Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Schilder, Edgar F.
Title:	Edgar F. Schilder Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1909-1950
Quantity:	14.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Over 1,000 pieces of original cartoon artwork including material from the Syracuse Post-Standard, comic strips, original artwork by other cartoonists, biographical material, photographs, newspaper and magazine clippings, proofs, posters, and a scrapbook.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Edgar F. "Steve" Schilder (1888-1963) was an American cartoonist who worked for the Syracuse Post-Standard for over 40 years.

Edgar Francis "Steve" Schilder was born in Chillicothe, Ohio on August 31, 1888. A self-taught artist, Schilder completed courses through the Evans Correspondence School of Cartooning in Columbus, Ohio and his early cartoons were done on chalk plates. His first journalism job was with the Chillicothe newspaper, where he worked for several months without pay in order to gain experience. Schilder then held a string of newspaper positions around the United States.

Schilder worked at the Columbus Citizen, the Portsmouth Blade and in Lima, Ohio. Schilder then went to the Denver Post, the St. Joseph Missouri News Press and the Indianapolis Star. During his tenure in Indianapolis, Schilder picked up his pen name "Steve" which was derived from the black cat that appeared in many of his cartoons. Leaving Indianapolis, Schilder spent a year and a half with the Journal Gazette in Fort Wayne, Indiana before taking a job in Baltimore with the International Syndicate.

In 1914 Schilder worked in St. Louis, in 1915 in Atlanta, and in 1916 he worked at the New Orleans Times Picayune until in 1917, Schilder took a job with the Syracuse Post-Standard and became editor of the newspaper's Sunday magazine. As editor, Schilder's decision to publish historic photos in the magazine proved popular with readers and he ran the newspaper’s photography contests. Schilder also worked as the editorial cartoonist. The New York Herald Tribune, New York Times and the Saturday Evening Post also published Schilder's cartoons.

The United States Treasury Department recognized him with an award in 1940 for his war bond cartoons, and his cartoons of prominent World War II figures were exhibited at the Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts in 1943. The demands of the Post-Standard's Sunday magazine led Schilder to spend less time on cartooning during his final years with the newspaper. Schilder retired from the Post-Standard on July 1, 1962.

Edgar F. Schilder died on August 25, 1963 after falling in his home and suffering a skull fracture.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edgar F. Schilder Papers are divided into six series: original artwork, biographical material, printed material, clippings, proofs and photographs.

Original Artwork (1918-1950) contains original pieces drawn by Schilder and other cartoonists. Schilder's items include primarily both editorial and general interest cartoons.

Schilder’s work reflects the interests of his Syracuse and Central New York readership. His numerous cartoons related to fishing often referenced Oneida Lake. Winter is a prominent topic as well as a backdrop for his cartoons while those depicted go about their daily lives, such as Schilder's recurring character, Might Marty, a balding, bespeckled man who is no more than a head on a stick figure body. Local college sports teams and the Syracuse Chiefs minor league baseball team are also mentioned. Many of Schilder's cartoons called for the conservation of natural resources.

Of particular interest are Schilder’s cartoons drawn during World War II. Schilder’s depiction of the war and its effects went beyond the political as he often focused on home front activities and hardships including scrap metal drives, victory gardens and the rationing of food and other materials, while calling for "Patriotism before pleasure" as one title encouraged. Schilder also produced a handful of cartoons that cautioned against being overly optimistic in predictions for a quick victory. He frequently referred to Axis leaders by nicknames including Herr Hitler, Herr Ohito (Hirohito) and the Herrless One (Mussolini).

Schilder's original art is dated only with years (there are also some undated cartoons). Several dated pieces are mounted. Undated work has been arranged in alphabetical order by caption. Items vary in size but the majority are between approximately 11" x 14" and 14" x 16". The cartoons were drawn primarily in ink on illustration board. Some feature light crayon shading.

In addition to editorial and general interest cartoons, there are also 32 original drawings of World War II leaders. These portraits generally measure 8 1/4" x 11 1/4" and several are mounted. Also included are fourteen original Cinder comic strips featuring Schilder's signature black cat, Steve.

There are also 26 original drawings by other artists, many of which were presented as gifts to Schilder. See the inventory for a listing.

Biographical material (1909-1950) contains a few pieces of personal correspondence, articles on Schilder and his work, two photographs of Schilder and a small folder of miscellaneous items.

Printed material (1921-1945) offers examples of Schilder's work as it appeared in various non-newspaper formats particularly trade and industry publications, particulary from Traveler's Insurance. Several folders are related to Syracuse and the upstate New York region including material on the American Legion, Mohawk Carpet Mills, and various other businesses and organizations. Some local material is related to the Syracuse Post-Standard.

Schilder was an avid clipper of items from magazines and newspapers. Clippings (1912-1950) is generally comprised of two types of material: material clipped from newspapers and magazines (work not drawn by Schilder) and cartoons (particularly editorial cartoons). Included are Schilder’s editorial cartoons from the Syracuse Post-Standard as well as clippings of cartoons by other cartoonists (such as Carey Orr, Herb Roth, J.N. Ding Darling, H.T. Webster, Warren King, Gasoline Alley and the Gumps). Included is a Ding drawing done exclusively for the Syracuse Post-Standard. Schilder also clipped a plethora of illustrations, advertisements and imagery from publications, ranging from small scraps to full pages about animals, transportation, illustrations of people, and furniture. Many clippings contain spot color and are from New York newspapers. Also of interest in this series is a scrapbook containing clippings, photos and portraits of other cartoonists.

Proofs (1915-1944) includes several proofs of cartoons including editorial cartoons and The Moneybacks comic strip. However, the majority of the proofs are caricatures appearing to be of prominent businessmen. They may be from the work, Club Men of Indianapolis in Caricature or a similar publication. Many of these caricature portraits have the name of other artists.

Photographs contains 27 undated photographs kept by Schilder. They depict animals, children and sports (boxing, horse racing, Gene Tunney). Of particular interest is a photo of the Ku Klux Klan and a movie still from Flaming Frontier.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Dated cartoons are arranged chronologically by year. Oversized mounted cartoons are arranged separately. Undated cartoons are arranged alphabetically by letter. Undated cartoons without titles are located at the end of the Schilder section of the original artwork series.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

One printed item pertaining to the Wizard of Oz (with no specific connection to Schilder) has been transferred to the L. Frank Baum Papers.

The following have been sent to Rare Books.

• Hart Schaffner & Marx Style Book (1926)
• one issue of Indian News (Indian motorcycle company, 1931)
• Zonite: a New and Remarkable Discovery product booklet (1922)
• issues (15 items) of the Legionnaire publication from Syracuse Post 41 (1943-1945, 1947-1948)

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edgar F. Schilder Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James F. and Dorothea Wright (Schilder's son-in-law and daughter), 1968, 1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: RT
Date: 1968
Revision history: 27 Sep 1979 - additions (DB); 25 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 5 Feb 2010 - added detailed bio, scope, inventory and index (SK); 10 Mar 2023 - 3 original cartoons added, 1937 and 1938 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artwork, original
		Artwork by Schilder
			Cartoons
Oversize 1, Folder 1				Dated items 1918, 1925, 1932-1933 (18 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 2				Dated items 1934 (12 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 2				Dated items 1934 (8 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 4				Dated items 1935 (11 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 5				Dated items 1935 (11 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 6				Dated items 1936 (14 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 7				Dated items 1936 (12 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 8				Dated items 1937 (15 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 9				Dated items 1938 (20 items)
Oversize 8, Folder 1				Dated items, mounted 1934, 1936-1938 (7 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 10				Dated items 1939 (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 1				Dated items 1939 (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 2				Dated items 1939 (12 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 3				Dated items circa 1930s (2 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 4				Dated items 1940 (10 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 5				Dated items 1940 (11 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 6				Dated items 1940 (15 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 7				Dated items 1941 (12 items)
Oversize 8, Folder 2				Dated items, mounted 1939-1941 (8 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 8				Dated items 1942 (14 items)
Oversize 2, Folder 9				Dated items 1942 (25 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 1				Dated items 1942 (18 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 2				Dated items 1942 (19 items)
Oversize 8, Folder 3				Dated items, mounted 1942 (10 items)
Oversize 9, Folder 1				Dated items, mounted 1942 (9 items)
Oversize 9, Folder 2				Dated items, mounted 1942 (9 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 3				Dated items 1943 (16 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 4				Dated items 1943 (17 items)
Oversize 3, Folder 5				Dated items 1943 (17 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 1				Dated items 1943 (17 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 2				Dated items 1943 (17 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 3				Dated items 1943 (20 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 4				Dated items 1944 (16 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 5				Dated items 1944 (17 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 6				Dated items 1944 (17 items)
Oversize 4, Folder 7				Dated items 1944 (17 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 1				Dated items 1944 (16 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 2				Dated items 1944 (17 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 3				Dated items 1944 (20 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 4				Dated items 1945 (19 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 5				Dated items 1945 (15 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 6				Dated items 1945 (16 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 7				Dated items 1945 (16 items)
Oversize 5, Folder 8				Dated items 1945 (16 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 1				Dated items 1945 (16 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 2				Dated items 1946 (18 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 3				Dated items 1946 (18 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 4				Dated items 1946 (17 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 5				Dated items 1947 (18 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 6				Dated items 1947 (17 items)
Oversize 6, Folder 7				Dated items 1947 (16 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 1				Dated items 1948 (15 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 2				Dated items 1948 (15 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 3				Dated items 1948 (15 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 4				Dated items 1948 (7 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 5				Dated items 1949 (15 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 6				Dated items 1949 (18 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 7				Dated items 1949 (17 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 8				Dated items circa 1940s (14 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 9				Dated items circa 1940s (13 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 10				Dated items circa 1940s (12 items)
Oversize 7, Folder 11				Dated items 1950 (20 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 1				Undated items with titles, A-B (18 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 2				Undated items with titles, C-F (12 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 3				Undated items with titles, G-H (15 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 4				Undated items with titles, I-L (17 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 5				Undated items with titles, M (16 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 6				Undated items with titles, N-O (9 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 7				Undated items with titles, P-R (10 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 8				Undated items with titles, S (12 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 9				Undated items with titles, T (14 items)
Oversize 10, Folder 10				Undated items with titles. U-W (17 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 1				Undated, untitled (17 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 2				Undated, untitled (14 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 3				Undated, untitled (14 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 4				Undated, untitled (13 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 5				Undated, untitled (14 items)
Oversize 11, Folder 6				Undated, untitled (9 items)
			Sketches
Oversize 13				Pencil sketches undated (6 items)
			Comic strips
Oversize 13				Cinder 1922 - 4 panel strip featuring Steve the cat 7 ½" x 21 ½" (14 items)
Oversize 12			World War II portraits of leaders and politicians 1940-1943, undated (32 items)
		Artwork by others
Map-Case			J.N. "Ding" Darling- "Defying the Laws of Gravitation" undated
Oversize 13			Original drawings by other artists
				Items are undated, except where specifically noted.
				Ray Barnes- (1936) J.F. Bronstrup- [Pancho Villa] Dietz -"Schilderian Demise" (1944) Rudolph Dirks- [To the Contest Editor] Clifton Flood- "Untitled", [Summer school prof. Kline's class] (2 items, 1938, 1940) H.E. Godwin- [This is the Life (man fishing)] Holloway [caricature portrait of Schilder] C.R. Macauley- "Will It Hatch?" Gus Mager - [cartoon contest] Elmer R. Messner- "No Room for Other Shadows" (1940) W.K. Patrick- "Disqualified", "Whoo-pee!", [Brigandage] (3 items) Harold Tucker Webster- "Life's Darkest Moment" (Jan. 9, 1923) Gluyas Williams- "A Strain on the Family" (1926- inscribed to H.P. Bull) Eugene Zimmerman- "Foolish Remarks", "On George Washington", "Chicken Talk", "Business Awakening", "Well That's Encouraging", "Take Notice" (8 items, circa 1918, 1932) Unknown artist- "Mother's Day"

	Biographical material
Box 4		Correspondence 1909, 1943-1944, 1950, undated
Box 4		Newspaper articles about Schilder 1932, 1939, 1940, 1943, undated
Box 4		Miscellaneous undated (3 items)
Box 4		Photographs of Schilder undated (2 items)
Box 4		Syracuse Art Museum Quarterly Bulletin 1943 (2 items)

	Clippings
Box 1		Cartoonists' obituaries 1935, undated - Frank Ladendorf, Eugene Zimmerman
Box 1		Cartoons by others circa 1912-1942, undated (2 folders)
Box 1		Editorial cartoons 1919-1922, 1925, 1928-1929
Box 1		Editorial cartoons 1930-1939 (6 folders)
Box 2		Editorial cartoon 1940-1945 (7 folders)
Box 3		Editorial cartoons 1946-1950, undated (5 folders)
Box 3		Lion's Club newspaper, East Syracuse, NY 23 Dec 1949
Box 3		Magazine clippings (3 folders) circa 1910-1924 (3 folders)
Box 3		Newspaper articles 1935, 1938-1939, undated - several related to Ten Eyck
Box 3		Newspaper clippings circa 1910-1924 (3 folders)
Box 3		"Taxes After the War" article undated
Oversize 11		Scrapbook undated - clippings, copies of Schilder's artwork, clippings of portraits of other cartoonists, family photos

	Photographs
Box 4		International Newsreel and Syracuse Post Standard photographs undated - parts cut from larger photographs; subjects include animals, children, sports (boxing, horse racing, Gene Tunney), Flaming Frontier movie still, Ku Klux Klan (27 items)

	Printed material
Oversize 13		American Humane Association posters, Albany, NY 1945 (4 items)
Box 4		Better Health, Syracuse, NY circa 1927, undated
Box 4		Cartoons by others 1932, undated - Burt Thomas and Eugene Zimmerman
Box 4		Christmas greetings 1932-1937, 1941, undated
Box 4		Columbian Crew clippings undated
Box 4		Indian News, Indian Motorcycle Company 1930-1932,
			One complete issue transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 4		Insurance Pictorial 1930-1931 (3 issues)
Box 5		Legionnaire, Syracuse Post 41 1943-1945 - covers only
			15 issues transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.
Box 5		"Life and Adventures of a Mohawk Merchandiser," Mohawk Carpet Mills 1928-1930, undated (30 items)
Box 5		National War Fund Cartoon Service Aug 1944
Box 5		A Page for the Children undated (14 items)
Box 5		Sears Roebuck and Company (Utica, Syracuse, Auburn, New York) comic strip 1931
Box 5		Syracuse and New York State 1921, 1926, 1929 1931, 1935 - includes material related to the Syracuse Post-Standard
Box 5		Syracuse Washing Machine Corporation, "Efficiency Contest Bulletin of Divisional Standings" 1927-1928, undated
Box 5		Traveler's Insurance 1924-1930, 1932-1933, 1942, undated - brochures, advertisements, Protection magazine
Box 5		Miscellaneous clippings of Schilder's artwork 1921-1922, 1924, 1926-1930, 1935-1936, undated
Box 5		Writings by Schilder circa 1925, undated

	Proofs
Box 4		Cartoon proofs 1919-1921, 1938, 1940, 1942-1944, undated
Box 4		International Syndicate 1915 Dec, 1916 Mar - Schilder's 6 weekly cartoons
Box 4		The Moneybacks undated - represents 12 days of the comic strip
Box 4		Portraits undated - possibly from Club men of Indianapolis in caricature (4 folders)

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of notable people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

• Africa : B3F2; B7F10; B10F4
• Albania : B7F10
• Argentina : B5F1-B5F2; B5F6
• armed forces : B3F1-B3F2; B3F4; B4F2; B4F4; B5F1; B5F6; B5F8; B7F9
• Asia : B3F3
• astronomy : B2F2
• Australia : B10F1
• automobile accidents : B2F7; B6F4; B8F1
• automobile industry : B4F1; B5F4
• Axis powers : B2F5-B2F6; B2F8-B2F9; B3F4; B4F1; B5F1; B7F10; B9F1-B9F2
• Barkley, Alben W. : B4F4
• bills : B1F1; B2F2; B3F1; B7F3; B7F5; B8F2; B10F9
• birth rate : B8F3
• black market : B3F4; B4F2; B5F2; B5F6; B6F2; B7F8
• Boy Scouts : B7F11
• Britain : B2F6; B5F2; B6F3; B7F8; B10F9
• Browder, Earl : B5F2
• business : B7F6-B7F7; B8F1
• canning : B1F8
• capitalism : B7F7; B10F8
• Cardiff Giant : B6F5
• Central New York : B1F1-B1F2; B1F4; B1F6-B1F7; B1F9; B2F5-B2F6; B4F1; B4F3; B5F1; B5F4-B5F5; B5F8; B6F2; B6F5; B7F3; B7F7; B7F11; B10F5; B10F9; B11F3
• charity : B6F4; B6F7; B7F2; B8F1; B10F1
• Charles, Prince of Wales : B7F5
• China : B2F3; B3F3; B7F5; B10F9
• Churchill, Winston : B3F3; B8F3
• circus : B7F11
• civil rights : B10F2
• coal industry : B6F7; B7F6; B7F11; B10F4; B10F6
• Cold War : B10F6
• Colgate University : B1F1; B2F6; B5F3; B6F4; B10F1-B10F2; B10F5; B11F2
• collectivism : B7F5
• communism : B5F2; B6F3-B6F6; B7F2-B7F3; B10F1-B10F2; B10F8
• concentration camps : B10F4; B11F3
• Congress : B4F4-B4F5; B6F5-B6F6; B7F3-B7F4
• conservation, in New York State : B5F3; B6F2; B6F4; B7F2
• consumers : B1F4; B6F5
• Cornell University : B1F1-B1F2; B1F9; B2F1; B8F2
• cost of living : B5F7; B10F3
• crime : B7F3
• daylight savings time : B2F2; B2F9; B3F2; B5F7; B6F4; B7F3; B7F6; B10F1-B10F2; B10F5; B10F9-B10F10
• democracy : B2F4-B2F5; B6F3; B6F5-B6F6
• Democratic Party : B4F5; B4F7; B6F1; B7F1-B7F3
• Dewey, Thomas : B6F3-B6F4; B7F7
• disarmament : B6F7
• diseases : B2F4; B6F6; B7F6
• Dobie, Gil : B1F5
• draft : B2F5
• driving : B4F3
• economy : B4F7; B5F7; B6F2
• education : B2F6; B10F8
• elections : B7F2-B7F3; B7F5
• Fair Deal : B7F5-B7F6
• Farley, Jim : B2F8
• farming : B1F2; B2F6; B4F1; B4F4; B5F3; B6F5; B7F1; B7F3; B7F5; B10F8
• Fascism : B2F9
• fashion : B1F1; B1F3; B1F5; B2F4; B5F4-B5F5; B7F5; B10F9; B11F4
• Finland : B5F2; B8F1
• fishing : B1F1-B1F6; B1F9-B2F1; B2F5; B2F9; B3F3; B3F5-B4F1; B4F7-B5F1; B5F4-B5F5; B6F1-B6F4; B7F4; B7F6; B7F9; B7F11; B9F1-B9F2; B10F1-B10F4; B10F7-B10F8; B11F4
• Florida : B2F7
• foreign policy : B4F5; B5F1; B5F7
• France : B4F5; B5F1-B5F2
• free speech : B10F4
• gardening : B1F7-B1F8; B1F10-B2F1; B6F3-B6F5; B7F3-B7F4; B7F6-B7F8; B7F10; B10F3; B10F5; B10F9-B11F1; B11F5
• gas prices : B2F6; B3F1; B7F7
• Germany : B3F3; B4F2; B5F2; B5F7-B6F1; B7F1; B7F5; B8F3; B10F1; B10F4-B10F5; B10F7; B11F6
• Goebbels, Joseph : B4F5; B4F7; B6F1
• Great Depression : B1F1
• Greece : B2F4
• Hirohito : B2F5; B2F9-B3F2; B3F4-B4F2; B4F4-B4F5; B5F7; B6F1; B7F9; B8F3; B9F1-B10F1
• Hitler, Adolf : B2F5; B2F8-B4F2; B4F4-B4F5; B4F7-B5F3; B5F6-B5F7; B6F1; B7F8-B7F9; B8F1; B8F3-B10F2; B10F4; B10F9
• holidays : B1F1; B1F3-B1F4; B1F8; B2F1; B2F5-B2F8; B3F2; B5F6; B5F8; B6F6-B7F1; B7F3-B7F5; B7F7; B8F1; B8F3; B10F1; B10F3; B10F9-B10F10; B11F3-B11F5
• Hoover, Hebert : B2F9
• housing : B6F2; B6F7
• industry (general) : B1F1; B4F7; B6F3; B8F3
• inflation : B2F7-B2F8; B3F1; B3F4; B4F7; B5F8; B6F3-B6F4; B6F6-B7F2; B7F4; B7F7-B7F8; B7F10; B10F10
• insurance : B1F10
• Italy : B4F1-B4F2; B4F5; B5F1-B5F2; B5F8; B7F3; B7F10; B9F1
• Japan : B2F8-B3F2; B4F2; B4F5; B4F7; B5F7; B6F1; B7F8; B8F3-B9F2
• Kerr, Andy : B1F5
• Korea : B10F2
• lease lend operations : B2F6-B2F7
• Lewis, John L. : B6F3; B6F6; B7F2; B7F6; B7F11; B10F6
• Lincoln, Abraham : B7F11
• Lynch, James M. : B1F1
• MacArthur, Douglas : B5F1; B8F3
• Mussolini, Benito : B2F9-B3F3; B3F5-B4F2; B4F5; B5F6; B7F8; B7F10; B9F1-B9F2
• national debt : B5F6; B6F3; B6F7; B7F6; B7F9
• Nazism : B2F9; B3F5; B4F4; B4F7-B5F2; B6F3; B8F3; B10F4-B10F5
• New Deal : B1F6-B1F7; B1F9; B2F3-B2F5; B2F8; B3F3; B4F7-B5F1; B7F9
• New York (State) : B6F1; B6F5; B7F2; B7F7; B10F2
• North Atlantic Security Pact : B7F7; B10F3
• nuclear weapons : B5F5; B5F7; B6F2-B6F3; B10F4; B10F8
• oil : B2F8
• Oneida Lake : B1F1; B1F4; B1F6; B1F9-B2F1; B2F6; B2F9; B3F2; B5F6-B5F8; B7F8-B7F9; B8F1; B10F3-B10F4; B10F6
• Onondaga County : B3F4; B4F3; B5F6; B5F8; B6F7; B7F6; B7F8; B8F1; B10F9
• Onondaga Lake : B2F1; B10F6; B10F9
• Owens, Jesse : B1F8
• Palestine : B7F1
• peace : B5F2; B5F7; B6F1; B6F3; B6F6; B10F1-B10F2; B10F8
• Pennsylvania State University : B1F4; B1F6; B1F9-B1F10
• Philippines : B5F1
• Poland : B4F5
• politics : B2F3; B4F4; B5F2
• pollution : B5F6; B10F6
• Prohibition : B1F1; B1F3; B10F2; B10F9
• Prussia : B4F5
• Pyle, Ernie : B5F6
• racism : B5F7
• rationing : B2F8-B4F1; B4F3; B4F5; B5F1-B5F3; B5F5-B6F4; B7F8-B7F10; B8F3-B9F2; B10F2; B10F4; B10F9-B10F10; B11F6
• Red Cross : B3F1; B3F5; B6F1; B7F4; B7F8
• religion : B7F6
• Republican Party : B4F4-B4F5; B4F7; B6F1; B7F2; B7F11; B10F2
• Rommel, Erwin : B3F4-B3F5
• Roosevelt, Franklin D. : B2F4-B2F5; B3F3; B4F4; B5F2; B7F8-B7F10; B8F1; B8F3; B10F6; B11F3
• Russia : B2F8; B3F1-B3F3; B3F5; B4F2; B4F5; B5F1-B5F2; B5F6; B6F1; B6F3; B7F2; B7F5; B7F8-B7F9; B9F2-B10F1; B10F4; B10F8-B10F9
• San Francisco : B5F7; B10F5
• savings bonds : B10F1; B10F4
• scrap metal drives : B2F8; B5F2; B7F10; B9F2
• social security : B10F8
• socialism : B2F5
• South America : B5F1
• Soviet Union : B4F4
• space exploration : B6F2
• sports : B1F1-B1F9; B2F1-B2F2; B2F7; B2F9; B3F2; B4F3-B4F4; B5F3; B5F8; B6F4-B7F1; B7F3; B7F5-B7F7; B7F9; B7F11-B8F1; B10F2-B10F5; B10F7-B10F9; B11F1-B11F5
• Stalin, Joseph : B2F3; B3F2-B3F3; B4F2; B4F4; B6F7-B7F1; B7F5-B7F7; B8F1; B8F3; B10F2-B10F4; B10F8; B10F10
• state fair : B1F9; B2F6; B10F4
• steel industry : B6F2; B10F4
• strikes : B1F7; B4F1; B5F7; B6F2; B7F2; B7F6; B7F10-B7F11; B10F4; B10F6
• students : B2F7; B3F2; B6F5; B7F5; B7F10-B7F11
• Supreme Court : B1F6; B6F6
• Syracuse China : B10F8
• Syracuse Post-Standard : B1F7; B10F3
• Syracuse University sports : B1F1; B1F3-B1F6; B1F8-B2F1; B8F2; B10F1-B10F2; B10F5; B11F2
• Syracuse University : B1F2; B6F4
• Syracuse, downtown : B1F3-B1F4; B2F5; B10F6-B10F7
• Syracuse : B1F1-B1F3; B1F6; B1F8-B1F9; B2F1; B5F5; B5F7; B6F3-B6F4; B6F6-B7F3; B7F6; B7F8-B7F9; B10F1; B10F3; B10F6-B10F7; B11F5
• Taft Hartley Act : B7F6
• taxes : B1F4-B1F7; B1F9-B1F10; B2F3-B3F5; B4F2-B4F5; B4F7-B5F3; B5F6; B5F8; B6F2-B7F7; B7F9-B8F2; B9F1; B10F2; B10F4-B10F7; B10F9-B11F1; B11F5
• teachers : B6F4
• Texas : B5F3
• Tojo, Hideki : B5F6
• transportation : B1F1; B1F6-B1F9; B5F3; B5F5; B5F7; B6F5; B7F6; B7F8; B7F10; B10F1-B10F2; B10F5; B10F7; B11F5
• Truman, Harry S. : B6F2; B6F6; B7F5-B7F9; B10F2; B10F4; B10F8
• Tunisia : B3F4-B3F5
• Turkey : B2F5; B4F1-B4F2; B4F7
• U.S. Census : B8F2
• Ukraine : B4F7
• unions : B5F7
• United Nations : B3F1-B3F2; B3F5-B4F2; B6F1; B6F3; B8F3; B9F2
• United War Fund : B4F7; B5F7-B5F8
• vacation : B1F2-B1F3; B1F5; B1F9; B2F6; B2F8; B3F4; B4F5; B5F7-B6F1; B6F3; B6F5; B6F7-B7F2; B9F1; B10F3-B10F4; B10F8-B10F10; B11F2; B11F4
• victory gardens : B3F3-B4F3; B4F7-B5F1; B5F4-B5F5; B5F7; B6F1-B6F2; B7F9; B9F1
• voting : B5F8; B7F2; B10F4; B11F3
• Vyacheslav, Molotov : B10F8
• war bonds : B2F8-B3F1; B3F4; B4F4-B4F5; B4F7-B5F1; B5F3-B5F4; B5F7; B6F1; B7F8; B9F1
• war debt : B2F1
• weather : B1F1; B1F5-B1F9; B2F2; B2F5-B2F6; B4F1; B4F3-B4F4; B5F5; B6F2; B6F5; B6F7-B7F1; B7F4-B7F8; B10F1; B10F4; B10F6-B10F7; B11F2
• welfare : B10F2
• Wilkie, Wendell : B7F10
• winter : B1F1-B1F2; B1F4; B1F6; B1F8-B1F9; B2F1-B2F2; B2F4-B2F6; B2F9; B3F2; B3F5; B4F2-B4F5; B4F7; B5F2-B6F2; B6F5-B7F3; B7F6-B7F7; B7F9; B7F11-B8F1; B9F1; B10F2; B10F4-B10F5; B10F7; B10F9-B11F5
• women : B5F3; B5F5; B6F6; B11F2; B11F4-B11F5
• World War I : B7F10; B11F6
• World War II : B2F5; B2F8-B4F5; B4F7-B5F6; B6F2; B7F8-B7F10; B8F2-B9F2; B10F4-B10F5; B10F7; B10F9-B10F10
• Yugoslavia : B10F1

Return to top