Finding Aids
printer friendly version

R. J. Scott Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Scott, Roland J.
Title: R. J. Scott Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1960-1967
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoon panels from Scott's Scrap Book and Sally's Sallies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roland Jack Scott (1886-1968), professionally known as R. J. Scott, was an American cartoonist and creator of the comic strips Scott's Scrap Book and Sally's Sallies.

Originally from Indianapolis, Scott began his cartooning career with the Indianapolis Star circa 1900. In 1921 he made his way west to Phoenix where he worked as a cartoonist for The Arizona Republican (later renamed The Arizona Republic). After stints with papers in New York and Cleveland, Scott eventually signed with King Features Syndicate in 1931. He returned to Arizona the following year where he remained producing his syndicated panels until his retirement in July of 1967. R. J. Scott died April 4, 1968 at the age of 81.

[source: Obituary, The Arizona Republic, 6 April 1968]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The R. J. Scott Cartoons collection contains 6 original cartoon panels from Scott's Scrap Book (1960-64), a "did-you-know?" panel strip, and 6 original cartoon panels from Sally's Sallies (1966-67), a panel strip focused on a newly married couple and their social milieu.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Scott, Roland J.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Sally's sallies (comic strip)
Scott's scrap book (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

R. J. Scott Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of R. J. Scott, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 11 Dec 2008
Revision history: 11 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 5 Feb 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Sally's Sallies cartoon panels (6 items)
(traces of graphite, pen and ink on illustration board, 6 ¾ x 7 ¾ in.)
Box 1 08/02/1966
Box 1 10/05/1966
Box 1 10/08/1966
Box 1 11/25/1966
Box 1 12/24/1966
Box 1 01/21/1967
Scott's Scrap Book cartoon panels (6 items)
(traces of graphite, brush, pen and ink, paste-overs on illustration board, 11 x 11 ½ in.)
Box 1 11/10/1960
Box 1 12/17/1960
Box 1 12/19/1960
Box 1 12/21/1960
Box 1 08/22/1963
Box 1 01/27/1964

Return to top