Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Armin Scheler Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Scheler, Armin, 1901-
Title: Armin Scheler Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1932-1965
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the German-born American sculptor. Collection contains incoming and outgoing correspondence (1949-1965); exhibition catalogs (1939-1965); photographs (1932-1962); and manuscripts (1945-1964).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Armin Scheler (1901-) was a German-born American sculptor and teacher. The bulk of his career was spent in New York and Lousiana.

Born on May 20, 1901 in Sonneberg, Germany, Scheler received his professional preparation and education in the art schools in Munich, Germany. He received his first recognition when he was living in Switzerland in the years 1923 to 1924.

In 1926, Scheler came to the United States and became a naturalized citizen. From 1926 to 1936 he lived in and around New York City where he worked first in the capacity of industrial designer and then as an assistant to various sculptors in their New York studios. In 1936, he became a free-lance sculptor, and set up his own studio in New Rochelle, New York.

Scheler's work has been exhibited at the Whitney Museum of American Art, Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., National Academy of Design, Dallas Museum of Fine Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art, and Isaac Delgado Museum of Fine Arts.

Scheler joined the faculty of the School of Fine Arts at Louisiana State University in 1942, eventually rising to become head of the department. In addition to his art, he was a regular contributor to The Magazine of Art, Art in Modern America, and The Southwest Review.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Armin Scheler Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence (incoming and outgoing, filed separately), subject files (exhibition notices and photographs of Scheler's sculpture), and manuscripts of articles by Scheler.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender and outgoing correspondence arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic; within that, exhibition catalogs are arranged chronologically and photographs of Scheler's work alphabetically by title of the work. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Scheler, Armin, 1901-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
German Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Armin Scheler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Aug 1967
Revision history: 20 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 Arts and Activities magazine 1959
Box 1 B 1951, 1963
Box 1 California, University of 1950
Box 1 Dallas Museum of Fine Arts 1951
Box 1 Isaac Delgado Museum of Art 1951, 1957, 1961
Box 1 Kansas State University 1961
Box 1 Louisiana State University 1950, 1960, 1964, undated
Box 1 Meadville Theological School, The 1957, 1959
Box 1 Oklahoma Art Center 1961-1962
Box 1 Oklahoma University 1960
Box 1 Philadelphia Museum of Art 1949, 1960, undated
Box 1 San Francisco Museum of Art 1960
Box 1 State of Louisiana Art Commission 1962
Box 1 United States Government undated
Box 1 Whitney Museum of American Art 1952, undated
Outgoing
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1950-1955, 1959-1961, 1964-1965
Subject files
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs 1939, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1957-1962, 1964-1965, undated
Photographs of work
Box 1 "Ascending Bird" 1962
Box 1 "Bathing Boy" 1938
Box 1 "Bird with Necklace" 1952
Box 1 "Cane Cutters, The" (U.S. Federal Government Office Building, New Orleans, Louisiana) 1940-1941
Box 1 "Composition" 1943
Box 1 "Dream of A Petal" 1950
Box 1 "Elder and the Younger, The" 1945
Box 1 "Embrace" 1943
Box 1 "Eve" 1932
Box 1 "Fledgling" 1958
Box 1 From an album of photos undated
Box 1 From a one-man show 1952
Box 1 "Generation" undated
Box 1 "Girl Reading" 1935-1936
Box 1 "Little Petal" 1951
Box 1 "Little Phoenix" 1962
Box 1 "Militant Bird" 1961
Box 1 "Nest of Birds" 1960
Box 1 "Noah's Boomerang" 1952
Box 1 "Petal-Horizon" 1948
Box 1 "Prophet and His Seed, The" 1947
Box 1 Relief (and Details of Same) for United States Post Office, Evanston, Illinois 1937-1938
Box 1 "Seated Girl" 1943
Box 1 "Sebastian, 1944" 1946
Box 1 "Shrike, The" 1955
Box 1 "Vogelsang" 1955
Manuscripts
Articles by
Box 1 "Inbetweeners or Castaways, The" undated
Box 1 "I Noted In Passing That" undated
Box 1 "Of Purpose" undated
Box 1 "One Teacher's Creed" 1945
Box 1 "Reference" 1938, 1944
Box 1 "Speaking for Myself Again" 1964
Box 1 "To All Who Wish to Concern Themselves" 1960
Box 1 "To Him Who Wishes to Concern Himself" undated
Box 1 Untitled undated
Article by Scheler with quotes by others
Box 1 "Foreword" 1963

Return to top