an American sailor, minister, and professor who is best known for his book The Ship's Log of the Captain's Clerk: Adventures in the China Seas, which tells of his experiences aboard the U.S.S. Saratoga.

Sewall was born in 1830. After graduating from Bowdoin College in Portland, Maine in 1850, Sewall enlisted in the United States Navy. His first assignment was to the U.S.S. Saratoga as a captain's clerk. This ship accompanied Commodore Matthew C. Perry to Japan from 1853-1854.

Once back in the United States, Sewall was ordained a Congregational minister. He worked as a pastor in Wenham, Massachusetts from 1859-1867. Sewall then served as Chaplain to the 8th Massachusetts regiment during the Civil War in 1864.

In 1875, Sewall accepted a professorship position at Bowdoin College, where he remained until 1903. Two years later, Sewall wrote a book, The Ship's Log of the Captain's Clerk: Adventures in the China Seas, about his experiences aboard the U.S.S. Saratoga. He died in 1911.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John S. Sewall Ship's Log is a day book maintained by Sewall during his time as captain's clerk aboard the U.S.S. Saratoga. In addition to recording the daily activities of the ship from 1850-1854, the logbook contains newspaper clippings, handwritten notes, lists of officers and death notices dating from 1850-1903. These additional pieces of information relate to the story of the U.S.S. Saratoga as told through the logbook.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Ship's log, which consists of a single-bound volume. Within the volume are various loose items such as newspaper clippings and handwritten notes.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Sewall, John S. (John Smith), 1830-1911.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Navy -- History -- Sources.
United States. Navy -- Officers.

Places

East Asia -- Description and travel.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.

Genres and Forms

Ships' logs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John S. Sewall Ship's Log
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LDC
Date: 21 Jan 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Ship's log
SC 281 U.S.S. Saratoga 1850-1903
In addition to documenting the daily activities of the U.S.S. Saratoga (1850-1854), the logbook contains relevant newspaper clippings, handwritten notes, lists of officers, and death notices dating from 1850-1903.

Return to top