Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

School Map of Onondaga County

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Davis, Bardeen & Co.
Title: School Map of Onondaga County
Inclusive Dates: circa 1880
Quantity: 1 item.
Abstract: Map of school districts of Onondaga County, color.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Onondaga County is located in central New York, and contains the city of Syracuse. Onondaga Lake, near its center, was considered sacred to the Onondaga Nation. The area was first visited by Europeans (French missionaries) in the 1600s and settlement began in earnest in the mid-1800s. The presence of the Erie Canal made the area, particularly Syracuse, an important a transportation hub. There were numerous local and regional railways, including the Syracuse & Onondaga, Syracuse & Binghamton, Syracuse, Chenango & New York, and the Syracuse & Oneida Lake Electric Railway Company.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

School Map of Onondaga County is a single item, a hand-colored map of local school districts published by Davis, Bardeen & Co., Syracuse. Railroads are also marked.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Davis, Bardeen & Co.

Subjects

Maps.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County -- Maps.
School districts.

Places

Onondaga County (N.Y.) -- Maps.

Genres and Forms

Maps (documents)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

School Map of Onondaga County,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Stephen Resnick and Carol Resnick.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DSA
Date: 07 Jun 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Maps
Oversize 1 School map of Onondaga County circa 1880

Return to top