Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Sermon Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Sermon Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1782-1832
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten sermons (26) by an unknown clergyman, traveling between the towns of Haddam, East Haddam, and Hadlyme, all situated on the Connecticut River in Middlesex County, Connecticut. Given the eighty-year date span, the sermons may be from more than one author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author(s) of these sermons, other than that he was a clergyman, probably a circuit preacher, traveling between the towns of Haddam, East Haddam, and Hadlyme, all situated on the Connecticut River in Middlesex County, Connecticut. Given the eighty-year date span, the sermons are likely from more than one author, though the differences in handwriting are not so extreme as to clearly indicate two authors.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sermon Collection consists of 26 handwritten sermons. Some of the sermons bear two dates, suggesting they were used more than once on the circuit. The author(s) on occasion have also indicated weather conditions and the size of the congregation. Following is a list of the sermons in date order, giving date, text, and number of pages.

  • 1782 Nov 17, Titus 3:5-6, 8 pp.
  • 1787 Aug 26-30, Ephes. 4:5, 16 pp.
  • 1791 Nov (no date), James 3:17, 16 pp.
  • 1794 Apr 6 and again in 1829, Tim. 3:12, 16 pp. plus 3 scraps
  • 1796 Jul 17, Acts 17:11, 16 pp.
  • 1803 Mar 23, 1st Cor. 15:56-57, 16 pp.
  • 1804 Feb 19 and 1804 Apr 14, 2nd Cor. 11:3, 23 pp.
  • 1804 Mar 8, Heb. 10:32-33, 24 pp.
  • 1805 Sep 29, Rom. 8-9, 8 pp.
  • 1807 Jan 11, John 11:24-25, 16 pp.
  • 1814 Oct 11, Luke 19:10, 8 pp.
  • 1816 Nov 24, Heb 12:14, 20 pp.
  • 1817 Jun 1 and 1825 Mar 4, 1st Cor. 10:21, 24 pp. (poor condition)
  • 1819 Nov 5, Joshua 5:14-15, 16 pp.
  • 1819 Nov 18, Job 9:12, 21 pp.
  • 1822[?] Apr 20, Zech. 14:6-7, 16 pp.
  • 1822 Dec 29, Gen 4:16, 20 pp.
  • 1824 Feb 25, [?] 59:19, 20 pp.
  • 1828 Sep 21, Matt. 13:45-46, 16 pp.
  • 1829 Oct 18, John 5:39, 16 pp.
  • 1831 Feb 20, Psalms 73:25, 20 pp.
  • 1832 Apr 1, Rom. 8:19, 36 pp.
  • no date, 1st Tim. 3:16, 20 pp.
  • no date, Rev. 21:7, 8 pp.
  • no date, no text, 4 pp.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Preaching -- History.
Sermons, American.

Places

Connecticut -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sermon Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: circa 1970
Revision history: 25 Feb 2013 - corrected dates (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Sermons
SC 16 Miscellaneous 1782-1864

Return to top